Tour Edge Exotics XLD Drivers

Available At:
Exotics XLD

The XLD's stealth-like geometric shape moves the head's center of gravity deeper and lower, generating an extremely high MOI. A contributing factor to the XLD's performance is a laser-welded beta titanium face. The face is computer-milled and features varying face thickness from 2.8mm on the outer edges to 3.3mm in the center for explosive power. The distance generated by the XLD is nothing short of electrifying.

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
ROGERNP   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 02, 2010]
Model Reviewed: XLD

Pulled it out of the box and thought, UH-OH another lemon. looks were a bit more exagerated than online pics for depth and to date haven't been excited by high MOI heads. The sound is not music but the results have quickly earned a deaf ear. It is longer than any I've hit, off centers are not punishing and dispersion is fine. No regrets.

Customer Service

Not applicable, purchased second hand

Similar Products Used: Swung many and have been excited by few. Until now have favoured smaller heads with a tight but blissful sweetspot.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Jesse Casteel   Shoots in the 70s [Jan 28, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Tour Edge Exotics XLD

I play the XLD in 10.5 and love this stick. Although the stock shaft wasike noodle for my swing Iswitched to a Grafaloy Prolite stiff and it turned this drver into a keeper. I average 290+ and i'll be 60 in May. The quality is on par with any driver on the market. If you want a beautiful driver long and accurate this is one you should at least take a look.

Customer Service

never needed

Similar Products Used: you name it
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
tactmed1   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 22, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Tour Edge Exotics XLD Driver

Bought this driver for my son last year with the senior flex shaft. He was 12 years old and driving the ball well over 200 yards. He averaged 225yrds but would reach out about 250yrds. I know because he would tee off from the same T box and would be just as far as my drives, and then give me a hard time about it ! Club is very forgiving, and he loves it. Played in a youth tournament and was out driving the other kids by a mile. He has alot of confidence in this club, and if some you Dad's out there are looking for an awsome club to buy your kid this is the one. Lite, accurate, and definitly has the distance. He also plays the XLD 15 degree 3 wood and loves it just as much as the driver. Plan on shaft upgrade this year. Thanks Tour Edge !

Similar Products Used: Tour Edge Exotics XLD 3 wood
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
DawgDaddy   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 03, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Tour Edge Exotics XLD

I bought this driver last month, so I have approximately 20 rounds on it now. I bought this driver because I wanted to go to a driver I could work either way, and not have to compensate my set up and grip to keep from hooking the ball. This driver sets up square and the head shape is actually helpful in aligning your shot. I have a 94 MPH swing speed and am seeing approximately a 6 to 8 yard increase in my drives, nothing spectacular, but I don't want to give the yards back either. The driver I was hitting before was the Taylor Made R7 460, it has a 1* closed face. I did not like the sound the driver makes the 1st few times I hit it, but I don't even notice the sound now. I would recommend this driver to any non-slicer, but if you are a slicer, you won't be able to keep this one on the course.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Robert Welty   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 20, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Tour Edge XLD Driver

The XLD is fun! I can swing hard and hit a power fade. Bought the 9* Stiff and hit it high and long. Using one less club for a second shot on good drives. Not as loud as the Nike drivers. Love the shape and it sits square. The 46" shaft doesn't seem to be a problem.

Customer Service

Sent a free 3 wood.

Similar Products Used: TM Superquad, Nike Sumo 2, Nike Dymo, TM Burner 07,
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
massey   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 09, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Tour Edge Exotics XLD Driver

I have been using Tour Edge products for years. I think they offer the best value/price point for the average golfer. Their Exotics line is after the higher-end golf money, though. Ebay makes it affordable for average golfers, however.

I own the original TE Driver with the cup-face design, and it is a real weapon .. long, workable, and longer than you expect, with a great sound and feel. They advertise 20 yards longer, and it is. In fact, my TE 4 wood is as long as many other drivers I own .... BTW< I am not a big hitter, modest 85-95 swing speed, 230 yards with typical regular shafted driver.

The original TE driver and the XLD are VERY different beasts.

