Adams Golf IDEA A1 Irons

Adams Golf IDEA A1 Irons 

DESCRIPTION

For better golfers of all abilities. 3 i-wood places hard-to-hit 3 iron. 4-6 hollow back replaces mid irons. 7-PW provide maximum control & feel.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 16  
[Jul 29, 2012]
Ken
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Adams Golf IDEA A1 Irons

I bought these to replace my Top~Flite Tour Midsized which were stolen.
These clubs are easy to hot but are easily 2 clubs shorter. The PW is only about an 80-90 yard club for me and the 5-7 are way shorter by 40 yards for some reason.
The hybrid 3 that I picked up is very good though.
Now that I am playing allot more I will be switching to Nike VRS.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used:

Top~Flite Tour Midsized

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Nov 10, 2009]
joe cool
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Adams A1 hybrid irons.

I replaced some taylormade firesole knockoffs with these. The old ones were
good but not very forgiving. I've used these A1's now about a dozen times and I just don't know yet. I haven't picked up any distance but they are a little straighter. They feel a little light in the swingweight area. I prefer a heavier feeling head and these don't seem to have it. Just goes to show you, don't buy 'em off the shelf. Custom fitting is everything. I've been playing in cold michigan conditions since I got them so,
I'll give 'em more time. I have an average to above average swing speed and I can remember hitting the seven iron into a 130 yard par three on the screws and the ball fell 20 yards short. Im like.....huh?
Anyone else?

Customer Service

na

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 18, 2009]
jjloans
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Adams A1

GREAT set of irons. Got mine (#3 hybrid and 4-PW irons)with S flex factory graphite and they are a blast to hit. Love the design, not too much offset, but enough to add some forgiveness... ball gets up really easy, distance is fine and the hybrid is a really good one... I like my kasco #3 hybrid a little more for the distance, but this one is plain easy to hit so will probably get in the bag.

Nice to know that the older designs are many times better... or much better... than the expensive new stuff. These may not be fancy, but they provide great consistency and are so easy to hit with an 80% swing. Accurate too. Yes, you can nuke 'em, but why?

I see I am not the only one to love these irons... very few on sale at Ebay, and why? Because folks keep them!

Mine were $75 shipped, and if you can find a good set for a good or great price, BUY THESE!

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used:

Most everything. I have had several expensive ($499 or higher) sets, these are better irons.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 04, 2009]
imaboutin
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Adams a1 Hybrid 4-pw 3 i hybrid

I've had these clubs since May of 2005 and paid $199 from rockbottomgolf! I have since thought that I should upgrade to a more expensive club, I tried Cleveland TA3's, Nickent 3DX, and Taylor Made Burner. None of these come close to these Adams. I will stick my a1's as the other newer clubs don't compare to the distance nor forgiveness of these clubs. If you like high ball flight and forgivness like no other, these clubs are for you. I would recommend these clubs agianst anything on the market.

Similar Products Used:

Adams Ovation driver and 5 wood.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 30, 2008]
waylon1226
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Adams Idea A1 Hybrid Irons

Ok, I just got a set of Mizuno MP 30 so I'm gonna stop using my A1 irons. However, I've been playing the A1 for three years now so I guess you can take my words for them. First of all, these are game improvement clubs. If you are a mid- to high-handicapper, you probably will find the large heads appealing. However, if you are better than a 15 handicap, you probably will find these A1 irons too clumsy and unworkable. I started using them as a 30 and now I'm a 12 so I know how they suit different playing levels. These irons are designed so the sole bounces off more than cuts through the turf. This is good for the higher handicapper because he picks the ball off the turf rather than hitting down through the turf.Adams made the shafts extra long to provide extra yards too, which is something I find inconvenient, as I am only 5'7". Besides the size, though, I've got to say these are one of the most appeal set to my eyes; no weird angles, smooth lines, and an over-all roundish shape. Now to the hybrids. These are definitely well made. I play the 4 and 3, and they look clean and very easy to hit, which is true. I'm going to keep on playing them with my new Mizunos. Unlike the irons, these hybrid suits everybody, in my opinion. They are solid and goes very straight, which is what people look for in hybrids. These are more like woods than irons though. You might want something different if you prefer ones that are more like irons. Well, that's about it. I recommend this set (pw-5 irons, 4-3 hybrids) to people with handicap of 18 and up. Good luck!

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 23, 2008]
Rick Furley
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Adams Idea A1 5-PW

I've been becoming more serious about golf and have playing more often, lately. Over the past few months, I've come from being a consistent 100+ shooter to finally poking into the 80's. I've slowly been re-tooling my starter set and finally decided I needed to upgrade from my cheap Spaulding set purchased from Costco.

