Ben Hogan Big Ben C455 Fairway Woods

Available At:
Big Ben C455

  • Exclusive speed slot design
  • Stainless steel body
  • Tour Proven Aldila NV shaft

User Reviews (20)

Showing 1-10 of 20  
vjb007   Shoots in the 80s [May 18, 2010]
Model Reviewed: C455 4-wood

I concur with ykawahir. First, the C455 5-wood is by far the best fairway wood I have ever owned. It has the perfect head and flex (regular) for my slow-tempo swing (speed is about 90 mph). My distance with the 5-wood is about 190 yards. It has an almost boring trajectory (I wish I could hit all my clubs this way). Strangely, though, the C455 4-wood seems a different animal entirely. Unlike ykawahir, however, I tend to push rather than hook my 4-wood shots. I believe it’s due to my slow tempo and the shaft. The 4-wood overall feels heavier than the 5-wood and stiffer (although the shaft for both woods is the NV-H 70-R). My suggested solution: if your swing tempo is slow and swing speed is average and you’re contemplating the purchase of a C455 4-wood, try a senior (A) shaft (if available). It appears to me that might bring your 4-wood into harmony with the R-shafted 5-wood and also with an A-shafted Hogan C-S3 driver, which despite the somewhat divided pro-con reviews, provided me with excellent results and which I’m coming back to after a few years experimenting with other drivers.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
Lawdog714   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 11, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan c455 woods

I am an eleven handicap. I bought the 3 and 5 wood three weeks ago...I have hit the Ping ISI woods for twenty years..the Hogans are longer, more accurate and have a better ball flight. I can hit the 3 wood 225 like a wedge. The same for the 5 wood..about 190 like a wedge. I would encourage anyone to buy these woods for a chance to improve their play. They are a great value..I got mine for $20 on eabay...a deal new in the shrink wrap. I improved my first round with them by 5 strokes lower than my usual round and won enought money off my buddies to pay for one of the clubs..:)

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
jgmath   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 29, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Hogan C455 3 & 5 Wood

Got a great deal on these $50 for both as they are now an older club. Bought on reputation of Hogan for quality and the limited reviews available and it was a rewarding purchase.

They have a nice sweet spot and spring like face and the club head weighting provides great distance just swinging within yourself. Pretty standard head size and mis hits still go well but hitting the sweetspot gives you unbelievable distance. The club is the only 3 wood I know that provides audible feedback when hit perfectly. They must have used the highest quality C455 steel to achieve this.

I have an avg ss at ~85-90 mph (driver) but can carry the 5 wood 210 and the 3 wood 230. Accuracy is outstanding as well. You just set up and hit the ball and the tendency is straight on a mid level trajectory. You can work the ball easily playing it forward keeping the same line but getting the ball higher in the air.

Beneficial to all ranges of handicappers but definately, like Hogan irons, appealing to players looking for tour level woods.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Cobra Ti, TM 300 series, Cleveland
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
daz100   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 14, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Big Ben c455 7wood

I have this club about 2 years and can't say anything bad about it really its solid and surprisingly long for a 7 wood
its ideal for long par 3's ditch your 2 or 3iron and put this in your bag superb.

Customer Service

none

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
tgw   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 04, 2008]
Model Reviewed: cs3, c455

I was using the TM Quad R7 driver before swiching to the CS3 BH, and let me tell you, I added about 30-35 yards right away, plus my slice is completely, well, sliced, hehe. I never had a 5 wood before, so because I liked the CS3 so much, I decided to get a BH C455 5 wood for a try since it's a pretty good deal nowadays, and boy, it gives me more distance even than my TM R5 3 wood, don't know how that happens, by 10-15 yards (if someone knows why, please let me know). It also outperforms the R5 in the fairway, the ball lauches high and lands so softly, just like if I hit it with a hybrid (sort of speak, for some reasons, my hybrid shots don't land that soft..hehe). I'm thinking of replacing my R5 3W with another C455 but don't wanna give up the TM headcover in the bag, silly huh? Oh, do you think it's a good idea to pick up a 7W as well? I don't use my long irons very well, so I put the 3 iron home, got a 3 Hybrid (TM R7 draw), but lately since I got the C455 5W, my 4 iron is getting quite a bit off. Please advice if you can, should I add a 7W or a 4/5 Hybrid?

Customer Service

Never needed

Similar Products Used: TaylorMade R5, R7, Ping G5
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
ykawahir   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 30, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan C455 17degree 4wood

I bought this BenHogan c455 4 wood, because I thought this club seems to match my Ben Hogan CFT irons and CS3 driver. I have loved my irons and driver. But this fairway wood seems to have a bit different taste, comparing with irons and driver. This fairway wood seems not to match with them. This fairway wood has a tendency to hook a ball. This point is very important, and I do not like it at all. so that I have to set this wood open a bit at address, which is very umcomfortable for me. I expected a good alignment of this club with my Ben hogan irons and driver.....

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
mark_the_golfer   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 07, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Big Ben C455

Excellent club. Has excellent distance. I was really surprised how far I cold hit the ball with this.

Feels very natural at address and is able to get under the ball when on the fairway.

Similar Products Used: Sonartec 17 degree MD
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
A V Twiss   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 19, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan C455 7 wood

See my review of the C455 4 wood. My remarks about the original shaft equally apply to the 7 wood. Again the reshaft was the UST Tour Force 70. Again my remarks on the 4 wood apply but with the additional bonus that this club is longer with the UST fitted.

Customer Service

See my remarks on the C455 4 wood

Similar Products Used: Wilson Fat Shaft 7 wood (bloody good) Titleist 7 wood (can't remember the model) another excellent club
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
A V Twiss   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 19, 2006]
Model Reviewed: CS455 4 wood

I purchased this club with a regular flex OEM shaft (Aldila NV designed for Ben Hogan). My original impressions were of a very nice head spoilt by a shaft that I did not like. My problems were that it hit the ball too high and had a tendency to hook the ball. Given my swing speed I knew that a stiffer shaft was not the answer. After a fitting session my club fitter and I agreed on a UST Tour Force 60 which is a 55 gram shaft with a mid kick point and 4.1 degrees of torque. Initally I had my doubts as I felt that this quite high torque number would exaserbate my hook but I was very pleasantly surprised to find that the ball did not hook and the club was quite easy to fade should I wish. The dispersion pattern is impressively tight and the flight pattern is penetrating but high enough to give good carry. This shaft does not balloon the ball. Previous reviewers have opined that the UST Proforce (the predecessor of the Tour Force) felt dead. This is not my experience and the added bonus is that this club is finished in a tasteful Silver/Black/Burgundy colour scheme, not that hideous yellow.

Customer Service

Club purchased off Ebay. Shaft fitted by Graham Tonge of Frodsham Golf Club. As always the quality of advice and service were first rate. I have no commercial connection with Graham Tonge.

Similar Products Used: Lots
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
adam987   Shoots in the 70s [Dec 11, 2005]
Model Reviewed: ben hogan big ben c455 fairway woods

after I hit one of my buddies ben hogan c455 5 wood I fell in love with it. A few weeks later I went to golf galaxy and bought a 19 degree 5 wood and a 13 degree 3 wood for $129 each. These clubs look beautiful at adress and are very pleasing to my eye. They fell like butter to hit and the ball just explodes off the face. These clubs are also very forgiving. A miss off the heel or toe loses very little distance to a center hit. Overall these are excellent clubs for any skill level

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: taylormade v-steel, orlimar trimetal
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 20  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com