I bought the Tour Edge XLD for one purpose ... to hit the ball as far as possible. Frankly, I dislike the feel of most stiff shafts, and my swing speed is very borderline for a stiff shaft, but I CAN squeeze a few more yards out with it over a regular version ... so ... in that quest for summertime raw distance, I picked up the XLD from eBay for a song, 9 degrees (I usually use 10-12, but wanted the roll) and stock stiff shaft.

PROS: It has the stock stiff shaft, and feels stiffer and less responsive than others, even my stiff 12 degree original TE driver. On the other hand, put a decent swing on it, and it goes dead straight, and is sneaky long ... my average drives jumped to 250-260 without trying to hit harder, and I hit one 300 yards on a sunbaked slightly downhill par 5 -- a new PR.

It can be worked, but I didn't spend much time trying to do that yet ... and frankly, that isn't the reason I bought it. I plan to use it on holes I just want to smack the ball as far as possible, to create birdie opps on more par 4's, and maybe even a par 5 during prime summer The triangular stealth head also looks waaay cool, sets up square, looks fast sitting still, and creates a very confident feeling. The head is very light, which helps swing speed, but the stiffness of the shaft dampens down the tendency to overswing, I felt ... so that part is good. Keeps you out of trouble.

CONS: It sounds like a metallic/glass plate breaking. Yeah, EVERYBODY within 4 holes will hear your drives. So if you are thick-skinned enough to take the looks along with the extra distance, go for it.

BOTTOM LINE: Great higher end driver, cheap, does exactly what I bought it for, long, straight distance during the summer. There is now a new XLD-S model for 2009, which is why the original 2008 XLD is so cheap now.

Customer Service

Tour Edge gives a lifetime warranty.

Similar Products Used: Taylormade Hibore XL, Macgregor NVG2
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
stross   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 03, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Tour Edge Exotics XLD

Found this club on eBay- demo version- which is a lot friendlier to your wallet than new. I've been on a driver quest after reading Nick Price's 10 keys to good driving (golf digest). In his summation he hits on one point that struck me- try 10 drivers with similar characteristics before making a purchase. So I did, avoiding all the advertising and marketing hype. Cobra,Callaway,Cleveland,TaylorMade,Mizuno,Ping,Maxfli,Slazenger,TourEdge,TommyArmour. 10.5 Rflex in each. Tour Edge had the lightest shaft of the bunch yet not too whippy for avg swing speeds (87-92mph). I got the best launch angle,carry,roll,& feel on a generous sweet spot. The triple whammy so to speak and i was sold. I recommend this club very highly- well designed with distance and MOI in mind. Company offers a lifetime warranty, free glove and sometimes FW with purchase and have been very pleasant to deal with. They are small and don't advertise in golf publications or sponsor golfers yet they play some of their sticks. Don't be a drawn in by fluff, hit the clubs and let the feel make up your mind.

Customer Service

Lifetime warranty with valid purchase, well supported, and very professional

Similar Products Used: Callaway FTi, TaylorMade r7 Superquad, Corba SZ460, Cleveland HiBore XL, Mizuno MX-560
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Pky6471   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 12, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Tour Edge Exotics XLD

I have been using the Tour Edge Exotics (10.5* , Adila NV 65-g Rflex) driver for over a year and I really like it. In fact I like it so much that I want to buy a used XLD on eBay and try it out to see if I could improve my distance even better. I received the XLD about 3 wks ago and I have played 5 rounds with it before I could give you my personal opinion.

First of, not sure why this XLD came with a 66-g XQuad R-flex and 45". Maybe someone ordered it that way because the specs should be a 50-g XQuad R-flex and 46". Anyway, I took it out to a range and played my first round with it. Its hex. head is larger than my current TEE and the sound is much louder (because if Ti head?). I hit it quite straight (nothing gain over my TEE) and 10-15 yds shorter. I can almost certain that it's 45" vs. 47" of my current TEE. After the first round I took it directly to Dicks Sporting Goods to have its length extended to 47". Thanks to Dicks, its charge was $6.00 so why DIY. It's a good thing that even with long shaft (I am only 5'6") I do not lose control of this club. I can hit it about the same distance as original TEE, hopefully after I groove it in, I can pick up another 5-10 yds, but not more than that . So this club has confirmed my theory, that is "if you hit a ball quite straight with current technology, then going with other brands won't give you more than 10 yds". I have read reviews that people pick up 30-40 yds with new driver, this is totally BS... The ONLY way that you could pick up 30-40 yds is you hit straight now vs.slice or hook before

So I am happy with 2 drivers that I am comfortable with and they will stay in my bag for a long time now. I will continue going back and forth between TEE and TEE XLD until I decide a better one to use and keep the other one as a reserve.

