Wilson Spine Drivers

Wilson Spine Drivers 

DESCRIPTION

The Spine achieves high MOI and low CG by redistributing weight from the center of the crown to the perimeter. The result is the industry's first truly perimeter weighted driver with a higher MOI and lower CG than traditional 460cc drivers.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 12  
[Oct 22, 2012]
Dennis boger
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Wilson staff spine driver

Recently purchased to 12degree Wilson staff spine senior flex consistently hit it 20 yards or more farther than my taylormade 2.0 burner driver sold my taylormade to my neighbor

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 04, 2010]
brian f
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: wilson spine drive 12offset stiff

I USE THIS DRIVE AND FIND IT EASY TO HIT WITH GREAT CONTROL AND VERY LONG DISTANCE. MY WIFE AND UNCLE ALSO USE THE SAME DRIVER AND MY FREIND AFTER HITTING MY DRIVER PURCHASED HIS OWN. I HAVE TESTED MANY DRIVERS THRUOUT MY YEARS OF GOLF AND DEMO DAYS. THIS DRIVER IS THE BEST I EVER HIT.THE V2 SHAFT IS THE BIG KEY TO THE CLUB. THE SOUND IS LOUD BUT IT MAKES THE COMPETION THINK THEY NEED TO SWING HARDER. IF YOU SWING WITH THE SAME TEMPO AND MAKE SURE YOUR LINE UP AND BALL POSITION AND HANDS ARE THE SAME EVERY TIME YOU WILL HIT EVERY FAIRWAY WITH LOTS OF DISTANCE WITHOUT TRING TO SWING REALY FAST.I HAD THIS DRIVER FOR ALMOST 3 YEARS BEST PURCHASE EVER MADE. I USED TO HIT AROUND 225 TO 250 YARDS NOW I HIT 250 TO SOME TIMES 320 + YARDS WITH THIS DRIVER. WILSON MAKES GREAT CLUBS JUST NOT POPULAR ON THE TOUR SO MOST PEOPLE DONT TRY THE PRODUCTS. THE PROBLEM IS MOST GOLFERS CANT HIT THE CULBS THE PGA TOUR PLAYERS HIT JUST WANT TO BE COOL. A LOWWER HANDICAP IS COOL.

Similar Products Used:

WILSON 1200LT STIFF SHAFT IRONS.WILSON FY FAIRWAY WOODS.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 13, 2010]
spookytaco
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff Spine Driver

I love this club. I have the 12* version in regular flex and it is pretty easy to hit. If you are new to golf or have trouble hitting them straight then give this a try. It does make an odd sound that sounds more like the crack of a softball bat then a driver. Once you start hitting more fairways you won't mind though. You can buy these for under $100 online. Try it with an open mind. Wilson Staff are serious clubs that are flying under the radar.

Similar Products Used:

Big Bertha Titanium, Great Big Bertha II, Taylormade 200 Steel, Callaway Steelhead III

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 08, 2010]
driver dan
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Wilson Spine Driver

Have used this driver for about a year now and find it to be great value for money. I wont lie to you, this driver took some getting used to! Firstly the sound is a little tinny but once you consistently find the middle of the club face the sound is sharp and crisp, you also get instant feedback with off centre shots the sound is terrible! Distance is fine cant say I hit this driver too much longer than others, but its the consistency that makes it longer. If you tone down the macho and let the driver head do the work and just make a solid controlled swing you will hit more fairways than you miss. Don't forget no club manufacturer has made a club that will cure a bad swing but this club will be more forgiving if you keep the swing simple!

Customer Service

None needed

Similar Products Used:

Mizuno MX-560, Callaway

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 01, 2010]
edgolf
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff Spine 9*

Playing Wilson staff irons and wedges, anmd watching Padraig play this for a good majority of the 08 & 2009 season until the Smooth driver came out I really wanted it.

I play to a 3.5 index and am playing the 9 degree and the standard stiff V2 shaft.

I took it out last week for my two first rounds on vacation in Mexico at The Iberostar Resort, a Canadian Pro Tour stop. First, I pulled a few left and immediately got into trouble. Kept fighting my grip and ball position, etc to correct, but was still going left. Then I remembered it is a 46" driver, and simply just got a little more athletic and squatted down a little address and started killing the ball. High, straight, long....felt great and looked greater.

