Golf Smith Tour Cavity Forged Irons

Tour Cavity Forged

From GolfSmith: " Perimeter-weighted cavity offers forgiveness on occasional mis-hits, while the soft carbon steel, tour-radiused sole, minimal offset, slightly rounded toe and thin topline are all features preferred by better players. The long irons are designed with slightly more cavity thickness in the heel to help prevent the tendency to leave the club face open at impact."

User Reviews (48)

Showing 1-10 of 48  
whynotme   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 22, 2014]
Model Reviewed: Golfsmith Tour Cavity Forged

I had a set of the cast Tour Cavity Professional Grind several years ago and always wanted the forged version. After I read the reviews here, I began looking for a set on ebay. Just found a set - had to re-shaft to fit my game, and have now practiced with them several times and played a few rounds. They are simple design and great to look at at address. The sole design is great as you can play from any lie with no trouble. The short and mid irons are very accurate with great feel. The long irons are suprisingly easy to hit as well and feel great. The minimal offset is a great change from all the modern clubs out there - allows one to let the club do all the work and perform exactly as your swing dictates. Great set of clubs - if you can find them, you will enjoy them.

Customer Service

ordered my shafts and grips from them and re-shafted myself. their service is usually top notch.

Similar Products Used: you name it, i've tried it.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrew   Shoots in the 70s [Feb 12, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Golfsmith Pro Tour Cavity

These are simply amazing in every way. I have golfed with all sorts of clubs and these beat them all. I used my brothers and now I am doing everything possible to find a set of my own. They feel great from back, crack, and fallow through. Also might be the most forgiving club I've ever used.

Similar Products Used: Ping
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Terry   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 24, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Tour Cavity Forged

I have the cavity back in the 3 and 4 iron and the blades in 5 - PW. They have been great, but am now interested in having the 5 - PW in cavity back as well. I have been searching the internet and contacted Golfsmith, but no luck so far. I love these clubs and since I am getting a little older the cavity backs would be best for me. If you know where I can find these heads in cavity back, please let me know. They are fantastic.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Hooper   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 01, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Golfsmith Pro Forged Cavity

I went out of my way to join this forum JUST so I could tell my fellow golfers that these clubs are the best clubs ever! I currently own 14 sets of irons. Hogan, Ping, you name it. These irons simply can not be beat. I just bought a 'backup' set of heads I was lucky enough to find on eBay for $75. If you can find these, buy 'em. Incredible. Your search for the perfect irons will be over.

Customer Service

These are the original GS Forged Cavities. The replacement heads are crap, or at least so I keep hearing.

Similar Products Used: GS pro forged. Nice, but these beat them.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ontopofu36   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 18, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Golfsmith Tour Cavity Forged

I have been trying to get theses clubs for awhile and boy was it worth the wait.These are absolutely the best clubs i ever hit! I have probably tried every club out there and these are the most forgiving sweetest feeling clubs to date.I know they are older and everyone says you need to buy up to date clubs but that is a bunch of baloney! I am gonna try to get a second and third set of these so i never have to hit another club again...good luck on your clubs of the future of will keep the past!

Customer Service

no dealings.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brian Leahy   Shoots in the 70s [Apr 18, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Golfsmith Tour Cavity Forged

This club is without question, the best clubhead I have swung, and I have played a whole bunch of clubs in the past 20 years. I now have 2 sets of these sticks, one set with x-100's and one set with Rifle 6.5's. The heads offer a perfect blend of feel and forgiveness. Feed back is sufficient as you will immediately know how you missed it, but results are not penal. Flushed shots feel just as good as the MP14's or Titleist Tour Models that I used to play. They look great in the bag, and you can pick up a set for under $100 on ebay. I cannot believe Golfsmith quit making this head!
There is a reason why all 42 reviewers previous to me have given 10 stars out of 10.

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used: You name it, I've hit it.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rainkingjr   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 09, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Golfsmith Tour Cavity Forged

I recently acquired a second set of these irons off ebay for next to nothing. I owned a set two years ago. I am admittedly an extreme club junkie. I have no idea why I ever went away from these irons. They are simply the best irons I have ever owned. The lofts are set up like clubs of old with the PW being 48.5 degrees. They feel great, are very workable, and are beautiful to look at. Why in the world did Golfsmith stop production of this club? The new TCF looks like crap compared to these. I am currently on an ebay watch to try to land at least two more sets so I have reserves when I wear my current set out. My Ping I5's, which I love, will be collecting dust in the closet periodically.

Customer Service

No experience

Similar Products Used: Every players or mid handicap club out there.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
briann   Shoots in the 70s [Aug 31, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Tour Cavity Forged

I bought the TCF irons to replace my set of TaylorMade Burner Midsize. I purchased the heads 3-SW and put them on Rifle Lite Shafts in 5.5 flex and Winn grips. These clubs are amazing. The forged carbon steel gives it soft feel, while the cavity back design adds to forgiveness. Pured hits feel like butter, while slightly off center hits hold straight and lose little distance. The TCF are not as forgiving on super off-center hits as the larger deeper-cavity design game improvement irons like Callaway, TaylorMade RAC,or Nike Slingshot, but for a golfer of moderate ball-striking ability, the tour cavity forged will give up little, if anything in terms of loss of distance or accuracy on miss-hits. The trajectory on the irons is moderate; its center of gravity is not overly high or low. The distance is a little shorter (3-5 yards) per club compared to the cast irons I have tried. Most importantly, my short-iron accuracy has improved tremendously. I've always struggled with hooks but the low-offset design of TCF irons make the my shots straighter. The forged designed also allowed the irons to be bent 2 degrees flat which suits my height and swing type better. The SW which comes in 54 degree loft was easily bent to 52 and now serves as my gap wedge. Best of all, I got something similar to the Hogan, Mizuno, and Yonex forged cavity designs at less than half the price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Geoff Austin   Shoots in the 90s [May 06, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Tour cavity forged

Woe is me. I will never have to go through the long tough journey of club tryouts as my local clubmaker banged me up a 4-pw set with tt tx90s as my first set of clubs. It's like marrying your grade school sweetheart and then finding out she is rich. Now I watch ebay for the set that is going to replace these when I wear the chrome off. The golf god Tom Wishon did these for Golfsmith when he was there. Boggles the mind that they stopped making them.

Customer Service

Herb Klein makes great clubs

Similar Products Used: Nothing similar or even close
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
hara   Shoots in the 90s [Jun 23, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Golfsmith Tour Cavity Forged

Build the Set 2-PW with Dynamic Gold Lite R-300 and Lamkin Crossline Midsize grips. A wounderful and outstanding combination. Excellent feedback and playability. The best irons I played so far and I have no intent to switch.

Similar Products Used: Ben Hogan Apex Edge, Mizuno MP 30
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 48  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com