Mizuno FLI-HI Utility Long Irons

Available At:
FLI-HI Utility Long

FLI-HITM offers a high trajectory for soft landings from long distances.

It is every golfers dream to be able to hit long iron shots perfectly either off the tee, in the fairway, or onto the green with controllable, precise accuracy. Now Mizuno combines the distance and the trajectory of a fairway wood with the accuracy and control of a forged iron in the new FLI-HITM utility long iron. Featuring the revolutionary new CORTECHTM face design, the easy-to-hit FLI-HITM utility long iron generates superior initial ball velocity for distance while providing a high trajectory for pinpoint approach shots.

User Reviews (38)

Showing 1-10 of 38  
bob_f52   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 23, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno Fli-Hi Utility, 21 deg, Mizuno Exsar Reg

For me, this club works the best of all the utility/hybrids I have tried. Its good with my crummy swings, and great with a good swing. I think the others I've tried are really good, but this one just has more forgiveness than others. As a once a week player, I'm probably always going to need more forgiveness. It saves me strokes. I don't believe it is as long as the well struck Nickent, but (for me) it is just so much easier to get somewhat right. I'm pretty sure Mizuno has moved on from this club, but if you can get you hands on a genuine Mizuno used club, I believe you will be happy.

Customer Service

Have not needed.

Similar Products Used: 21 deg Nickent 3dx UST Pro Force II Stiff, MacGregor V-foil 565 3 iron Graphite Design YS Reg, 21 deg Taylor Made Rescue 21deg reg, Titleist 503H 22 deg Steel reg.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
ajey   Shoots in the 90s [Jan 01, 2010]
Model Reviewed: mizuno fli hi hybrid 21* & 24*

I received these clubs from ebay two days ago, and haven't got time to the range, so no practiced at all. I'm 20 handicap started playing golf a year ago. This morning i played 9 holes only. I was so surprised because i can hit this club so good. I missed the first three shot, then i tried with driver's swing, wooooooowww unbelievable easy, straight and soft landing.. Hit 200 yard with 21* and 185 with 24*. I wish i am still able to hit this club like that next time i play.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
jesse.day   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 03, 2008]
Model Reviewed: CLK FLI-HI 17* S300

I own a Ben Hogan CFT 23*(4 graphite) and a Nickent 20* (X100) as well as the CLK FLI-HI.
The CLK FLI-HI is OK but I like both the Nickent and Ben Hogan better.
The CLK is offset so alignment is a little tricky. My mis-hits usually end up drawing with a low ball flight. Not that I don't mis-hit the other two, I just think they are better offerings.
Also, for a hybrid I really like the Nickent because the swing weight is heavier so I feel a lot more clubhead awareness. If hybrids are supposed to be 50% wood and 50% iron, CLK's are 80 wood/20 iron.
I got this for 32 dollars after shipping brand new so you really can't beat the value and it came with my preferred shaft.

It's a good club, but there are certainly better.

Similar Products Used: Nickent 3DX, BH CFT
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
FULLBORE   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 31, 2007]
Model Reviewed: CLK FLI-HI 23

THE ONLY HYBRID That I can hit with a slight draw. Don't believe the hype that ANYONE can hit a hybrid with ease. This takes a certain amount of practice and knowledge.

Customer Service

Haven't used

Similar Products Used: rescue
paradise
srixon
sonar tech
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Drinkh2o   Shoots in the 80s [May 30, 2006]
Model Reviewed: FLI-HI CLK 23*

Only have about 4 rounds on this club, but intentionally tried to hit it a number of times. Easy to hit and flies straight. Bought this to replace my 3 iron. Not sure about distances yet, but did stick it to 10ft from 200 out. Straight as a arrow and landed soft. Think its a beautiful club that feels great swinging.

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used: 1st Hybrid, used 3 iron and 5 wd with varying success.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Duddles   Shoots in the 80s [May 14, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno CLK FLI-HI 17 and 20 Steel

These are nice. The shorter shafts make it easier to get in the fairway, but I find I'm not losing any distance. I hit the 4 Wd (17) as far as I hit my Taylor Made 200 3 wood. I hit the 20 degree as far as I hit my 18 degree 5 Wd. So more control and same distance.

The club is very forgiving as well. I've had plenty of miss hits which wind up in the fairway, so that helps.

