Titleist PT 585-H Fairway Woods

Titleist PT 585-H Fairway Woods 

DESCRIPTION

The new 585•H utility metals blend the best playing characteristics of fairway metals and long irons to provide greater versatility and shot making options from the tee, fairway and rough.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 19  
[Mar 23, 2010]
smokehouse
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Titleist 585-H Aldila Proto VS stiff

I have a 21*. Easy to hit off the fairway and good for all the other times you'd use a hybrid. As hybrids go this is more or a toned down fairway wood than a pumped up long iron. The trajectory is fairly low. I hit my 18.5* 906F4 5 wood much higher than the 585-H, but if I had to put a premium on accuracy between the two I'd go with the hybrid. Can be found very cheap on Ebay, like +-$40.

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used:

503-H, Cobra Baffler Hybrid.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 02, 2009]
tharris3
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: titleist pt 585.h

I read all the reviews on this site and almost decided against the purchase of my Titleist PT585.h. All reviewers suggested it was suitable for low handicappers and that those of lesser ability should try various other utilities as suggested by them.
I had tried this model at a driving range and was very impressed with it. But as I am a 23 handicapper I thought I may be kidding myself and heading for a disaster. Fortunately I let my heart over-rule my head and bought the 585 with an Aldila Proto graphite shaft, regular flex. I am hitting it 200 yards and with a straightness that has so far eluded me in my attempts to play this great game.
How can we 'lesser mortals' progress our game when the 'scratchers' advise us to use inferior equipment. So come on reviewers, be a bit less arrogant and a bit more supportive.

Customer Service

Not been needed.

Similar Products Used:

Taylor Made, Hippo, Lynx and Cleveland. Also the Nike CPR which has a different purpose and is excellent in difficult situations.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 27, 2008]
TP19
Scratch Golfer
Model Reviewed: Titleist585h UST proforce V2 Stiif 104g

I am the kind of player who doesnt change equipment often. Its not that i am against it or a skinflint, I just never seem to get round to it and makedo with what i got. An example of this is the fact i have played with the same irons for 14 years, (Mizuno TP19) and can see no need to change. However all that chenged whilst out playing a round with my father sometime ago. He had just bought a new rescue club. I looked at it with scorn. "Priests and women" i said, those were the only ones who used such things. After one round admiring my usually average fathers escapes from all sorts of lies, accuracy from the tee and towering high long approaches i decided to jetison my trusty Ping Zing 2 2 iron and search for a hybrid, (as i prefer to call them, rescue seems to imply trouble!).
why oh why do manufacturers insist on spoiling the appearance of a club with either offset or some dreadful arch or half moon on the top of the club. The Titleist however had none of this guff and immediatly caught my eye. Having used it for two rounds now i can safely say that in todays game the 2 iron is dead. I play to a high standard and can categorically say this. The advantages of the hybrid are so numerous it is hard to mention them all. Its shorter, (easier to control). It doesnt turn over in rough and delivers a much more kindly, controlable flight. The Titleist delivers on all these and more. Its classic looks are beautiful and i have to say this shaft although quite heavy provides great feedback and tremendous trajectory. I would agree that the flight is probbably not as high as some hybrids but to my eye it is the best out there. another quality club from a quailty company.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 16, 2008]
Matty
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Titleist 585.h 21* w' aldila nv85 hybrid stiff

Wow. WOW. "Straight out of the box" this club is fantastic. I've never seen myself hit a shot with such a pro trajectory before. It rockets straight into the air, way high, with no ballooning, then runs out of gas and drops dead as a doornail. I've hit tee shots only so far with it and I was hitting the 21* 215 yards. ALL carry. The ball drops to the grass like a butterfly with sore feet. Swing at 80% and you'll love the results. And the sound - so sweet and understated. Nice soft tick.

I've read so much about people complaining that hybrids are hook clubs - I don't see it, at least with this one. No hook. STRAIGHT, PENETRATING HIGH flight then a drop to the earth so smooth and PREDICTABLE you'll be in love at first shot. If you're hitting hooks with hybrids then you need to adjust your swing or grip or setup positioning. Just make sure your fundamentals are sound. There are no hybrids that produce hooks any more then there are putters that produce pulls. If you pulled it, it was you. Not the putter. Likewise if you hooked the hybrid, it was you not the club.

I seriously love this club. Time for a 17 (235?) and a 24 (195?) to go in the bag. SO Glad I finally tried this one.

Customer Service

who knows no Titleist product has ever let me down and I've had lots

Similar Products Used:

heavenwood (nice but loud) halo (really nice but not quite the pro trajectory you get with the 585) rescue (same as halo) CPR (dunno I sucked when I had them so I couldn't tell ya what they're like)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 27, 2008]
thenewbruno
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Titleist 585.h with Aldila NV 85 S

The 585.H is a great club. Nice penetrating flight. But beware, it is pretty much consistent with other Titleist products in that you've gotta have some skills to use it. The sweet spot is small, in the middle of a crowned clubface. Other hybrids have much more flat faces to allow for non-centre hits.

