MacGregor V-Foil 1025C Cavity Back Irons

Available At:
V-Foil 1025C Cavity Back

Exclusive V-FOIL technology for more power, playability, and forgiveness. • Cavity back design is 23% larger than a traditional blade to correct for off-center hits. • Authentic forged irons deliver uniform metal density for better feel and distance control. • Thicker top-line and progressive offset for confidence at address. • Precision forged from 1025 carbon steel for feel and workability. • Precision CNC-engraved, square-cut scoring lines for consistent control. • 100% nickel chrome finish for durability and style. • True Temper Pro-Pel Lite® low bend steel shafts (Regular and Stiff). • Distance Series lightweight graphite shafts by Graphite Design (Regular and Stiff). • Golf Pride Tour Velvet grips.

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
Scott   Shoots in the 70s [May 14, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Macgregor vfoil 1025 C

Easiest long iron in a players club to hit, and I have hit them all. I usually struggle to play a 3 iron since I turned 50, but this club makes it easy. I have to give Mizuno MP 57 the edge on cavity back short irons.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
leroy_the_koala   Shoots in the 70s [Feb 26, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Macgregor 1025C V-Foil

I bought these irons as i like a blade look. They are great. I could go on forever and Lordy some reviewers have but the 1025's set up well and put a good swing on em and they go high and straight. I play with Titleist NGK's and I recently spent some time hitting a set of Callaway X18s and they felt like bricks. No club is gonna make a 20 handicapper into a pro but if you want a very good looking well made iron at a great price these are the clubs.I was interested to see the difference between the Callaway's technology and the muscle backs of the Macgregors. In my humble opinion getting weight behind the middle of the ball is the way to go. The Callaway's are so heavy that after hitting 40 balls and then playing a competition round I was knackered. Go Macgregor !

Customer Service

Have had to need for any.

Similar Products Used: Callaway X18
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bob   Shoots in the 90s [Dec 12, 2003]
Model Reviewed: V Foil 1025C

The performance of these irons really matches their beauty. Very smooth swinging club whether I take a smooth tempo or agressive swing; club performs fantastic either way. I tried the Pro Pel Light steel shaft in Stiff and liked the lower kick point. Really makes the club easy to swing. However, when I finally purchased my set, I went with the Dynamic Gold S300 in Stiff. Much better for my faster swing speed (low 90s). I get great loft on my shots and these irons are accurate! I love the feedback I'm getting from them. I highly recommend these irons. MacGregor has reached high levels with this iron!

Customer Service

I have not had a need for customer service yet.

Similar Products Used: Replaced my set of TaylorMade 320 irons with this set. Tried Cleveland TA7, Ping, Mizuno MX-23
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Joe   Scratch Golfer [Aug 12, 2003]
Model Reviewed: v foil 1025 cavity back

Best irons I have ever played. I got my irons 1 degree strong because I hit a high ball, and they are sweet. I played the titleist 762's before these, and they do not compare to the solid feel of these v foils..

Similar Products Used: titleist 762, Ping blades
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
isotope1024   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 29, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Macgregor 1025C cavity back with graphite shaft

This is an update to a review written by yours truly on May 15, 2003. As of today, I've experienced a problem with the irons in that the ferrules of four of them began to "creep" up the shaft. I complained to Macgregor and indicated my disappointment with Macgregor Quality Control. The result of this complaint is delineated in the customer service account(see below).

Customer Service

Had the irons professionally re-epoxied by a local Macgregor dealer and was charged by them. I simply could not wait to send them to Macgregor, wait for them to get there, then for Macgregor to fix them and send them back. I need my irons, daily. After a couple of email messages. I received a response indicating that Macgregor did not want me as a dissatified customer and would offer me a sand, gap or lob wedge, or maybe even a 2 iron. I took the 2 iron. They've done the right thing in my book. They care and obviously support their products. Good show!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
CWC   Shoots in the 100s [Jun 05, 2003]
Model Reviewed: 1025C