I think these clubs are fantastic. I love the sweet looking Aldila shafts and the feel of the grips. The heads look nice and are so much more forgiving than my junk set. I was considering buying an old set of OS King Cobra II irons after trying a couple of them. The Cobras were okay, but I like my Adams irons better. I found a great deal. I got them for only $70 and the guy threw in a box of a dozen new balls(Top Flites, though). The clubs were used, but most of them only in the guy's living room. He only used two of the clubs twice on the course, so they were all pretty much brand new. Anyways, I love how high these clubs hit! My short irons and wedge go so high. I love it! I love stepping up and just bombing short par 3's now. My 5 iron has always been my nemesis. I used to hit my old one as far as my 7 iron. Now I can step up and knock my 5 iron about 195 yards. It has made a huge difference on my game. Also, the slice/fade I had on my shots has disappeared. I actually have a bit of a draw now. This is a great, affordable set for the mid-handicapper.

Customer Service

Adam was quite friendly and helpful. Just kidding...never had to use them.

Similar Products Used:

Spaulding Tour Limited; starter set; sucks.
King Cobra II OS graphite; pretty good, but sort of ugly.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 24, 2008]
Len
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: ADAMS A1 IRONS

Saw there were no reviews on these irons so I thought I'd add my two cents. I played Ping Eye 2 for years and then Taylor Made Firesole. Funny thing, none of them compare to each other. The Pings went very long but not very straight, the Firesoles just never had a good feel but these relatively inexpensive A1's are right in the middle. Not long, not short but very accurate. I have R300 shafts and play 3-LW. All the bad long shots that cost me strokes are no gone and I'm shooting in the 30's for 9 holes consistantly (okay we roll it around and play winter rules at our local course). Can't believe more people haven't noticed these clubs. Again, not the longest and not the most forgiving but they play well.

I recommend, give em a try. I'm still in search for the "perfect" set of irons but until I find them, I will never sell these clubs.

Customer Service

Not needed

Similar Products Used:

Ping Eye 2+, Taylor Made Firesole

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 17, 2007]
Bmiller
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Adams Idea a1 Hybrid Irons

So I just ordered a set of Adams Idea a1 irons that came with the 3&4 hybrids.First of all I pretty much got these for a steal from rockbottomgolf.com for $180.I'm a really picky person and was leaning towards the Taylor made RACS but started to read reviews on these clubs.I couldn't find a negative report on them.So I ordered them and I was impressed when I first just seen how they look.Not to mention how they hit!!!!!!!These Irons are absolutely amazing.I didn't have to get used to them at all as I was hitting the ball further,straighter,and higher then before compared to my cheap Knight's.I've never hit a hybrid in my life and first hit with it I drilled it 200 yards. And was able to keep hitting that far consistently with the 3 i-wood.llIF YOU ARE THINKING ABOUT BUYING THESE, DO IT!!!!!!! You wont regret it.

First round that I played with them I shot a 46 as I usually shoot around 50.These clubs are definently going to help shave off at least 6+ strokes.Don't hesitate.Buy these clubs there are so forgiving and easy to hit.And a great price!

Customer Service

Rockbottomgolf has some of the best prices I've ever seen!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 22, 2007]
jbelley
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Adams A1 5-PW

Just received these from Rockbottom Golf for $99, which is a giveaway. Went out and hit the 9 iron and all I can say is I am impressed. These look similar at address to the Taylor Made RAC's I had and feel and perform just as good. This is just a first impression and I will follow up after I play a few rounds.I just feel for this kind of performance and value you can't go wrong for the mid-handicapper. Look beyond the ego and realize what works best for your game.

Customer Service

Not needed as yet

Similar Products Used:

Currently playing Hogan CFT and Ping G2. I have had or tried many of the big name mid-handicap irons. These are as good or better.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 20, 2006]
mmisoc@gmail.com
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Adams Idea A1 Hybrid

I purchased the irons (4-PW) and Iwood (2-3) separately from RockBottom Golf.

I decided to get regular graphite shafts. The clubs are accurate and very forgiving.

Even though I was hesitant to abandon the traditional 2 and 3 iron, the hybrid clubs are excellent. They are awesome in the rought (even 4+ inches thick)

If you swing hard, you may want to consider the steel shafts, as they appear to be a little more consistent.

The graphite shafts are accurate and hit the ball about 5 yards further. Don't try to hit these clubs extra hard - better to hit a stronger club (6 versus 7) and swing easy.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

Top Flite Tour (excellent club), Precept EC-603, Wilson Fat shaft, Mizuno Sure

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 16  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com