Titleist 980F Strong Fairway Woods

Titleist 980F Strong Fairway Woods 

DESCRIPTION

The 980F Strong features a slightly smaller profile and a deeper face compared to the 980F for a lower launch and reduced spin producing a flatter trajectory. The 980F Strong benefits the stronger or higher ball speed player seeking trajectory control.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 14  
[Oct 29, 2010]
Luke Ogden
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Titleist 980F Strong 3 wood

Ok, where do I start with this club. I drive the ball consistantly 300 yards and I play every few weeks and maintain in the mid 70s. I have always been a cheap club kind of guy and I had a grab bag 3 wood that was $10. I tried this club in the golf simulator and I hit it consistently 275+. I hit some drivers to check the machine was calibrated correctly and it was spot on. This club will no doubt change the was I approach the tee and fairways on the par 5's. I have a strong swing speed and I stirke the ball very hard with this club. It performed beyond belief. Great club!

Similar Products Used:

Callaway Big Bertha (3rd generation) driver.
Hogan Apex edge irons.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 17, 2010]
cjandrews91
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: 980f 15*strong DG s300

Launch angle is superb. Goes out with a boring trajectory and lifts up with backspin if you strike it well. Draw, fade, I can hit it either way. Perfect for me on the long par 5s. Now I have a chance to get home in 2 from 250-270 out.

Similar Products Used:

Ping Si3
Titleist 975
Cobra x-Speed
Cobra Speed Pro

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 04, 2008]
2underpar
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: 980f 15 degree 3 wood

I had a real hard time hitting this club. Probably just me but I really wanted to like this club but just couldn't find the love. Just doesn't compare to my Callaway GBBII 3 wood. (see my review).

I guess this wasn't a fit for me but I will say that I love my Titleist 905t driver and plan to keep it in the bag for 08.

Customer Service

Not used.

Similar Products Used:

To many to list.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Feb 07, 2005]
akap4surf
Scratch Golfer
Model Reviewed: 980f strong w/ penley stealth 70

When i first recieved this club it had the dynamic gold S300 which was good and hit the ball straight as an arrow everytime. I took out the steel because i was carrying the ball a lot shorter than i was. now i have the penley steealth 70 which is great! it is light enough to carry the ball farther. This club is grreat i would reccomend it to anyone wo is a solid ball striker. Take a look at titleist's other graphite shafts because they are all quality.

Customer Service

none needed!

Similar Products Used:

everything from adams to titleist

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 24, 2005]
powerbilt
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: 980F 15 deg strong S300

When I first got this club it seemed to be okay but not better than my old 975F 13.5. The trajectory was too high for me and shot pattern too inconsistent. I have worked on this club now for one full season and alas no glory. Not really the wood for me so back to the demo days to try and find one I can work with. Should have kept the old 975f huh

Customer Service

not used

Similar Products Used:

Taylormade 200, 9875F, Callaway steelhead and steelhead+

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Mar 18, 2004]
derekls
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: 980F Strong 13 degree

Bought the club after taking one out of the bag of one of my friends for 36 holes one day. I can't say that I hit it 30 yards further than my Cleveland Quadpro 3 wood, but the stiff steel shift does give me a lot more consistent shot pattern, which in turn gives me more confidence and allows me to hit it maybe about 10 yards further than my old 3 wood. Overall, a very solid club for me, especially off the tee box when my driver becomes a spray gun. Will be looking for the 5 wood before long in this model as well. Would rate a 5 in value just b/c of the deal I got in buying it on Ebay. Good deals are out there for this club if you can look for a few days.

Customer Service

Never used before

Similar Products Used:

Cleveland quad pro, Mizuno blue rage

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 24, 2003]
Andre2you
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: 980F 15* strong (DGs300 shaft)

I was looking to replace my Ping i3(14*) 3w since it has become a hook machine. I have only played the 980F twice but for me this was a good choice. It may not be as long as the Ping but the accuracy is much better (maybe its the shaft). Off the deck this thing is very easy to hit and tee'd up is long and straight. I no longer have to worry about hitting a hook when I setp on it. For those of you looking for a 3w thats easy to hit from the deck or on the tee, this is it (IMHO).

Customer Service

Not needed yet.

Similar Products Used:

Ping i3, TM System 3w

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 21, 2003]
michael
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: 980f strong

easily the best fairway wood I have ever owned. The 980 is easy, almost intuative to work the ball. A great club for those tight fairways when a driver might be a little too much of a risk.

Similar Products Used:

taylor made, Ping, Cleveland, Orlimar HipSteel(great deals on this one, very undervalued)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 11, 2003]
Teddy T
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: 980F 15* Strong with Grafalloy Stiff Flex

I've never hit well with woods or drivers, until now. The club is EXTREMELY forgiving and sweet. It is effortlessly Looong and Straight. The shaft is great and mis-hits never really got me into trouble. Shots are so straight that its difficult to slice or hook (unintentionally). My worst shots are generally just a pull, but the ball still travels straight. Experience with other wood/shaft combo just does not match up. The shaft is very stable unlike my old wood which flexes and twists unpredictably. Awesome club which replaces my driver on most courses! Well worth its price!

Similar Products Used:

Wilson Staff Oversized, Wilson FatShaft Deep Red.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 30, 2003]
Abel1970
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: 980F Strong 15deg, Graphite

The best fairway wood I've ever hit. Very long, nice mid trayectory, fairly easy to hit and easy to control. I played a Sonartec SS02, and SS03 and a Taylormade V Steel before buying this one. I played 4 rounds with it so far and I could not be happier. Myabe expensive but well worth considering.

Customer Service

Have not used.

Similar Products Used:

Orlimar trimetal, Sonartec SS03 and SS02, Taylormade V Steel

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com