Ping G2 HL Irons

Ping G2 HL Irons 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 17  
[Apr 19, 2009]
Anwer Zaidi
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Ping G2 HL

I have been using these irons for about 7 months now. When i started with them, I was playing to a 22 handicap. I am now just about to sell them, not because I don't like them, but because, unfortunately, there is only so far you can go with them. I now play to a 10 handicap, and have won 5/7 competitions I have played in. They are simply superb irons for the improving golfer. The confidence you have setting up with them is only matched by the way you hit them.
No matter how you hit them, its so hard not to hit them well.
I have been playing with regular shafted blue dot irons, and never got them custom fitted, I possibly could and should have done, but I never needed to, they're that good. I should be playing with stiff shafted orange dots, but when you hit an iron as well as I did when I had them, custom fitting just meant 2 weeks with no golf.
If you fall into the range of 30-12 handicap, I seriously recommend them. And, because they are 4 years old now, you can get them for a fantastic price.
I hope this has helped your choice, and I hope you thoroughly enjoy your golf.

Yardages:
3 iron - beginning 175 yrds after 220 yards
4 iron - beginning 165 yrds after 210-200
yards
5 iron - beginning 155 yrds after 180-195 yrds
6 iron - beginning 140 yrds after 165-175 yrds
7 iron - beginning 125 yrds after 155-165 yrds
8 iron - beginning 110 yrds after 145-155 yrds
9 iron - beginning 100 yrds after 120-145 yrds
W - beginning 70 yrds after 100-125 yrds
SW - beginning 50 yrds after 80-110 yrds

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 04, 2007]
Ed Stimmler
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Ping g2 hl

I have a full set ping g2 irons 3 sw and just added a g2hl. My first round with it improved my score by 4 stroks.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 29, 2007]
Andrew
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Ping HL 2i

I am a 4 Hcp and was looking for a 220-230 club.. I've tried Hybrids, Titleist, Srixon, Nike, and Callaway. I always hit the hybrids too high and couldnt really work the ball to shape shots. I tried this Ping on a whim, I just liked the way it set up... AMAIZING, with a smooth backswing I could really release all my energy and strength into the ball and it flew High and long..Too long 240-250, I altered the Loft from 18* to 20* and acheived my 220-230 with out any problems at all. I actually bought an HL 4i also..why not right!!! Buy it, you'll love it for sure... But get it from Ebay for $30-40 instead of $100 from a Golf store!

Similar Products Used:

HL 4i

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 09, 2006]
JK
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Ping G2 HL

Excellent clubs. I am currently a 10 handicap and these clubs allowed me to fine tune my game. They are very forgiving and allow for a mixture of playing strokes. I have had these clubs for a little over a year and can say without hesitation that they are great. Now if only I could get my putting down!

Similar Products Used:

Tour Model(owned them for 20+ years).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 31, 2006]
simon
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: ping g2 hl 2 iron steel shaft

Bought these clubs off ebay (ping g2 hl 2-5 irons) for about £125 inc delivery(bargain). Im not a great golfer, but do try very hard, now, have been looking for an alternative to a driver off the tee and have been giving this 2 iron a go..for me, sometimes it was as smooth as silk and hitting it was like hitting butter with a beauty of a flight, other times, was a bit wooden but still plenty of distance. Just back from the range and all i can say is WOW!!! knew it wasnt the clubs(rarely is if we're honest) but the swing, used a longer, slower back swing today and it was amazing.....aimed at a bush at the back of the range(approx 250+yds) and my god it was as straight as a laser, pretty dam close to the bush every time and felt so soft when the club hit the ball...cant wait to play a round with it....if it delivers 230-250yds at a range with range balls--who needs woods!!
Great club and really really pleased that have got the swing right for it....BUY IT!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 30, 2006]
jcjmw2
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: ping g2 hl 2 thru 5

Unless you are a scratch player, you need these HLs. They are very easy to hit, get air born and are very accurate. I got all the Ping G2 HLs (2 through 5) Even on shots that are not perfect, these clubs allow you to advance the ball.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 14, 2006]
tigerfan113
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Ping G2 HL

I recently purchased a G2 HL 2-iron off of E-Bay. ( I cant hit my woods consistently and fight a hook with my Taylormade Rescue)I have Ping I/3 O-Size white dot irons and wanted to stick with an iron like hybrid. WOW!! took it to the range the first day and was so-so about it, only a few yards longer than my 4 iron. After the first time on the course I swear this club will not leave my bag for a looong time, 230-240 from the tee and a consistent carry of around 215-220 and alot straighter than my 4. I would really recommend these for players who like to hit irons but struggle with woods and woodlike hybrids.

Customer Service

Havent used

Similar Products Used:

Taylormade Rescue 3&4, Adams Pro-Hybrid 2-iron, Nike CPR 3, Callaway heavenwood 7-wood

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 15, 2006]
chaaooh
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Ping g2 HL

Love my HLs, like the other reviewer, I hated hitting 5wood, too long a shaft and a slight mis-hit could be huge trouble. Those of you hitting it 230 consistently, kudos. I average 200-220 depending on my swing. I love that i can dot the green with these, my friends were shocked that I could leave the ball next to the ball mark, these hit the ball so high that rolling through the green is not a worry. They let me go for greens and that has definitely lowered my handicap.

Customer Service

Awesome.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 15, 2006]
chaaooh
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Ping g2 HL

Love my HLs, like the other reviewer, I hated hitting 5wood, too long a shaft and a slight mis-hit could be huge trouble. Those of you hitting it 230 consistently, kudos. I average 200-220 depending on my swing. I love that i can dot the green with these, my friends were shocked that I could leave the ball next to the ball mark, these hit the ball so high that rolling through the green is not a worry. They let me go for greens and that has definitely lowered my handicap.

Customer Service

Awesome.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 15, 2006]
chaaooh
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Ping g2 HL

Love my HLs, like the other reviewer, I hated hitting 5wood, too long a shaft and a slight mis-hit could be huge trouble. Those of you hitting it 230 consistently, kudos. I average 200-220 depending on my swing. I love that i can dot the green with these, my friends were shocked that I could leave the ball next to the ball mark, these hit the ball so high that rolling through the green is not a worry. They let me go for greens and that has definitely lowered my handicap.

Customer Service

Awesome.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 17  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com