Callaway Fusion Wide Sole Irons

Callaway Fusion Wide Sole Irons 

DESCRIPTION

A super-premium iron with game-improvement styling and performance. The Fusion Wide Sole Irons combine Fusion Technology–Callaway Golf's innovative weight distribution technology — with an advanced multi-material design to create an oversized game-improvement iron. The result is a game-improvement iron that plays longer and offers unmatched performance and playability.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Sep 11, 2021]
incremental19


Strength:

This club delivers everything advertised. They are the most forgiving club I have ever hit, and what they create is consistency in your shot making which results in confidence building for the player. | Drone Mapping

Weakness:

none so far

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jul 11, 2011]
Todd Elleser
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Callaway fusion wide sole

I bought a set of these used this spring as a back up set. They kicked the Taylormade set out of the bag after only 2 rounds! Very easy to hit and easily longer than anything I have hit so far. This set has the regular flex fusion graphite shafts that play a little stiffer and more to my liking. As far as I am concerned callaway built one of the best game improvement irons ever made with this set, just my opinion and everyone has one!

Customer Service

Nonapplicable

Similar Products Used:

Taylormade rac, cobra 3100/IH, ping g5, Adams a7, Nike ignites

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 27, 2010]
Rory.edwrads
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: callaway fusion wide sole

i got a set of theses clubs just today for £10 local pro shop wher having a big sail and well i must say i is the best £10 pounds i have ever epent and for sure the best clubs i have ever hit if you get the chance to by a set do it will change you life.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 14, 2010]
Haynes
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: wide sole fusion irons

I bought the wide sole fusions new in 2006. I had an old set of 1998 calaways before these and shot inthe upper 80's. After playing the wide sole fusions 8 to 10 rounds, I didn't see much improvement but I was having to adjust to more distance than I was accustomed to. (ex. old 7 iron 153 yards, new 7 iron 172 yards) The WSF hit straight and are a little more difficult to shape a shot, but with practice I have managed to accomplish it. I wouldn't want another set of irons. My scores have now dropped to 73 to 75 on average.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jul 09, 2010]
B V Bailey
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Callaway Fusion Wide Sole

This club delivers everything advertised. They are the most forgiving club I have ever hit, and what they create is consistency in your shot making which results in confidence building for the player. The long and mid irons are the bomb. The one knock I have is feel in these giants in the short irons. As a result I have gone with Cleveland wedges. Absent that these sticks are long, consistent, and a pleasure to play. The grips are very soft and give you the best feel possible. Bottom line is they will improve your score......Hit'em straight!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 25, 2008]
RichardL_NYC
Shoots in the 90s

I bought these as a second set because these types of clubs (wide sole and oversized head) are known as the most forgiving irons.

After spending about 5 months on various different golf courses, I realized that this was the wrong purchase. FOr anyone that is serious about golf, I highly recommend getting the "Game Improvement" class or even a "Player's class".

For me, golf is 80% mental and 20% skill. When I look down on these fusion wide sole, I can't help but think how silly these irons look. The topline is way to thick and the oversized head feels like a hockey stick. Also, I feel that even as a beginner, you are doing yourself a disservice by getting these types of clubs (not just Fusion Wide Soles). Even though the face is larger, if you're not hitting it right, it's not going to go where you want. It will go far left or far right. You also won't get any feed back on your swing.

I decided to go for the Callaway x-forged and I feel much more confident at address with these types of clubs. EVen though they say it's for low handicappers, I feel that even high handicappers can benefit from non oversized clubs. Even though you will still hit like crap, at least you're not fooling yourself that a hockey stick will improve your game.

Similar Products Used:

X-20

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
1
[May 16, 2008]
rational golfer
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Callaway fusion wide sole

I high school and college I always played forged muscle back blades because I could and back then there wasn't much else to choose from. As I have gotten older I moved to forged cavity back blades, and as I have played less and less due to other priorities, I have thought about getting irons that were more forgiving so I didn't have to work so hard.

A fried of mine has a set of callaway fusion wide sole irons at his vacation home as a back up set and earlier this spring while I borrowed the house for my own family vacation I also borrowed the clubs for several rounds.

They are not a set I would normally look at but I was pleasantly surprised, they did make it a much different game then what I am used to, but I found these clubs to hit high, long, and very straight. I think they were 1/2 a club longer than my own.

Anyone who is looking to "work" the ball and thinks that these would be a good choice obviously has more dollars then sense, but if you are looking to hit hit higher straighter shots with less effort then these wouldn't be a bad choice.

After all if you are in the middle more times then not you don't have to curl your next shot around a tree.

With the cost of new I would rate the value very low but you can get a used set under $500.

Customer Service

Callaway customer service, along with Ping and Taylormade, have always been at the top.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Apr 08, 2008]
deerhunter
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: callaway fusion wide sole irons

ive got 3 sets of irons and the fusion irons feel like there dead. i have ping,taylormade xd,and powerbilt....they all feel lively or at least you can work them somewhat but theres no working these at all.after those i will never buy callaway again.....aside the fairway fusion woods and you cant beat them

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Mar 28, 2008]
Bruce Lumsden
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Callaway Fusion Wide Sole

I am not surprised they no longer make them. The clubs were not only expensive, but unworkable. I hit them straight and short. Lost 1 club length, and they are not at all playable. Almost impossible to draw or fade. I traded them in after a 1/2 season.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Sep 25, 2007]
Edwin
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Callaway Fusion Wide Sole

Bought this set this summer, very easy to play with. Straighter shots with all irons. Forgiveness +++

Customer Service

not used

Similar Products Used:

Callaway BB 2005
Callaway X14

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com