Zero Tolerance Crown Jewel Spectra Drivers

Zero Tolerance Crown Jewel Spectra Drivers 

DESCRIPTION

From ZT Golf: "Crown Jewel Spectra has 320 cc of size, 2 inch face height and is metallic black in color. It does not look that big in comparison with the actual size. Feeling is very solid and sound is mid to high pitch. It has a boring trajectory with soft landing, resulting in more rolls. It hits straight and easy with a minimum dispersion."

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 63  
[Mar 02, 2003]
bama69
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Zero Tolerance Spectra

bought 11degree spectra with Graman ttp440 stiff graphite shaft. Club is very consistant if not spectacular. I have a low trajectory and these produce mid-high straight drives with great roll. Only a horrible swing produces anything less. Would recommend the driver to anyone looking for consistancy. I used many oversize heads recently and was surprised I could hit the smaller(320cc) club so well. All shot on center and towards to produce a solid crushed it feeling. Shots toward the heel of the club let you know right away you missed the sweetspot. Distance is the penalty, but not direction. I would recommend this club to anyone looking for more accuracy. There are longer clubs out there though.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

Taylor Made 580, Titleist 975lfe, Mizuno blue rage, Taylor Made 360.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 16, 2002]
Dew78
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Zero Tolerance Crown Jewel Spectra

APPEARANCE: Head looks similar to a Ping TiSI, but I actually like the look of the Spectra better. The finish is a beautiful deep metallic blue with a wonderfully finished face. All of the volume on this 320cc club seems to be in the face height. The Crown alignment marker doesn't bother me. It's just a mark on the club, what's the big deal? SOUND: I like the sound at impact. I used a TM 360 a few weeks ago and I really enjoy the sound of the Spectra over the TM 360. DISTANCE: I have no complaints on distance. I'm hitting the ball well within my average distances (280 to 300 yards...I hit two over 300 yesterday) I was achieving before and occasionally crushing one. ACCURACY: This is where the Spectra shines. I had a little bit of a slice swing on a par 4 and the fade/slice wasn't severe as it would have been on my previous driver. I lost 20-30 yards in distance but the ball held true to it's intended line and just rolled a bit right, almost like a low draw. The end result was a very playable second shot, in the fairway. Accuracy alone will keep this in my bag. SPECS/SHAFT: The Spectra was shafted with the ZT XLT-70 Stiff shaft with a Lamkin Crossline Cord grip @ 45" versus the 46" I usually play with. The loft was 9* with 0* FA marked on the head. I think this shaft suits the golf club...swingweight was probably around D2-D3. The shaft seems to get a little bit of a kick and the torque is perfect for my swing. OVERALL: Overall, I have total confidence in the Spectra. I have been a bit of a purist in the past, playing heads smaller than 250cc, but I really appreciate the shape and setup of this club. I've had good iron play for a long time, but haven't driven the ball in the fairway consistently this year. I hit every fairway today with the exception of one, only because I drove it through the dogleg fairway. Nice problem to have. Whether the club is responsible for my straight drives or my improved confidence to make a controlled, smoother swing, I don't know, but this is definitely a keeper. The only thing that could get this club out of my bag would be another fine product from John and the folks at Zero Tolerance.

Customer Service

A+++++

Similar Products Used:

TM 360, Harvey Penick Titanium

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 06, 2002]
Chucker
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: ZT Crown Jewell Spectra, 8 Degree

The best driver that I have ever played with. Long and straight. I have gained at least 15 yards of driving distance with this driver (compared to the HipTi driver I was playing), along with more accuracy. It is also a forgiving club. Mis-hits still result in adequate distance. The trajectory is perfect for me. I had the club shafted with a ProForce 65, regular flex.

Customer Service

No experience with customer service.

Similar Products Used:

Orlimar HipTi, Callaway Steelhead, Callaway Big Bertha, Cobra, Adams.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 06, 2002]
Chucker
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: ZT Crown Jewell Spectra, 8 Degree

The best driver that I have ever played with. Long and straight. I have gained at least 15 yards of driving distance with this driver (compared to the HipTi driver I was playing), along with more accuracy. It is also a forgiving club. Mis-hits still result in adequate distance. The trajectory is perfect for me. I had the club shafted with a ProForce 65, regular flex.

Customer Service

No experience with customer service.

Similar Products Used:

Orlimar HipTi, Callaway Steelhead, Callaway Big Bertha, Cobra, Adams.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 09, 2002]
Edgeman
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Spectra

Strength:

None

I had originally posted a review on the Spectra back in March 14, 2001 and gave it high marks for value and performance. Back in December, 2001 my Spectra developed a crack on the alignment mark to which I brought it to John Lee -- the owner of ZT Golf. He had indicated that the original Spectra heads that came with the crowns with the stamped alignment marks were susceptible to cracking and promptly sent me a replacement club. The replacement head specs were identical (11 deg loft) but the shaft was the ZT XLT-70 Regular, tip-trimmed 1/2 inch, with a length of 46 inches. The first thing that I noticed immediately was that the trajectory of my ball flight was somewhat lower, but extremely hot, which translated into a lots of roll. The feel of the club was what I had expected -- solid and forgiving, and I could hit it very straight. I can''t seem to hit the ball as high as I would like to, but it more than makes up for it by giving me consistent hot, penetrating drives. I''ve said this before, and I''ll say it again...the ZT Spectra easily equals or surpasses (in performance) any OEM drivers that are out there on the market, and it''s by far easier on the pocketbook.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 30, 2001]
dcj707
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: spectra 9*