I don't know about the composite aspect of the club, but so far it seems to be working. I just wonder how long it will hold up.

I think they Hybrids are not only easier to hit than your long irons, but easier to hit than your Fairway Woods as well.

Mizuno is great at making golf products. If they paid people the same amount that Nike plays their playeres, more people would choose Mizuno over Nike.

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made 200, Blue Rage 5 Wood
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
bogeymon   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 16, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno CLK FLI-HI 17* Utility Wood

I have the MX-23's (3i-PW) in Nippon 950 stiffs & love them. These clubs are everything everyone raves about and then some, so I won't elaborate further on their performance. What I really want to plug, are the 2 Black Nickel MP T wedges (53/08 & 60/05) & the FLHI-HI CLK 17*. Why this company doesn't get the same ink on its wedge line that it gets on its irons is beyond me. helllloooo....Quality forgings are quality forgings. Wedges are your scoring clubs & how they feel is equal to, if not more important than how your long irons feel. Never have I felt a wedge that is this soft & offers this much control. If you're considering a wedge purchase, look into the Mizzies. Now, the CLK 17* that I have in the stock Exsar stiff is debatable. It does not have a "hot" face like so many hybrids do; in fact, it has a rather hard, muted feel. However, I like this sensation. If you were once a baseball player who used a wooden bat, I think you'd really dig this club. It's got a beautiful crack! sound to it when struck well, and just because it lacks in "hotness", it does offer feedback. Perhaps the muted feel is because of the graphite shaft & the graphite crown...I don't know...but I'm tellin' ya...this club is a bullet! The trajectory is piercing - not high w/ a buttload of backspin, and it plays beautifully out of rough, fw bunkers, greenside chips, short-of-green bump-n'-runs - you name it. Again, if you're looking for a very diverse, easy to hit, unique utility club, give it a try. That's all....Just wanted to give a company who is known for their first-rate forgings their due. They are outmarketed, and consequently, grossly overlooked for all their other fine offerings.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
letsplay36   Shoots in the 70s [Aug 05, 2005]
Model Reviewed: fli hi clk 20* w/ exsar stiff

This review is for the hybrid clk- which is more wood looking than the fli hi. Simple review. This club is like cheating- if you are a Mizuno player like me- run out a get one and be prepared to lower your scores. Its difficult to hit this club poorly. I had a gap between my 5 wood- since retired and my 4 iron-lowest iron in my bag, so I needed a solid choice for the 220-240 range. Problem solved. I cant hit a 4 iron 230 and its hard to lay off a 5w that distance. This club is perfect. Sets up nice and square, low profile head that has the same look as the mp001 driver with the composite crown. Off the tee, its the perfect answer to that long par 3 @ 220 into the wind or an approach off the deck from 230. Ball flight is slightly lower than I expected, but with a ball position adjustment I can easliy hit a high fade or a running low draw. Off the tee, it is deadly accurate for those tight par 4s where all you need to do it hit the fairways and get it in the kill zone- 100-130 yrds. And, I hit this club the last few rounds more than any club in my bag other than my wedges. Overall, the best new addition to my bag in the last few years. Paid $140 at my course pro shop and worth every penney.I resisted until I saw the number of excellent players who have this club in the bag. If my boy Luke Donald plays it , well then I guess its good enough for me. Another winner form Mizuno.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: I play miz mp30s and miz wedges. Ahhh...forged mizunos...nothing better.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
jtorre10   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 19, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Fli HI II

These are great clubs for those of us who are wood challenged. I carry a 18*, 21*, & 24* in my bag instead of any fairway woods. I can hit the 18* about 230 yds on avg and I can hit the 24* about 205 of the fairway. This are great clubs, easy to hit and long. You do not have to mussle them through all you need is a good swing with good tempo and the club will take care of the rest.

Customer Service

Have not had to use it, but when I have requested information from Mizuno, I ussually receive a response within the day.

Similar Products Used: Tried the Taylor Made Mid Rescue, did not work for me.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
sweenman85   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 11, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno Fli-hi

I love my Mizuno Fli-hi's, I sold my driver,5 wood, and getting ready to sale my 3wood. I was getting teased my friends about my bag lookin like a junior set, till I was driving the 18 degree past their drivers and taking their money.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 38  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com