TaylorMade Raylor Retro Fairway Woods

TaylorMade Raylor Retro Fairway Woods 

DESCRIPTION

  • Low-profile dimple skirt styling
  • Classic look
  • 455 stainless steel rolled faceplate construction
  • CAD-optimized CG
  • Sleeker dual rail design

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Jan 20, 2018]
GoodGolf


Strength:

" If it ain't broke, don't fix it" That should be the slogan for the Raylor! About time that they reintroduced the legend, as the Original is sure to be as collectible as they come, in the not too distant future!

Price Paid:
140
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2011
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jul 29, 2010]
smokehouse
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: TaylorMade Raylor Retro

I found a 16* and 19* Raylor Retro in a used club barrel at an out of the way golf shop in Lexington KY a few months ago. Both have Aldila HM40 shafts and were in very good condition. I hit several shots off the mat in the shop and while they both felt great I had concerns that they wouldn't have the same feel on the course. After about 20 rounds I'll put these up against anything out there. Both clubs are easy to work and have heads that are a bit smaller than what's on the market today, but larger than the original Raylor clubs made some twenty years ago. The faces are hot enough to provide plenty of distance and the sole rails pull the center of gravity down far enough to get the ball up easily. Great clubs in my opinion.

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used:

Callaway, Titleist.......

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 25, 2007]
Brad
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Retro Raylor 19* s300

I have been playing this club for a while now, I must say it is fantastic. The face really seems to be hot and the ball flight is great. Even with the small head, I hit it perfectly. I use the steel shaft in it and it is a great combination. I would easily say it is as good or better than my 980f. Would love to find some others to try out. Dont get this club if you dont have a good consistent swing, it is for the better golfer.

Similar Products Used:

Titleist 980f, other stuff

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 08, 2006]
bringbackthebalata
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: taylor made retro raylor 16 degree

I play the 16 raylor as a replacement for a 3 wood. Its probably a little shorter than most 3 woods but it is easier to get in the air off the fairway and is far more versatile from the rough or uneven lies due to the rails and the small club head size. With other 3 woods I was getting too much distance and the gap between it and my driver was not enough to make it a good safe lay up club. The 16 degree raylor fits in nicely. Compared to today's 3 woods the raylor is distinguished by its small size and relatively deep face profile. This is basically an old school 3 wood with rails, a hotter club face and updated technology. I've had it in the bag for 3 years and have no plans to replace it. A great choice for better players but I wouldn't recommend it if you have trouble making good consistent contact with a 3 wood as the club head is quite small compared to most contemporary designs.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 16, 2006]
Derek
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Raylor 16*

This club is absolutely amazing.I picked it up at second swing for $17 (steel shaft). I have no problem hitting this club from anywhere. I have even hit it around 260! This club can do nothing but go right down the middle for me. I will never get rid of it.

Customer Service

none, too good of a club

Similar Products Used:

king cobra fairway woods, (sucks!) titleist 980F (amazing, but not as good as raylor)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 31, 2006]
B-Rock10
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made Raylor

I purchased the Taylor Made Raylor 19 degree golf club at Goof Town about two years ago and at first it was very hard to hit. However, being the nice guy I am I gave it more of a chance and soon enough it became the best golf club in my bag. In my opinion there is no other fairway club on the market that can compete with this club. Even though the club head is small, it still packs a punch. I hit this club 10-20 yards longer than any other fairway wood I have tested. I recommend this club to anyone with good swing fundamentals. If you don't have the previous, DO NOT PURCHASE THIS CLUB AS YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO HIT IT!!!

Customer Service

goof town has some good prices,just look for them

Similar Products Used:

Taylor Made TPi-21

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 26, 2006]
woodc1981
Scratch Golfer
Model Reviewed: Retro Raylor 16 Degree

Let me start by saying that I consider myself a very good golfer. I shoot under par a regular basis. However, I have never been able to play a fairway wood. That was until I purchased this Taylor Made Retro Raylor. This is the one and only fairway wood I have ever used and have been happy with. The face seems hotter than any other fairway wood on the market. Including the new X series by Callaway. This club has been part of my bag for almost five years now and it will remain there for many years to come.

Similar Products Used:

X-Tour 3 & 5 wood, Nickent Ironwood, Taylor Made Rescue Dual, Cleveland Halo, and many others.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 22, 2005]
akap4surf
Scratch Golfer
Model Reviewed: Retro raylor 19

I really like the 19 degree model i have the 13 degree spoon as well but i am not a hundred percent sure that it the right club for me but they come with a nice heavy graphite shaft that has a good feel, i am going to test the spoon out more to see if it is as good as the raylor.

Customer Service

none needed

Similar Products Used:

everythng

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 13, 2005]
freddyc
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: spoon 13* DGS-300

butt kicking

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 18, 2004]
mattys
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Taylormade Raylor 16degree

I was looking for an inexpensive fairway wood to compliment my Ping G2. I purchased this Taylormade Raylor at SportMart for only $60. It was an unbeliavble deal that I just couldn't pass up. It has been a huge plus in my golf game. The smaller head allows me more distance and accuracy through the rough. The small head cuts through the rough like a hot knife through butter. It is also great to use out of the fairway if you are unsure about hitting your long irons. The only drawback to this club is that the small head is sometimes heard to control off the tee. But if you have a great swing, it shouldn't be too much of a problem. Overall, this club has been a great addition to my golf bag. So anyone looking for an inexpensive fairway wood should definitely consider the Taylormade Raylor.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com