Mizuno MP-62 Irons

Available At:
MP-62

User Reviews (17)

Showing 1-10 of 17  
Isaac   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 15, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Mp 62

Does anyone want to punch peter duffey. Learn how to golf before you blame a club. These clubs are great. I will play this set until it is worn out

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Bryan   Shoots in the 90s [May 22, 2012]
Model Reviewed: mp 62

Really great irons. I had good control over the ball flight right off with all of the clubs (3-pw). Better control than my previous set, Bridgestone J33s. They feel really sweet when struck on center and not too harsh when struck off center. The long irons were easier to hit than the J33s.

I think off-center hits are where all that sound tuning stuff is noticeable in comparison to non-Mizuno clubs; the club kinda wobbles like a big tuning fork on off center hits - that's the sensation coming through the hands. It's not really harsh. The J33s were that typical harsh feeling on off center strikes.

Of course center hits were really sweet feeling - soft by comparison to the J33s. The J33's blades were kinda "clicky" on center hits. I guess it's not really apples to apples though since the mp62 is a half cavity. Still better feel IMO than the muscle back blades on center hits.

If your shooting in the 80s or 90s, have a good swing and are trending downward (like me!), don't be scared of these irons. They will give you the confidence to execute shots. Something I couldn't say for the J33s - as good a club as they are.

I haven't demoed any of the other MP series clubs so I can't speak for them in comparison. I've been playing the J33s for about a year.

I picked up the 3-pw set used for $300 in excellent condition.

Customer Service

Haven't had any interactions with customer service

Similar Products Used: Bridgestone J33 forged combo irons 8-pw trap muscle blades, 6&7 muscle back half cavity, 4&5 tungsten insert muscle back half cavity
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
texasmedic26   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 04, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MP62

Had been using very old Callaway X-14's. For me, 2nd hand clubs at my level when I started was fine. Most of what callaway makes is decent in my opinion. I felt the 14's were a tad short distance wise. Just test played the MP62's. Wow!! Already put them on hold and will pick them up this week. 20 yds longer per club then my Callaway 14's. If you are looking for something with great feel and great feed back...grab these when you get the chance.

Customer Service

Didn't go through the website. I went to Golf Ranch in Georgetown, Tx. These guys are always great and appreciative when you come in. Bill (golf pro) is a top notch dude and Dan is always doing anything he can for his customers. If ever you are in Georgetown Tx, stop in.

Similar Products Used: Callaway x-14 steel head.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
Scot   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 29, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MP-62

I've been playing Mizuno MX-900 irons for the past five years shooting in the low 80s. These are excellent irons with very good feel (they're forged) and super forgiveness. I have been thinking for awhile about moving to the MP series to force my game back into the 70s on a consistent basis. I was concerned that the approach may backfire as I only play 9 holes or so a week without much practice...

Anyway, I picked up the MP-62s and am totally blown away! I actually am hitting them better than I hit the MX-900s which is absolutely stunning. I don't know if the hype of the player clubs spooked me, but I was expecting to hit errant shots for awhile until I grooved my swing... but these irons are so easy to hit pure and after the first 9 holes with them, I am definitely striping the ball far better than I ever hit the 900s.

These clubs are beautiful and the guys I play with have drooled over them. At first the look was intimidating as the club is smaller than my 900s, in terms of top line, no cavity back on the longer clubs, minimal offset, and slightly smaller head. But I quickly got over it and they are much easier to hit because they're smaller and easier to get into the proper position.

I can't give these clubs a high enough rating. And if you're a decent player (80s or better) I highly recommend them - don't be intimidated like I was - you'll love them.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: n/a
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
sirchandestroy   Shoots in the 70s [May 22, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MP62

The aesthetics of this set are astounding; not quite as breathtaking as the MP33 or the 690MB, but it is one gorgeous iron.

Hard to differentiate from a blade at address.

A little on the heavy side - haven't weighed them, but I'm guessing stock is D3 or D4.