And a word on the myth that hybrids are hook machines....nope. Everyone thinks so because they're putting a good swing on the ball and they get a hook. It's not your swing! Your swing IS good! It's where you're playing the ball in your stance. Too far forward. You're catching the ball once the clubface is past square, once it's slightly gone closed as your wrists have turned over. Low on the clubface too. Hook! Move the ball back towards centre of your stance. Set up like a driver with your back shoulder low. Trust it. You'll get a straight missile. You'll love it. Bet you dollars to donuts moving the ball back in your stance will eliminate that hook.

Similar Products Used:

Rescue, Halo

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 27, 2008]
Matt
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: 585.h

the 585.h is great. nice penetrating flight, but the clubface is a little more crowned than most other hybrids(typical titleist) meaning if you're off centre you'll get a weaker shot.

This club (and hybrids in general) isn't a hook machine like it's so commonly suggested. Folks who have trouble with hooking hybrids are playing the ball too far forward in their stance and are thereby hitting the ball once the clubface has gone past square and closed up a bit. bet dollars to donuts.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 22, 2008]
Snaphookright
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Titleist 585.H

Well, I finally did it. I switched out my 2 & 3-iron with the 585.H 19* and 21*.

I have to say it took me some time to do this. I've had both hybrids since January. Like a lot of people on this site, I have experimented with hybrids only to discover they were hook machines. The only thing that kept them around was the fact that I hit them equivalent distances with greater ease...on the range. On course performance was a disaster.

What changed?

I finally found the right shaft for these clubs. They both came with Graphite Design hybrid shafts. I did not think this was a problem because I play GD YS6+ stiff in my driver and fairway wood with great success. I have since switched them to Aldila NV 85 stiff shaft. The funny part is, I could not stand that shaft in a driver, but for some reason, they work really well in the hybrids.

Second, no offset of any kind.

Finally, and most important, I swing it like a 7-iron. This sounds so simple that it is stupid. I guess years of grooving a long iron swing in my head had stunted my growth with hybrids. I now go up there with the thought of completing the swing and it will go the distance it was designed to go. I can't say it any more simple than that...I'm acutally hitting my 4 and 5-irons further because of that.

The only downside? I'm hitting my 21* between 215 and 220. It was supposed to replace my 3-iron/200 yard club.

For me, that's a high class problem.

Customer Service

Have not had to use yet.

Similar Products Used:

The Controller driving iron, Ping G5 hybrid, Callaway Heaven wood, Nickent 3DX, Titleist 503.H, and Mizuno MP Fli-Hi. Actually typing it out is embarassing. Thank god for 90-day "Playability" warranties or my wife would divorce me.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 05, 2008]
gj4
Shoots in the 80s

I am a titleist fan. I have their irons, fw woods, driver, and wedges and love them all. I tried my best to like this hybrid, spent more time on the range with it than any other club in my bag and finally threw in the towel. Could eventually dial it in on the range, but never reliable on the course. I am much more accurate with a 3 wood than this 21 degree! I even tried both the ys6 and the nv shaft with no luck. Even if you are a titleist fan, make sure you compare this with other options. Settled on a mizuno hybrid and the early results are much better.

Customer Service

N/A

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[May 01, 2008]
Stuart Reinhardt
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Titleist 585H

I've been experimenting with this club for quite a while. I first bought this club with a regular flex shaft, but found it to hook on more aggressive swings. I switched to the NV stiff shaft and I can now control the ball flight much better. It's usually straight or with a slight fade which I prefer. I use the 17 degree instead of a fairway wood and find it to be much more consistent and versatile. I've found that a smooth swing works best with this club and the feel is really great when hit solid. My son plays a 17 and 21 degree with the VS Proto stiff flex shaft. He is like a magician with these clubs. He even took his 3 wood out of his bag because the 17 degree gets about the same distance because of its lower, penetrating flight. These clubs look and feel great and are easy to hit as long as you don't try to kill the ball with them. I swing my 17 like it is a 5 iron and it really flies!!! About the same distance as a 4 wood. You certainly don't have to be a pro to play this club.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 26, 2008]
Chuck Dahn
Shoots in the 80s

I replaced my 3 iron with a 21 degree with an NV Stiff shaft. The club was easy to hit out of the rough and consisten off the tee on short par 4s. I recently added the 17 degree instead of my 5 wood. These are great clubs which allow a much easier ability to work the ball than some of the other hybrids I've tried.

Similar Products Used:

Adams, Hogan, Cobra, Callaway

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 19  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com