Adams Golf Ovation Fairway Woods

Adams Golf Ovation Fairway Woods 

DESCRIPTION

The Ovation Fairway Wood combines maximum performance with incredible forgiveness. Designed to be easy to hit, the stainless steel Ovation features a low center of gravity that makes it easy to get the ball in the air, high MOI for maximum forgiveness and high launch with low spin for shots that go unbelievably far.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 43  
[Oct 19, 2011]
tony
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: ovation offset

I read the reviews on the ovation offset wich were very good .Ihave had two back surgerie in the last 2 year and have lost alot of my abitily to coil or have much shoulder turn anyway i found myself hitting the ball very close to the heel and the hosel sticks out on the ovation so i tend to shank it occasionally so i tried the adams a4os 3 wood and it is incredible so if you also have trouble with the ovation do yourself a favor and try the insight tech a4os 3 wood so easy to hit and very long !!!! try global golf they have tons of great lightly used clubs very cheap got my a4os 3 wood for only 29.95 in very good shape got the driver to match for 39.95 a steal

Similar Products Used:

a40s taylormade .calloway.cleveland adams woods are much better

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Aug 15, 2008]
Gary Kilbride
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Adams Ovation Fairway Woods

I love the look of this club with the grey clubhead and 3-dot scoring lines. The center dot is set somewhat toward the heel, encouraging me to place the ball more toward the inside than I probably would if the club lacked scoring lines. Consequently I hit some great shots with my original purchase, an offset 7 wood. But also plenty of ugly ones, primarily pop ups, which led to experimentation. The Ovations are cheap on eBay so I tinkered. I've had the 3, 5, 7 and 9 at one point or another, many different set ups, graphite and steel, offset and non-offset.

In my case, the best results are regular flex steel shaft and no offset. The graphite Aldila shaft is oft mistaken for Aldila NV, a $68 shaft. It is not Aldila NV. Go to Golfworks.com. They list shaft equivalents for every major company. For the Adams Ovation graphite, the closest replacement shaft is listed as the Aldila Value Series. That's a $12.99 shaft, as sold on the same site. The green looks great but it's an inexpensive shaft and indeed feels weak. I've had some luck with the graphite stiff but the True Temper Ovation Performance Steel in R flex is much more solid feeling and confidence inspiring. Also cheaper. No one seems to want them on eBay.

I love the offset 3 wood off the tee, long with mid trajectory and a nice draw. In general, feel is acceptable and trajectory mid-to-high. I can't work these like my Taylor Made or Hogan hybrids but it's seldom a concern. For whatever reason I can't hit the Ovation offset versions off the turf. Erratic beyond description. Weird because I have a Cobra offset driving iron that I blast off the ground.

Note: many Ovations I've purchased off eBay have sky marks on the extreme toe, the last half inch. It's uncanny. Some minor and some glaring but it's obviously a tendency of this club. I haven't seen that in other models purchased off eBay. Maybe a little bit in the Adams RPM Low Profile, which is a similar design.

BTW, the Ovation headcover is a gem, very stylish with a green and black color scheme.



Similar Products Used:

Adams RPM Low Profile

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 04, 2008]
rainandregret
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Adams Ovation Fairway wood

I wanted to replace the 5 wood in my bag last season and came across the Ovation 5 wood. I tried several models at golftown in their simulator and the Adams just worked. But when I got it to the course I knew within my first couple of swings I was going to love this club. Super easy to hit, this club replaced my three wood. Any lie, this club will go get the ball and lift it into the air. Its got a great sound and a better look. The stock Adila shaft is a solid option. I'm excited for the upcoming season so I can take out the Ovation three wood that just showed up at my door. Only fifty bucks at Golftown, you'll spend more money on lesser clubs.

Customer Service

Not used so far, but thumbs up to Callaway for there customer service.

Similar Products Used:

Nicklaus golf; Infinity prototype hypersteel.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 28, 2008]
Eeyore42
Shoots in the 100s
Model Reviewed: Adams Ovation Offset 7-wood

My first experience with Adams was a number of years ago with the original Tight Lies fairway wood. I hated the thing, but then I made the mistake of buying the Strong 3-wood. Me trying to hit a 13-degree club off the deck was a complete exercise in futility. Because of this, I swore off Adams for a while.

But last season I was (still) looking for a fairway wood that I could actually use on the fairway. I came across the Adams Ovation on ebay, read the other reviews here, and won it for a very low price.

The sticker on the face said "Easy to hit" and is it ever true! This thing is money in almost any situation. Fluffy lie, tight lie, in the rough, you name it. Make an easy swing and this club simply goes and gets the ball. Consistently about 180 yds straight. The only issue I have with this club is hitting it off the tee. I think the fact that the club is offset causes me to consistently pull the ball, even if I tee it very low. But I also think the offset is why it works so well for me off the deck, due to the grass tending to twist the face open.