Not _quite_ as buttery as you would suspect, but pretty smooth.

Mish*ts (GR filtered this!!) are both workable and forgiving.

Hit them about a 1/2 club longer than the 690MB.

Customer Service

N/A - bought used from Golfsmith.

Similar Products Used: 690MB, MP30
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
Peter Duffy   Shoots in the 100s [Mar 03, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MP62

I bought these irons on the basis of my good friend , who swears by Mizuno . I found that I am hitting a lot of shanks and only getting maybe 130 yards from the 3 iron , albeit straight into the wind . I have a natural power fade on all shots but recently this has turned into a wicked slice . I actually broke 2 windaes at the els course villas the other day due to this , albeit in a strong left to right wind . I am currently selling the clubs to the highest bidder in an attempt to buy my favourite irons of all times.....Nancy Lopez Pink Fire

OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
dannyg33   Shoots in the 70s [Dec 28, 2009]
Model Reviewed: MP 62

Easily the best irons I have ever hit. They have that classic look that instills confidence when you look down at them. I went from the Callaway X-4 Forged and into the newest TaylorMade has to offer, the R9 TP's (Which are horrible)and finally went to the Mizuno MP 62's. I was fitted by a Mizuno rep so I was confident that these irons were ideal for me. The feel is incredible and the feedback and response is immediate. I got mine with the Project X extra stiff shafts. This combination allows me to know where the clubhead is at all times. Truly the best irons i have ever hit and would definitely recommend them!

Similar Products Used: Callaway X-4 Forged, Tayloremade R9 TP
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
bill brout   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 26, 2009]
Model Reviewed: mizuno mp 62

I played with eye 2's for 20 years and decided to up the ante. My ball striking has always been good and I subscribed to the argument that a less forgiving club would make me concentrate on even better ball striking. These clubs ROCK! The feel compared to my Ping's is substantial. Shot dispersion is FAR less and they're more workable. The best is the feel at contact and ball flight. If you are coordinated these are worth buying!

Customer Service

I haven't needed them.

Similar Products Used: Ping eye two.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
dhsueh   Shoots in the 70s [Sep 19, 2009]
Model Reviewed: mizuno mp 62

I have been playing the titleist 690 CB's for the last five years and recently switched to the MP 62's. I don't play as often as I used to and was looking for a bit more playability while sacrificing as little feel as possible. These clubs are quite a bit more forgiving than the 690's, but they don't feel quite as sweet when struck on the button as the titleist irons. I also lost about half a club distance on each iron when solidly struck (I have DGS300 shafts in both sets). However, the mp 62's are still a great set of sticks. They have a great feel, good feedback, and the extra forgiveness of the carbon forging in the 62's do make up for the loss of distance and feel of the 690's.
Miss hits travel farther, I am still able to work the ball in both directions pretty easily, and the slight offset of the 62's makes it easier to hit strait shots. I would recommend these irons to any good ball striker looking for an excellent combination of forgiveness and feel.

Customer Service

not needed

Similar Products Used: 690's, mp 60s
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Available At:
mguillory7   Shoots in the 70s [Aug 20, 2009]
Model Reviewed: MP 62

I have played both RAM and PING prior to putting my Titleist DCI 962s in my bag. I absolutely love them. For 10+ years I have loyally stuck with them...not jsut because I am loyal but because Titleist makes great clubs. As a matter of fact, I never thought I would play any club other than my Titleist DCI 962s. That was until I hit the new Mizuno MP 62 irons. Wow!!! They are solid feeling yet like butter when I connect in the sweet spot. They give me the ability to work the ball, and give phenomenal feedback. Not only do the MP 62 irons provide superior playability but they are an absolutely beautiful club. I am a lower handicap golfer typically shooting in the mid to upper 70's.

Customer Service

I purchased my clubs at the Golf Exchange in Florence KY and they have been absolutely wonderful...fantastic customer service!

Similar Products Used: Titleist AP2s
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 17  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com