It was $299 new a year ago, and I picked this up brand new for $89 on e-bay. I don't know when America will learn Wilson Staff means quality! And now that Vijay, Daly, Stewart (god bless his soul), and many more aren't playing Wilson Staffs you can get great deals.
(p.s try out the Pi5's & Pi7's- they are awesome)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 30, 2009]
KD Raught
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Wilson Spine Driver

Was able to pick up this driver at Rock Bottom Golf on E-Bay for 42.00+shipping. The finish is impeccable.The club`s
stats info is printed out on the shaft`s label.These include loft, torque, flex point,and shaft weight and length. The club sets up well with a semi-square head and feels very light.I missed just 2 fairways today with 2 barely off.The club is well balanced and the head and shaft feel like one unit as you swing it through impact. This club is long high and straight but I was not prepared for the loud impact sound. After hitting 5 straight fairways I did not care what the club sounded like. This is a serious club for the money.

Similar Products Used:

Taylormade, KZG,

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 24, 2009]
Billwoods
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Wilson Spine 9.0 stiff

We all search for drivers that put us in the fairway and are long. Having owned numerous drivers with different setups, I happened upon the Spine like many others, because they were being put on clearance.
Not expecting much, I took it out and immediately had doubts..A couple range trips and my first round out weren't encouraging, but I loved the way it set up and when I hit it, it was long and dead straight. I played around a little, choking up a little on the grip and slowing my swing considerably to let the clubhead work. It was like night and day.
I played 36 holes a couple weekends ago and was absolutely amazed. I've golfed for 40 years and it was easily the best driving days of my life. Splitting fairways and contrary to what some have said, exceptionally long. I've always been a big hitter, have competed in long drive competitions and I was amazed at what this shaft, clubhead combo was capable of. Long has never been an issue, but accuracy has been elusive. This club was scary straight and the double scooped crown really is easy to align.
To sum up, I hit the longest drives of my life and repeatedly straight...We're talking over 330 yards on the best drives and 275 to 280 with a very relaxed, repeatable swing. FANTASTIC value..Shaft is excellent, doesn't load up like some graphites. Just smooth and solid.

Similar Products Used:

Taylor Made R7, various Titleist drivers, Warrior Custom Drivers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 26, 2009]
David
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Wilson Spine, 9 degree stiff shaft

Have had slice problems with just about driver I've owned, and I've owned several. Had the Wilson Spine (WS) delivered 3 days ago and immediately went to the local course and started to play without any warm up. I have never held a driver that sets up so closed at address, which not so surprisingly makes a big difference in the angle of the club face at contact. Used the WS and 14 of 18 holes and not a single slice. Most drives were VERY straigh - a couple of pull and a couple of minor fades, but basically this club hits straight, straight, straight. Distance, relative to other recent model drivers I've tried, is average, which is plenty OK with me given the consistency of straight ball flight. I like the relatively low profile club face and grooves on the top which seem to make the club designed for low wind resistance. In total, this club is highly recommended to any 80's or up golfer who wants consistency off the tee with reasonable distance. Can get this for under $100, including cost of shipping, from several internet vendors.

Customer Service

Have not used.

Similar Products Used:

Cleveland Launcher 460, Mizuno MX 500, Orlimar Fury QB

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 27, 2009]
highq_ee
Shoots in the 100s

ridiculously easy, it's like cheating! went through a bucketful of balls at the range yesterday and all went straight and long, even shot's that were way off the speetspot flew away okay. no slices anymore: it just launches a bit right of the aim/alignment (like a pull), but no slice trajectory. tendency to mild hook/draw a bit when struck on a too steep plane. distance is unbelievable, at range balls carry easy 200m (220y) even though our range has little roll after landing, our rangeballs are extremely soft and have 30% or more reduction of distance; with proper distance rated brand ball 300y drive is easy.
I Liked the headcover and the scifi looks.

cons: "saucepan donk" is silly (turned a lot of heads at the range towards me); difficult to fade because of closed clubhead (you still hit straight!), error margin between draw and hook is very small, cause little alignment does not draw (still going straight) and when you turn even a little too much, ball will hook.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 20, 2009]
DHolli
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Wilson Spine Driver

The wilson Spine driver is one of the best I have hit! Very long and straight the face seems alittle smaller than some but drives the ball well! It does have a different sound not your average PANG... On sale all over ebay 99$ free shipping and at rockbottomgolf.com try it out before buying the high end stuff!

Similar Products Used:

I have hit them all most recent cobra x speed and Hi Bore from Cleveland both good drivers but spendy and I feel they dont do anything better! Give wilson a shot!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com