Strength:

None

Straight, long, hot, forgiving. Lots of roll. Solid sound and feel. Told John Lee about my game, he set me up with 9* XLT 70 reg. tipped 1/2 in. to firm 45.5. Need to tee it a little higher. Took a couple of buckets to adjust to longer length and lower loft than my 975D 10.5 w/ Prolite 35 S. 15+ yards longer. Much straighter. Much more forgiving. Not the prettiest shape to my eye, a lot like a TiSI. Good detailing and finish. Excellent club. Good value.

Customer Service

Outstanding. John Lee is a pleasant, informative guy, and a good fitter. Phone # is at ztgolf.com

Similar Products Used:

Callaway GBB, 975D, TiSI.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 28, 2001]
DCJ
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: spectra 9*

Strength:

None

9* XLT 70 shaft regular, tipped 1/2" to firm. 45.5 in. Lively, straight, long, hot. I have a smooth tempo swing, 95 mph w/ driver. Am getting 15+ yards more with this shaft/head combo than my 975D w/ Prolite 35. This head feels softer, and the ball rockets. Quality sound, no clank. Looks a lot like a Ping TiSI at address, but is not strictly a knockoff. Not the prettiest shape, but nice quality, detailing. Took a little adjusting, as does any new club (especially overlength) but once I got the right effortless rhythm, 260-270 consistently, with little dispersion. Wants to fly straight. Excellent buy.

Customer Service

Outstanding. Call John Lee direct and work with him. Very good fitter, very nice guy. ztgolf.com

Similar Products Used:

All major brands and many components and knock-offs.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 04, 2001]
jack schweers
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Spectra Zero Tolerance

Strength:

None

Weakness:

None

I coach a local high school golf team. Last year, I built a KZG maraging faced drive 9.5 degree with a stiff Harrison Mid-launch lite shaft 45 1/2 in. for a freshman on our team. He came back this fall, 2 inches taller at 5''11" and about 10 lbs. heavier at 175. He was slicing his driver badly. I built him a Spectra 9 degree with a 45 1/4 inch Zero Tolerance ZLT-70 stiff shaft tip trimmed only. He proceeded to win a driving contest at a local tourney with a drive of 337 yards. Cannot forecast how far he will hit the ball a senior. Anyone in the market for a used KZG??

Similar Products Used:

KZG maraging face 9.5 degree.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 28, 2001]
Pop Chairoj
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: CJ Spectra 9*

Strength:

None

Weakness:

None

Specifics: Zero Tolerance Crown Jewel Spectra 9* Innovative Innolite shaft, stiff flex, 45" Golf Pride Crossline grip Review: Ping Tisi is a favorite driver for a lot of golfers, but I can''t hit that thing for a dime. Its hosel setup doesn''t suit well with my swing, and the way it looks just put me off. My first impression upon looking at the Spectra was "Oh no, not another Tisi wannabe." Boy was I in for a surprise. The Spectra sets up differently from a Tisi, and I like this setup a lot more. The clean look and polished finish of the Spectra will rival any of the OEM products. And yes, it works very well. The Innolite shaft gets the ball up quickly, while the Spectra keeps the ball in a boring trajectory, resulting in a flatter ball flight than most titanium heads out there. This trajectory adds some additional yardage to each drive. Another plus for the head is the sound/feel at impact. Unlike most titanium heads of this size, it doesn''t sound clanky/tinny at all, which is a big plus for a traditionaist like me. Feel is subdued and solid, for the lack of better descriptions, more like 975D and GBB than the Orlimar Hip-Ti. Give this combo a try, and you''ll be pleased.

Similar Products Used:

975D, GBB, BBB, TF360, Integra IV, Integra L-1, Orlimar Trimetal, among others.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 10, 2001]
vmaaw224
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Spectra

Strength:

None

Weakness:

None

After banging with this club for a month I finall sat down to write this review. This is a great club, no ifs and or buts!! You just have to find the right shaft for this guy and you are definately in the money with this club. I chose the PF-65 regular as my swing speed hovers around 95-98 mph. I got it tipped about 3/4 of an inch. It took me a bit to get used to as I have a 975D that I am most fond of. But the more I swung the Spectra. The more I left my 975 at in the trunk or at home. I have gained about 10-15 yds with this club. Even when I fade it, it goes longer. And the few times I''ve been able to work a draw with this pup, FORGET ABOUT IT!! 290-305 yds swingin'' easy. I only paid $95 plus shipping from a guy on Ebay. the shaft cost me another $30 and it is money well spent. So you can''t go wrong with this club as your big stick. So get one and reward yourself with the extra money you''ll save instead of paying the pro''s !!!!!

Customer Service

Good, I like John very personal approach to customer service. The big guys could learn something from him.

Similar Products Used:

Titleist 975D, Taylor made 320

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 63  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com