Giant GX2 Irons

Giant GX2 Irons 

DESCRIPTION

With a focus on helping mid to high handicap players, Giant Golf has developed an innovative new line with their GX2 Irons. A slightly oversized, graphite shafted, cavity back iron... the GX2's main difference, According to Giant Golf, is "their exclusive 'CCP,' Corrective Clubhead Positioning." "CCP" sets the club head slightly behind the shaft, helping to get the hands in the correct position at impact (slightly ahead of the clubhead) helping to keep the face square at impact.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 34  
[Jul 13, 2010]
J Stranger
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Giant Gx2

I paid a lot of money for these at a Giant Gx2 seminar when they came out, and was very happy at the moment. After being stored in the rafters for a lil over 2 years everything seemed fine but I was a little embarrassed when I went golfing with a buddy of mine a few weeks ago and the grips started coming apart. The play is decent with these clubs (for the price you can get them for now). But I will NEVER deal with Giant again. At their seminar I won a seperate driver in their raffle, they took my info and promised it via ground shipping. Not only did I not get it... I was charged for it!!! I didn't find out til I found the hit on my credit score n they were willing to DO NOTHING about it.

Customer Service

HORRIBLE!!! I will never deal with them again, I would only consider purchasing from a private party

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jun 06, 2006]
1970ronnie
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Gentle Giants #1

These are the best buy in a set of Golf Irons i had ordered these on a close out on EBAY for $38.99 for the heads and had them custom fitted to me with True Temper s-300 Dynamic Gold shafts and I tell you I have had Macgregor,2 sets of Cobra's King Cobra irons,Clevland VAS oversize second gen.,Callaway Big Bertha's original,Taylormade Bubble Burner oversize,Titelist Dci's gold oversize and DCI 962's,Mizuno "T" Zoid's oversize Titanium inserts,Yonex cavity back,Ping Eye 2 blue dots,and some old Ben Hogans Apex,and I have got to say these are the most forgiving set i have had as of yet the only one close to these were the Ping Eye 2's Blue dots.But i will say that I have hit the new Cleveland GC4's and i think they are close.I will say for the money you can get these for a lot less and you will have a GREAT SET of IRONS and you could spend more and propaply not do any better with a higher end set of clubs i really think these are worth a shot if you need a game improvement club that you can still work the ball.I hope this helps good luck and God Bless .

Customer Service

No experience with them but for the money i am not worried about it.

Similar Products Used:

Ping Eye 2,Cobra= King Cobra,Big Bertha originals,Dci's gold oversize and 962's,yonex,Clevland vas 2nd gen,Mizuno "T" Zoid titanuim insert's,Hogan Apex,Tommy Armour,and a few i have forgotten about.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 12, 2005]
golf-addict
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Gentle Giant (GX2 ancestor)

forgiving and long for 7-9, PW, GW, SW, very nice set of game improving irons. I have two sets with different length/lie and flex, both worked well in different stage of learning(new sets with steel might be around $50-70), it helped me from a beginner to an addict breaking 90 twice in the first year. Now I use Nike Forged blade, not I can hit like pro, just like the smaller and compact heads. I can hit 3 and 4 iron of GX2/gentle giant after a year or so into golf, but 5 and 6 is hard for me to hit, still, I am not using 3-5 irons but Snake Eyes Utility woods, Mizuno's MX-20 6 iron. That would be another great game-improving iron I 'd recommend to starter. I am still using Giant's SW for sand, deep-rough and chip shots

Customer Service

friendly, prompt response when I had questions

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 25, 2003]
Bala Umasankar
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: GX2

Average clubs. Good shafts, average heads , bad grips (I did'nt get Winn grips as I believed but STAR grips which was cheap!). The offset didn't suit me as I use a clone that has no offset. incorrect hits hard on the hands.

Customer Service

BAD BAD BAD. I know this contradicts earlier views. I returned the clubs as I was not happy. After a frantic one week incessant calling I learnt today that they don't have a 90 day return policy!!! I may receive a credit and not a refund!! I intend to fight this but please BEWARE!!!

Similar Products Used:

Taylor made clones.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Apr 16, 2003]
chewaspirin
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: GX100 Ambassador

I hit a couple of the GX2's and the new set has blown my mind. Big time improvements. Loving these guys more and more. This is my best and maybe last set of clubs, I can't imagine a better set of clubs. The proprietary design is genius.

Customer Service

Unmatched. Never had better. If you don't know Giant Golf you should call for some clubs.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 08, 2003]
brainerd
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: GX2

Also for the good golfer, who thinks he should be a scratch player. These are wonderful clubs. They have added 10+ yards to my shots, and the Corrective Club Positioning (CCP) has reduced or eliminated my tendency to slice. I tried some of these clubs last year and they suprised me. They deliver a nice feel for an offset, cast club, and the ball just lauches off of the face. Weighting at the base of the club face ensures a high launch angle. Call Giant Golf direct, and you will find great specials. I bought this set for a incredile price because they were demos. The wear was hardly noticable. I also got a great deal on my woods and FT driver (See reviews for both). Call direct for some great deals.