I like this club so much that I recently picked up the offset 5 wood and am anxious to try it this season.

Customer Service

Have not had to use.

Similar Products Used:

Callaway Steelhead III, Orlimar Tri-metal, Mizuno Blue Rage, Tour Edge Hyper-steel

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 13, 2007]
Ty Webb
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Adams Ovation Fairway Wood

I was searching for a versatile 13 degree fairway wood and came across the Adams Ovation strong three wood (non-offset model). Picked one up with the stock Aldila shaft in stiff flex. Fantastic golf club. Easy to hit from nearly any lie, great feel, and you can work it both ways. Very nice off the tee as well, though you will need to watch your tee height due to the slightly shallower face. I've tried about every brand of fairway out there and the Adams seems to have gotten a lot right with this club. Plays equally well from the tee, fairway, and rough. It is a couple years old now, but you can still pick them up new for $50 or under. Shaft is very stable and I feel plays to its stated flex. Standard Adams velvet style grip is a bit thin for my taste, but simply replace it with your favorite as I did. Profile of the clubhead is pleasing to the eye, and face sets up dead square behind the ball (very nice feature for those of us tired of looking at the hooded face drivers and fairway woods put out by most companies.) Give it a try.

Customer Service

Haven't had to use Adams customer service to this point. Bought the club through Rock Bottom Golf. Service there is great and prices are unbeatable.

Similar Products Used:

Probably be shorter to list what I haven't used. Cleveland Launcher, Taylor Made V-Steel and Retro Spoon, MacTec NVG, various Callaway models, several more.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 11, 2007]
Colin
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Adams Ovation

Now I'm not a great golfer, I can try and try but those double bogeys in my game just keep stacking. I recently bought this beautifully designed club. It is amazing and I can't believe it was only 80$. The new Adams Ovation is Incredible, forgiveness and Trajectory are perfect. It definatly helps me save pars when I have a horrible drive. When you hit it it has a very nice soft feel and you will here a nice
"Ping" sound. If you have a hard time hitting fairway woods and you want a new one, instead of wasting money on Callaways and Taylormade clubs, try this. Performence is the same if not BETTER.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 07, 2007]
Boots Jennings
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Ovation 3,5,7 woods

I picked up the Ovation 3 and 7 wood with a stiff shaft to replace a Calaway Steelhead Plus my son talked me out of. I was so pleased I ordered a 5 wood also. These rank up with the best I have ever had. Very good distance and accuracy. Get them if you can they are running out. Priced at about $40.00

Similar Products Used:

Calaway Big Bertha, Orlimar, Taylormade

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 25, 2006]
bogey23
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: adams ovation fairway woods

i am 14 years old. I got these clubs for my dads birthday so I decided to try them out. My first shot was an eagle from 150 yards out. they are very forgiving and easy to hit.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 06, 2006]
Zeds
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Adams Ovation #5 Wood

Just want to start off by saying this is my first review.. I never really listed to reviews before. I thought the best thing to do is just to go out and hit the club you want and make your own decision. My set of clubs consists of all Callaway products for 2 reasons.(#1) My friend is a rep for the company, so I get all the best equipment for pretty much nothing.(#2) I think they make the best equipment out there and would not really use anything else, UNTILL I hit the 5 wood ovation.. This thing kicks butt. My back was hurting and had about 235 to the pin. I usually would hit a 3 or 4 inron. I really didn't want to muscle one in, as it was during the front 9 and didn't want to aggravate it anymore. I asked one of the guys with us if I can hit his pretty green fairway wood laughing at it. I set up to take my shot and with my surprise it launched 240 and landed at the back of the green which at the point rolled down to the pin leaving a 2 foot putt. Needless to say I got a bridie. I thought this was a fluke. So I kept hitting this fairway wood, and the same results kept happening.. Straight smooth shoots at around 230-245 feet.. I hit this club further then some hit with their drivers.. I told my Callaway friend the story,and he just ignored it.. Guess what??? I golfed with him last week and what did I see in his bag!! That's right the pretty green fairway wood.. Take it from me,, Don't judge the price of the club.. It works better then all the rest.. Yes even the Callaway ones.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

Everyone out there.. I'm a golf junkie

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 14, 2006]
GL175
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Ovation offset 3&5 wood

These clubs are amazing.It is virtually impossible to mis-hit them.Excellent distance and control.I purchased a 3&5 wood on Ebay for less than $20 each(brand new in the wrapper).They have a very clean,solid feel,and good crisp sound on impact.The offset face does take a little getting used to at address,but if you tend to slice your woods,these will work excellent.
Simply put,you can't beat these clubs for the money.It takes little more than thinking where you want the ball to go.

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used:

Callaway Big Bertha fairway woods

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 43  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com