I took up golf back in September of last year, basically because a friend of mine and his Dad were also keen on learning "The Art" - as it were. I was invited along because they knew I had a set. The set I had was an old style forged muscle-back blade (and not so much of a muscle either), which I bought second hand in order to avoid paying rental charges at the local course. I played twice over the following years and then forgot about golf altogether. Well the bug hit big time this time around, however - due to reading and advice from a Pro I had a few lessons off - I knew that I needed a new set of irons. The quest began. Between September and January of this year, I scoured every resource available about irons. I tried many, many sets, from the ultra expensive to the ridiculously cheap. Some were good (the John Letters irons come to mind), and some were not, but I didn’t hit anything which gave me the "pubic hair" feeling as described by another reviewer below. It was just before Christmas when I happened on a local course’s golf shop sale. I went in, explained that I was an absolute novice (looking to buy of course) and that I would like to try out a selection of 7 irons - cheap and expensive. He gave me 5 irons to try and advised me not to look at the logo or the price but see what I thought I liked out in the net. Well I tried them all doing 5 ball repartitions. After the second round I immediately discounted 3 of the 5 sets (I won’t shame them here, but they weren’t cheap and they were some of the "bigger" names - if you know what I mean). The remaining 2 irons were the Mizuno Comp-CT and something called MacGregor. Not being golf savvy, I didn’t know of MacGregor’s history. In fact I only just learned last week (from a review) that a chap called Ben Hogan (only classed as arguably the best player ever - although some would argue Nicklaus’ case) used to use MacGregor irons. I liked the Comp-CT, but the feel of the MacGregor - even in my novice hands - felt as sweet as a nut. When the Pro mentioned that they were forged, I thought "oh, not for me then" and went about my business as usual. After Christmas I went to a sale at a driving range which also had an American Golf Discount Centre (in the UK that is) and asked to try some irons out. I was handed the usual cast affairs (including the brick like Callaway Big Bertha irons, which are good - well forgiving, but they were not for me). I asked if I could try the MacGregor and was handed the Tungsten MT iron. I said: "No, the V-Foil one", and received a mixed bag of looks from the assistants. I took the irons onto the range which included another Mizuno (MX-15) and some lesser nondescript castings. The MacGregor was sweetness itself. I only made a mess of about 20% of the balls I hit with that club as opposed to 50% with my old blades and 35-40% with other clubs I’ve hit. "Impossible these are forged" I thought. A man in the next bay (who I think had worried on more than one occasion when I hit the barrier with a wicked slice) said: "You seem to be hitting that one well." Well I was! I went back in and bought them. The assistant who eventually served me (who was excellent) said: "I suppose it’s a case of what you think you should buy, against what you like the feel of. If you’re confident with those, then that will help your game probably more than buying a set you don’t really want, but feel you should buy." He was right. I now shoot in the 90’s (even though I claim 100’s - the odd slip does happen), but compared to 140+cheating last September, I’d say that that was a marked improvement. These clubs are fantastic! If you like them (much like the excellent MX-20’s - which I tried after buying these, the MacGregors still win it for me though!) then buy them. Sod the handicap - I haven’t got one, and if I can use them to good effect then so can anyone!

Customer Service

£375, 3i - PW cheap at twice the price. Service was excellent.

Similar Products Used: Loads. In general I don't like cast clubs because I think I was spoiled with my old blades and forged is what I got uses to.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
isotope1024   Shoots in the 80s [May 15, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Macgregor 1025 Cavity Back

I've researched/hit new irons to the point of nausea and found these babies to be not only the best looking clubs(setup beautifully, which instills confidence beyond measure), but also these are long and allow for a great deal of control. I bought them with the graphite design staffs(stiff). That in combination with the smaller head has increased my swing speed slightly. The only down side is in my ability to judge distances well(that may take some time). Owning a set of these does make you want to go out & hit the range more often(already hitting 1200 balls a week-average).

Customer Service

Not used as of yet!

Similar Products Used: Wilson Prostaff Oversized, Mizuno MX-20, Ben Hogan Apex Edge Pro, Titleist 690CB... you name it!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
i009781   Shoots in the 80s [May 15, 2003]
Model Reviewed: MacGregor v-foil 1025 cavity back

The sweetest forged club made today. I went to golfsmith and hit every club they had ( Cobras, Clevelands, Callaways, etc...). I went into golfsmith to purchase the Mizuno mx-20s but found the Macgregors to work better for me. The Macgregors set up beautifully, and they feel incredibly soft and stable when you hit the ball. Even though the heads are a little smaller than most oversize clubs, it's really easy to find the sweetspot again and again. If you're a lower handicap, the mixed set may be for you. The mixed set ( muscle back and cavity ) comes with rifle shafts on the steel set. The cavity back macgregors allow you to work the ball left and right easily. Don't buy a new set without hitting the Macgregor v-foil irons. Have fun.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: I've hit everything else ( new cobras, callaway VFT & X-14s, Mizuno MX-20 and MP33 ). The Cleveland TA7s were nice as well. Overall, the Macgregor irons are soft, forgiving, and long.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com