Honestly, most drivers are good to excellent now, we just have to find the one that fits our swing, i.e. the correct shaft will deliver a club head to a golf ball at max speed and SQUARE. Last week I hit my friend's new TM burner driver which comes with a STIFF 50-g shaft and I can hit as long and straight as my TEE drive... there you have it. What caught me by surprise was that the 50-g STIFF stock shaft on TM Burner driver flexes just like or more than my Adila 65-g NV R-flex

Customer Service

Contact them once.. just OK, not as good as Callaway customer service department

Similar Products Used: several brands
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
NC chili dipper   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 21, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Toer Edge Exotics XLD

This club is a bomber. I am hitting the ball longer than any other driver I have tried. It is longer than the Cobra F Speed and Callaway X 460 I had.
My advice is to buy one used off of Ebay like I did and go out and have some fun.

Customer Service

Not needed.

Similar Products Used: See above. Also Titleist 983e, which is also a long hitter.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
sharkhark   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 11, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Tour Edge Exotics XLD

I own a ft-5 from callaway which is very good. Long and forgiving. However i tend to hook or draw the ball and never grew entirely comfortable with a closed face on the ten degree head.
I started looking at forgiving drivers as i am pretty straight but want good distance and some forgiveness....but....with a square or slightly open face.
Not easy.
Square heads and forgiving drivers do not match often. The only square faced clubs tended to be low lofted (i.e. 8 or 9 degrees) and weighted for low flight.
Enter the tour edge exotics 10.5 degree XLD (extra long driver) club. With a square face.
It is long. My drives are about the same as the ft-5 on avg, when i really make good center contact the xld has a soft power that takes my 220-250 drives to about 280. I am by no means a long hitter even though people look at me as a 6'1" 222 lb guy and assume so.
They say an avg drive is shorter than we think at just under 200 yards.
I believe them as sometimes i make a hit that i know is just ok...but i still think it is 250...and its not...its bang on 200. But most of my drives with this club are around 240-250 which as long as its straight (which these are) is exactly and perfectly in line with my needs.

Another bonus? Its workable. Any normal reasonable swing is fairly straight. Anything open will fade and it is also easy to draw on command.

The grip of choice on all my clubs, irons, wedges etc is new decade multi compounds...preferably red and black...well guess what ...that is stock on this club.
I bought a demo without a headcover so i ordered one, tour edge makes it easy and inexpensive as they even list it on their manufacturer site in a golf store they run.
It is shaped to fit the pentagon dimensions of the head, which by the way, for some reason looks good, where alot of square head shapes look odd to my eye. The cover is mostly white with black, and red. It has a magnetic closure which makes slipping on and off a joy. Going back to the stupid sock type i have on my fairway woods is noticeably a pain, requiring effort.

All in all, i think a good player would find this a good choice, they may overlook it for the xcg model which is traditional shaped and has good feedback, but i often find when a good player is willing to look at the supposedly more game improvement models, they can put an easy smooth swing and get fantastic results.

I will be selling the ft-5 which is a quality piece of work, very forgiving and good length, but i will take the more comfortable square face and good results of the XLD. Prices currently are low, initially all of the exotics line are pricey...but drop quickly in retail and especially on ebay where brand new can be bought for less than half original retail.

PS and don't overlook the fact that you can register the serial number online and you get lifetime...thats right..lifetime warranty on head and shaft, as long as its not a cosmetic or abuse type issue, if something that does not make sense...goes wrong..free lifetime replacement warranty. Not many companies offer that, especially in writing.
My dealings with callaway have been fantastic and they take care of you, but i must acknowledge that even they do not 'officially' in writing give a lifetime warranty, i do not conciously know of anyone else who does?

Customer Service

Replied very quick and helpfully to my inquiries on a head cover replacement purchase.

Similar Products Used: Callaway ft-5, ft-3, cobra x speed, cobra 460 sz, callaway biggest bertha and so on and so on.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com