Ben Hogan Apex PC Irons

Ben Hogan Apex PC Irons 

DESCRIPTION

The Apex PC irons have a high center of blade with very thin sole and top line. PC stands for Percussion Center. It is a very beautiful blade with PC in an oval on the back.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-7 of 7  
[Mar 24, 2018]
leprechaungolf


Strength:

Feels pure. Love the thin lines on these irons. Leading edge is sharp and goes through the turf effortlessly. I feel like these irons force me to put a more focused strike on the ball because the off center hits aren't as rewarding as blades that have some radius in the sole. But I prefer that. Improves my ball striking. I play titleist mb 710s and can tell you that I prefer the Hogans. The titleist are great clubs though. The Hogans have very little offset also. All around the clubs fits my eye and needs. Really beautiful clubs too. I recommend them...

Weakness:

No negatives.

Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
1984
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jan 12, 2017]
Ryan
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Hogan PC

Fantastic irons, solidly built with extremely thin soles especially compared to modern mbs.
First, these are for top tier players with a very, very controlled swing. Even those who regularly play modern mbs will have trouble if they do not have a consistent deliberate tempo.
Some may say you there is distance loss on these, but if one looks at the lofts you will see that the pw matches the loft of a modern gap, the 9 with a modern pw, etc...with that in mind, ive found the distance to be at least as good as modern clubs...loft to loft, i even found a distance gain.
The feel is not as soft as modern blades, it has more of a crispier sound and higher pitched thud at impact, but it is a great feel for those accustomed to the goals of the times they were made. The leading edge is sharper too, so expect nicely sliced pancakes as divots that keave a perfrctly shaped sole outline in its wake and not more obtuse clods of dirt.
The hogans also come .25 shorter than modern standard but that aids in accuracy, which these provide un spades.
Overall, these are some of the pinnacles of older blade models. A true player will reap the benefits of a controlled swing while a learner will develope precise shot and impact control. Time spent masteting these will result in a highly competent player but if u care more about your club number sayingvyou hit the ball so many yards, go somewhere else, or youll bevdpending your round in the sand

Customer Service

Clised

Similar Products Used:

Redline, 99 apex, 72 apex, channelback, vip1025m, cobra pro mb, mp 32,33,59,60,62,4,5,67
Titty 690.mb, 690.cb, 710cb,mb,ap2, etc

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 22, 2016]
Ivan Sanders
Scratch Golfer
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex PC (1984)

These are my everyday irons not simply because of their beauty but their wafer thin soles and high centre of gravity make good shot making a joy particularly when it's windy and / or the ground is wet. I personally find them easier to play than cavity backs, and am so pleased to be able to source high quality irons as these days even top of the range equipment is designed with beginners in mind. And vintage chroming is FAR better!

Similar Products Used:

The only irons of similar quality which I have personally handled are Jack Nicklaus Champion 813 series (pro. catalogue version) by MacGregor.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 30, 2011]
Oakland
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: ben hogan pc irons

1980's era Ben Hogan Apex PC irons that I used for about 8 years along with a set of hogan red lines. These irons have been wonderful for me, and they look great behind the ball. Not very forgiving, obviously. The feel off the face is either a clicky feel when you miss slightly, a harsh feel when toe'd. If you hit that dime size sweet spot, it is nirvana. I find amongst Hogan mb or non cb blades the differences are not so great as people often express, with a handful of exceptions. Hogans tend to have a harder feel off the face than say Mizuno or Titleist forgings. I like to use a soft ball with these clubs. The short irons are just dolls.

Customer Service

na

Similar Products Used:

hogan apex red lines
mizuno ms801
mizuno mp32
mizuno mp67

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 20, 2010]
Gee I K
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Hogan PC Irons

What a find. I bought these 5 years ago off e-bay. They set in my closet until about a year ago.
Light, pricise, a joy to hit.
Weak lofts took a little time to get use to.
I have put my newer Hogan apex irons in the closet now.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 06, 2010]
jetdriver
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Ben Hogan Apex PC

Sweet Clubs! I have the apex 4 shafts 2-E wedge and an almost full spare set minus the 5 and E. Great looking clubs, too bad that they did not put the BH sunburst on these babies.- That would be a stunning looking club.
These clubs have great feedback, a med/low boring>-----> tragectory. A good strike feels solid with a fluid feel.
E wedge is great!

Customer Service

-None

Similar Products Used:

Ben Hogan BH Grinds, ApexII, Radials, Hagen Ultras, W/Staff- @-many others

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 01, 2007]
matthew
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Apex PC

great clubs. a true forged. not forgiving, but what forged are. a beautiful club. have to be on your game to play well with these.

can get them cheap too.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-7 of 7  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com