Mizuno T-Zoid T3 Titanium Insert Irons

T-Zoid T3 Titanium Insert

User Reviews (30)

Showing 1-10 of 30  
ahcampling   Shoots in the 90s [Nov 30, 2009]
Model Reviewed: mizuno t3 oversize irons

I have been playing about 10 years and have tried all sorts of clubs in search of the holy grail,Haven't we all! I bought a second hand set of t3 irons from a friend and on the first time out shot an 84 , at least 10 shots better than I have done in the last 3 months and on a windy day at that, I only wish I had bought some when I first started out but no doubt they would have cost me more than the £60 I parted with. If you see some buy them.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
doydy   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 31, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno tzoid T3 model

These are sweet clubs that will provide a tremendous service for the golfer who trust them. Beautiful, long, and forgiving, off-center hits fly a mile!! You will not be disappointed with them. I have been playing for 11 years now and have used other clubs that I also love but I take my t3 out for a spin almost every other game as I like them that much. Find a set and try them! You will be hooked for life. Highly recommend!!

Similar Products Used: Ping Zing's, Zing 2's, Ping ISI, Ping ISI nickel
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
AAAAYES   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 13, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno T3 Ti w/Sensicore R-Shaft

I purchased this T3 set after having my first experience w/the Mizuno Gold model in the last 6 months...This set must of came out in the 80s cus' it looks exactly like the Ping Zings.

I decided to continue with the Mizuno line, and found this T3 Ti set on Ebay for under $100.00 and in fantastic condition.

Appearence = B+

The shade darker Ti-insert enclosed by the Brushed Steel Housing just makes this set drop dead gorgeous.

Although, the topline is 1/4" thick, it takes a bit to get used to.

The sole footprint is narrow in width and I am very pleased to have this incorporated in design.

The offset of the head is 3/16" which I find comfortable at setup.

The Back of the head is done without the flashy gimmics of plastic pieces or bright eye-catching colors. Even the 09' Mizuno MX models just looks like knockoffs in my humble opinion.

Conservative design without the "look at me" is what I do like about this T3 model.

Sure, it is an oversize head. As in most things under the conditioning curve goes, it is something that is accepted & accustomed to the eye. In fact, this "oversize" head is the same build as the "Gold" model as I sit here, comparing the two.

The Feel of the Swingweight = B

The iron is on the Med-Heavy size of the scale. For me, I prefer to be able to feel the presence of the club during the backswing, esp. during pressure moments when the desire to overpower the natural swing comes into play.

The Impact - C

I have not found that trademark of that "soft buttery feel" that Mizuno that it is known for in this set. This has its own character of response when hit on the screws. This perhaps more than anything, will be the main reason that I will eventually let this set go.

The Distance - C-

I have read through all of the reviews here in regards of farther distances.

The bottom line is this...The T3 Ti set fell into the temptation of labelling a 44* a Pitching Wedge and a 40* a 9 Iron etc. So, there is no magic bullet and the reviews of distances os 1 to 1.5 club farther is exposed for what it is.

For this ploy, I give this model a low score in this department.

Consistancy & Forgiveness - A-

Perfect example. On this par 4 on the
tee box I teed up 2 balls side by side.

It was getting very dark, and at this point, I cannot see the ball in the air after 140yds out.

The first ball was hit towards the mid-lower-toe scoring lines, and I just gave that ball a "no confidence call" and didn't even bother to look at the flight.

The 2nd ball was struck on the center-mid-lower sweetspot and it felt good, and the flight was a nice mid-high trajectory that looked good till I couldn't see the ball.

I walked up to 2 balls that sat next to each other, same distance within 36" of each other. I was perplexed, and had that Johnny Dep lost look as I tried to figure out what just happened.

As I sit here, I am looking at the face of this 6i, and the difference between the 2 impact points on the face is 3/4" apart! Dude, that is forgiveness...I am impressed.

Around the Greens - C-

Chipping around the greens with the PW has a distict drawback. The face imparts an odd spin to the ball. The ball shows signs of hopping off line after the first bounce.

Overall view = Mizuno had put a lot of care into this model.

I would of prefered not to have the "fill small parts of the scoring lines of the face" to resemble the outline mass shape that is recognized as T-Zoid.

The topline could have been trimmed under 1/4" for a thinner appearence.

You do have to make contact with the ball at least the mid-lower section of the face to reap the distance. Sweepers may not reach the area of sweetspot by brushing the turf. Suited for the dollar bill divot makers. Teeing the ball up would be the key off the tee box.

Overall - Bogey Players Rejoice.






Similar Products Used: Callaway SR2R
Yonex Tour
TA845
TA Evo-31
Mizuno Gold
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
blades4lefties   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 14, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno T3 Titanium Insert

I've played with ALL types of irons: game improvement, super game improvement, blades, etc. I've never even considered writing a review because I really do shoot in the 90's! How am I going to help you? I do, however, read the reviews on this site (and truly have been helped by doing so). I buy and sell irons on ebay (mostly blades) and go through about a hundred sets a year. I do try to play at least a round with each set, or at least the range. I tried these and they are keepers. I shot 88 last week on a 6500 yard course. These clubs are oversize, but they are Mizunos! If you can find a set, by all means try them. They are 8 years old but there is NONE better. They are one club longer when hit in the screws, off center hits still track to the target. They are NOT miracle workers as some would suggest, but be assured this is one iron that will improve your game. All of them (3 iron; 4 iron included). Complete your backswing and you CAN hit these long irons! I was even lucky enough to find a GW & SW to match my set. I am THROUGH iron hunting; they helped me that much. I practice at the range with blades and then go play with the T3's. I think I'm ready for the Hooters Tour!!!! Got mine for $125; an ABSOLUTE steal. $1299 new back in 1999. Good Luck, MB

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Titleist 822 OS
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Adam Harris   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 01, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno T Zoid T3

I just got these clubs and they are the best i have ever used....

