Wilson Fat Shaft Fairway Woods

Wilson Fat Shaft Fairway Woods 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 15  
[Jan 02, 2024]
minami


Strength:

Wonderful Article!
tstoto
tstoto
tstoto
tstoto

Weakness:

. . .

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Dec 28, 2023]
arissaaqila


Strength:

Whether it's about performance, design, or any particular aspect that stood out to you, additional details could be helpful for others who may be considering the same product. If you have any specific questions or if there's anything else you'd like to discuss, feel free to let me know in tstoto

Weakness:

No weaknesses. All very good.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jun 06, 2005]
chevyyick
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Wilson Fatshaft Driver (stiff 10.5°)

I picked up one of these at my old golf course for a laugh. It's now something I keep in my car for any time I feel like a hit. The standard corded grip is rubbish, so I've done as Wilson has done on the Deep Red II and replaced it with a Golf Pride Softie Grip. The head is compact in modern driver terms and delivers a nice sweet sound. Fairly forgiving for off-centre hits too. It could however be more aerodynamic though as my clubhead speed is on average 5km/h slower with this club. The shaft I found was more like an x-stiff and my comparisons with the Deep Red II stiff shaft have confirmed this. Overall it offers similar distance and forgivness to the new model (Deep Red II) but if you can pick one up at a yard sale, then go for it.

Customer Service

none used.

Similar Products Used:

Wilson Deep Red II (stiff 9.5°)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 25, 2002]
Nicholas Hayes
Shoots in the 100s
Model Reviewed: Wilson Metal Matrix 10.5 Fat Shaft Driver, Regular flex

Coming back to golf after a 20 yr break(!). Coaching by a pro as a junior has given me a good basic swing but there is a lot of rust to brush off! A new driver was needed to complete my bag. Of all the drivers I tried, I found this the most forgiving and the easiest to control. I tried the 9.0 and 10.5 regular flex and the 10.5 'light'. Settled on the 10.5 regular flex as I am not a hard hitter. Result is 8 out of 10 tee shots flying straight and true, 2/10 slicing (due to my poor technique). Of the 8/10, 6 are flying 175m-200m down range, very satisfying result for an occaisional player like myself. Had tried my brother's Callaway Big Bertha 8 deg and various other graphite shaft drivers in the $350-$650 range. The Callaway had much better distance but my re-beginning technique meant that I was spraying them all over the place. Very happy with the Wilson. NB- The 9* regular and the 10.5* lite shaft are still in the Alice Springs Pro Shop at AU$175 each (appx US$90) 23/11/02

Similar Products Used:

Callaway, other graphite drivers AU$350-AU$650

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 28, 2002]
James Karlowsky
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Wilson Fat Shaft 3 Wood

I recently hit this Wilson club on and off at my local indoor driving range. Compared to my callaway steelhead plus, I found that the ball flight was slightly higher and maybe a tad shorter. But I found for the average golfer this club can be exceptional. There is forgiveness in it, so you don''t have to be very consistent in your swing. Although I am consistent and find I hit my Callaway farther, yet I find this club to be quite good for the price $299 Canadian. If you need something that would go slightly straighter, and perhaps go not quite as far, I suggest this club. It all comes together, price, forgiveness, quality.

Customer Service

none.

Similar Products Used:

Callaway Steelhead Plus, Steelhead III, Ping I3, Taylormade Steel 200

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 25, 2002]
joef118
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: metal matrix 5 wood

This is a very good club and very easy to hit. Its more like a 4 wood being at 17 degrees. It has a very loud ping noise when stuck well. The Fat Shaft and bigger tip diameter work very well together. I''m a smooth swinger but if I need to go after it, the shaft holds up very well.

Customer Service

Haven''t had to use it.

Similar Products Used:

top flite 400 (another good club), taylor burner, adams

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 08, 2000]
Steve Worth
Shoot in the 90s
Model Reviewed: driver

I can hit a driver 250 - 290 yards with roll. But I had a slight fade one shot then a draw the next. Changing to this club (10.5 Degree) I now hit it very striaght, just as long if not longer, but most of all I will hit 8 out of 10 fairways instead of 5 or 6 with my old driver.

Similar Products Used:

fat shaft irons

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 30, 2000]
sangchun lee
Shoot in the 90s
Model Reviewed: wilson metal matrix woods 9 dgree driver.

If you are a player who plays golf once or twice at most, in a month, I highly recommand the wilson metal matrix wood driver.
The club helps you play consistant golf(straight golf to me )
.Driver yards compare with titliest 975D(9.5) seems almost the same(metal matrix rolls about 15 to 20 yards more to me).
but fairway hits became more accurate from about 4of 10 to 6 to 10 in practice shots (consider how many driver you use in a regular round of 18 hole. greater chance of hitting the fairway).
Only thing about these clubs that is hard to get used to, is the sound it makes when contact (it sounds like a alumimun baseball bat "ttanggg")
still the price and value beats the compitition away!!!

Similar Products Used:

taylor made ti bubble, titliest 975D

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 21, 2000]
Kasei Chen
Shoot in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Wilson Fat Shaft Super Oversize Titanium 9 Degree

Above average driver. 300cc head size makes this club very forgiving. But this club has very little feel. It's straighter than the other clubs I tried, but It's very difficult to control the shots. Although this driver might not be the best one available, I got this driver for $175 at igo.com so it was a real good bargin.

Similar Products Used:

Callaway Warbird

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 15, 2000]
Thomas Haner
Shoot in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Fatshaft Driver Ti 9 deg Reg Flex

Reasonably forgiving, good distance. Seemed to get best results with the ball teed relatively low-maybe 1/4 ball above the top of the club. Very little feedback on contact. Sometimes thought I had hit the ball fat but turned out very solid and long. Not bad but not the best for me. Should be able to find at good price.

Similar Products Used:

GBB, Hawkeye, Ping ISI Ti, 975D

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 15  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com