Customer Service

My experiance with "Eric" in their sales/service department has been super. He was patient and very informative. The clubs can be adjusted at no charge. There is also a 90 money back guarantee. You really can't go wrong.

Similar Products Used:

Giant FT Driver Giant GX2 Woods Top Flite Tour (Multi-Layered) Ball

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 15, 2002]
Buff
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Giant GX2 (Gentle Giants)

While these aren't "pure" GX2s, I have just built the best set of irons I have ever played. The heads are 10 Gentle Giant heads (3-PW, + AW & SW) currently being sold on eBay for $38, shipping included. Great price! The shafts are Grafalloy ProLogic graphite that are too incredible to describe (Golfsmith $100 for 3-PW & $17 for 2 wedges). At 71 grams (R flex), these shafts are so sweet and (for the lack of a better word) luxurious, that swinging the clubs feels effortless and assertive at the same time. Find the review for these shafts at golflubreview.com. While you are there, check out the factory shipped GX2 review. Yeah, it's kinda old, but these irons are also EASILY 1 to 2 clubs longer than my X-14 clones and so far appear just as accurate. By October, I'll be "on" instead of over the green. I won't be 20 yards short as I am with these clones... and I'm playing GOOD X-14 clones. I have Player Softie grips that I love on all my clubs, so any real harsh hits are muted somewhat. The bottom line is this: These heads have real aggressive lofts, cavity backs, and sweetspot layer weighting. The shafts are strong but sweet (Think Cadillac Northstar, not Shelby Cobra) and the grips are what you like, or need. The shafts are pre-cut for individual clubs and any trimming is done on the butt-end. If you hit it thin or on the toe, it isn't the best feeling sensation. Most clubs are jarring at worst in the same situation. It does go straight, however, for me. YMMV. I feel real confident saying that if you are a 15+ hdcp, currently playing progressive offset, cavity-backed, perimeter weighted irons and need more distance, this is an extremely viable option. What do you have to lose? I've spent more than $200 on many Friday Night bar-hopping excursions (when I was much younger and single, of course). What the heck, if you don't like them give them to your teen-aged son and say you built them especially for him.

Customer Service

Not applicable

Similar Products Used:

X-14 clones, Orlimar Hip steel irons, Executive Golds

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 28, 2002]
Ken
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Giant GX2 Irons

These irons are a joy to hit. I have played them about 4 months now and my scores are coming down. Not only are they fairly long, but they get up quickly allowing me to hit over, rather than punch out. Great feel, Winn grips, and who can beat the Price? My set included all 4 wedges, custom lie and loft, and I still had a 90 day trial period to return them (Yes, even the demos!)

Customer Service

Excellent - They shipped standard, instead of 1/2" long 2 degree upgright. They paid the return, expediated the right clubs, and threw in a dozen golf balls

Similar Products Used:

King Cobra II's, Dunlops, some other knock-offs.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 20, 2002]
Matthew Peterson
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Giant Golf GX2 Irons

I have now played the GX2 Irons for 2 years. Before playing these irons, I had tried everything. I was to the point that I was playing all Orlimar fairway metals up to PW. I went to a Giant Golf seminar & got a SW with the price of the seminar. I liked the way it felt. About a month or so after the seminar, I got a call from the Giant Golf Representative who offered me a deal on a set of the irons. I have been taking strokes off my game ever since. I don't mess with my 3 & 4 irons much, but that is only because of my love for fairway metals, but I know I hit the 8 iron 150, straight as an arrow. The biggest difference is the ability to get the ball up in the air & long. I also have no problems with slices or hooks. If the ball goes to the right or left, it is user error. If you struggle with irons, these are the way to go. This year I have started firing in the high 70's & it all has to do with the control of these irons. It is pretty hard to stop a fairway metal from 165!!!

Customer Service

Excellent. The rep followed up with me about 30 days after receiving the clubs to make sure I was satisfied. They send me an email once in a while to keep in touch.

Similar Products Used:

Ping I2 Callaway Wilson Fat Shaft

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 09, 2001]
markp56
Shoots in the 100s
Model Reviewed: Giant GX2 Irons

Strength:

None

Weakness:

None

After finally agreeing to try these irons I can honestly say that they are what they claim to be. I hit them about 15 yards farther that my previous set. The 3 & 4 are as easy to hit. Yes the lofts are strong. The first time I played them I was happy hitting 8 irons to greens at 150 yards and also hit a 6 iron pin high on a 165 uphill par three into the wind.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 34  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com