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
EYom   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 16, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno T-Zoid T3 Titanium Insert

I broke 90 for the first time and wouldn't you know it, I was using these clubs. With my old clubs, my 150 club was my 7 iron, but when I took my normal swing with a 7-iron on this club, I went anywhere from 160 to 175 yards. These clubs are a blessing and a curse. If you hit the ball on the center sweet spot, the ball is going to go really really far but I think that the clubs are fairly easy to hit. My friend just couldn't hit these clubs but when I tried them, these bad boys were killing the ball. I guess since I was using blades, these clubs just looked GIGANTIC in size. But the stiff graphite shafts I think are too brittle. I broke the shaft for 7-iron and the 5-iron so I used the Graffaloy Pro-Lite shafts. You get a different feel than the Turbo Gold stiff shafts that come standard with the clubs. So my summary, it's all about the shafts and how consistent you can swing. If you're a ball striker, I recommend these clubs in STEEL shaft. You can go to golf smith and get these awesome steel shafts for like $12 each with the $100 annual membership and then have all of the clubs reshafted for $100...but at that price, I guess you can get new clubs. Well, up to you. I'm just waiting till another shaft breaks so I can reshaft all of the clubs with steel.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
stereostatic   Shoots in the 90s [Jun 15, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno T-Zoid T3 Titanium Insert

Wow!! Just picked up these clubs for dirt cheap on eBay and WOW!! The most forgiving irons EVER!!... I don't know how many shots I hit off of the toe the last round I played...but every single one went far and straight....and when I did hit the sweet spot, which is huge by the way...wow, watch it fly. Granted if you are trying to play the ball like a pro then these oversize irons are probably not for you. For the high handicapper these clubs are a Godsend. To top that you can pick a set up for around $150 on eBay.... great deal...the driver is amazing as well...I was consitently hitting it 20 yards further than my new Ping Si3 380. And the sweet "Ping" sound that this driver gives you really turns heads. If you are playing a set of clones or beginners, you owe it to yourself to try and find a set of these....

Customer Service

????

Similar Products Used: King Cobra II's, Ping Zing's
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jdpeet   Shoots in the 70s [Feb 12, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno T/zoid T3

I average 81 but shoot in the 70's :-)I'm wondering about all these 5 star ratings on this site. I was looking for more distance so I tried these irons and was disappointed. They are nice, but that's it. Not 5*. Excluding junk you buy at K-mart are only average. I've hit maybe a dozen different sets; to the point where my buddies consider me a club junkie. My value rating is based on what I paid... I want to pick up two or three sets

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used: Eye 2, FX2, VAS, goosenecks, Topflite xl2000, X31, others.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
garyget   Shoots in the 100s [Aug 18, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno T-Zoid T3 Ti Insert (used)

I am a realistic player (means shoots in the 100s). Thus, will try to write this review as accurate as possible. The first hit of this club (in a range for testing of the club) feels good when you hit it right (on the sweet spot). Mis-hit is pretty forgiving. Due to the fact that I am new to the game, inconsistency is my weakness, so, when I paid for it and play with it for a few weeks, my hit was crazily bad. Topping the ball all the time, slicing it all the time which I never used to. For awhile, I thought the reviews wasn't like what they claimed on this set. Well, I was wrong. After fixing my swing and getting used to the clubs (for like 2-3months), this club is awesome, well, anyone that tried my clubs has difficulties with it unless he is a very good and consistent hitter. I brought it to the green and my friends were surprised that I improved so fast. On a 9-hole course that I used to play, there is a par 3 hole that I used to be using a 5 iron to hit but now I am using a 7 iron instead and still over shooting at times. The feeling of hitting it right on the sweet spot was incredible. The regular shaft I have isn't too whippy at all (not like the callaway). Mis-hitting isn't that bad, only a slight hook or slice but should still let your ball land close to where you want. I would recommand this club to anyone that can do a decent swing, but definately not those new in the game.

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used: Tried Callaway GBB, Precept
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bighorn   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 01, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno t-zoid t3 titanium irons

I found these irons just at the right time. I needed an iron that was forgiving and consistent. These irons instill confidence. The stiff Turbo Gold shafts work very well for my swing, I am a strong ball striker with a quicker tempo. Graphite shafts do require a more consistent tempo, so slowing down a little is advised. The ball jumps of the face. The irons are not great for the short chips around the greens, so I turn to my 3 wedges with steel shafts. The long irons are awesome, I tend to keep my fairway woods in the bag. Find myself playong 4, 5 , 6 irons second shots into par fives. The long irons fly high and land very soft. Great for the weekend golfer!! Which probably most of us are. Great value if you can find a set!!

Similar Products Used: King Cobra, Hogan Apex Plus
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 30  

    THE SITE

    ABOUT GOLFREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.