Ping G2 Irons

Ping G2 Irons 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 11-20 of 108  
[Dec 07, 2012]
shane romano
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: PING G2

Handicap of 6 and comforable at that. Went to Ping, got fit for the S56 irons with DGS300 shafts. Purchased them immediately and played maybe 9 round with them. very nice clubs but my scores were no better than my old clubs.
so baack to Ping, and purchased the G20s. Again great sticks and so easy to hit straight and long. my biggest issues was launch angle. Back to PING again.
I20s next. Im finally getting somewhere even if im a little stuborn with PINGs recomendations. OK sold. agreed to buy a new set and wait the 4 days for delivery. during the 4 days i purchased as a spare set of bats G2 with the JZ stiff shaft. WOW, best of all worlds. Far more forgiving than i20s, lower launch than G20s. what more does one need. I20s cancelled and im still playing in the low 70s with the G2s. if you get the right shaft in them they perform well time after time. you may not get so lucky as me as my set were Lee Westwoods old practice set and for the price i paid im very pleased.

Customer Service

superb. the Ping Factory and Gainsborough Golf club is top notch every time..

Similar Products Used:

iv used s56, s57, G20s, Ci9, FG tours,

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 29, 2011]
big stengo
Shoots in the 70s

Hello everyone I 1st tried the ping g2 irons about 18 months ago and loved them right away so I found a set for a very good price black dot reguler shaft.to be honest it took me 5 or 6 games to get use to the change from my old set of taylor made burner super steel with stiff riffle shaft.but it was well worth the change I was playing well and more cosistant. I was shooting from 88-92 with the my old clubs and with the pings 76-80. Then I did the worst thing I sold them the reason I joined a golf club at the start of this year 2011 and got myself a brand new set cleveland cg7 black pearl from american golf. What a big mistake I had them for about 5 weeks got rid of them. Got a set of titleist zm blades they where far to hard to hit true shot cosistanly. Then got burner tours great irons hit them well but something I had was gone from my game. So a friend of mines had a spair set of g2 with stiff shafts so he let me try them so so I done a staight swap for the pings for the tm burner tours and its was a blessing my handicap has come down from when I started the club and I've won a monthly medal and came r/up in a few other competition happy days. These clubs are aimed at mid to high handicapers I would say that's true but I disagree u can still shape a shoot with g2 maybe not as good as a blade but it can be done. Anyway if your looking to improve your game and looking for consistancy well its a must you won't find a better club on the market. Their the best game improvement irons ever made.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 14, 2011]
Tom Knoble
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Ping G2 Irons

Bought a set of used G2's at golfsmith, still had the white line at the bottom groove of the face (practically new).
Took me 15 practice rounds to get accustomed to the offset and get alligned correctly. Now I love them. They are so straight, it almost seems like they should be illegal (non-conforming). Very soft feel at impact, again hard to believe. The short irons go dead-straight and moderate distance, and the long irons are long and stright. I don't believe these are the best for 10 handicappers and below because I'm not sure you can shape your shots adequetly for that level play. But for anyone over a 10, I think they're magnificant.

Customer Service

Answered my questions even though I am not the 1st owner.

Similar Products Used:

Taylor Made Super Steel, precision rifle.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 31, 2011]
Bill Farner
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: G2 Irons

I have been playing with my G2 Irons for several years now. They are the best. I bought the S57 Irons a while back but went back to the G2 Irons. Love my Pings.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 18, 2010]
Sam-I-Am
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Ping G2 Irons

I had been playing with black dot Ping i3 o size irons I bought on Ebay but after recent hip surgery I decided to have a proper fitting done at my local golf shop. Much to my surprise I found that the correct color code for me was not black, but orange (2.25 flat) so I sold the i3's and bought the G2's. Big difference! I'm hitting longer with a slight draw which is no doubt a function of the refitting, but the G2's have a much softer, satisfying feel on well hit shots. They inspire much more confidence and because of that I am hitting the ball more aggressively. I was finally able to break 90 this year and I've been consistently in the 80s ever since. Never underestimate the value of good clubs and a proper fitting!

Customer Service

Not had to use but I've heard nothing but good things about Ping's customer service.

Similar Products Used:

Goldwyn AVDP, Lynx Black Cat, Hogan Edge GCD, Ping Eye 2, Ping i3 o size.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 11, 2010]
Terence Dillon
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Ping G2

I bought black dot irons and woods with 3 tour wedges via the internet a couple of years back. I used to play of a 19 many years ago but have not played regular for a while. Just recently we have got a group together and play once a week. My game is on the improve and I love these clubs, they are sweet, when you make nice contact they hit straight and true and even the duff shots are forgiving. I especially like the feel of the high loft 3/4 irons. I am now looking to fit graphite shafts on the irons and wedges (woods already have em). I am hanging on to these for a while.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

N/A

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 06, 2009]
ishotbambi11
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: ping g2

these cluubs are incrediable i was hitting wal-mart brand clubs then i got these from my cousin i was hitting bad with my old one but with these clubs i was hitting in the 90's now im hitting in the 70's -60's at a course there par is sixty. i almost had 3 hole in ones by hitting the cup in one day i recomend these clubs to anyone that needs or wants new clubs!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 17, 2009]
kidkorea
Shoots in the 100s
Model Reviewed: Ping G2 Black Dot

Been golfing for about 4 years, couple times a week, i shoot around 100-110 i picked up a used set of Ping G2 black dots, and theyre amazing, first time out this season, i shot a 96, i hit 5 pars on the front 9, anyone who says "its not the bow its the indian" is wrong, these clubs make a difference, 3,4 high launch irons are amazing, no slicing, easy to hit, i golfed maybe 3 rounds in a month for the past 4 years, and ive only gotten under a 100 a few times, these irons have saved my game, even with bad driver slicing it into the rough. i recommond these clubs anytime. im actually excited to get out and play now, i always thought it was me and clubs couldnt really make that big of a difference. but they do, ive never had 5 pars in front 9, felt really good. bottom line, these clubs rock!! :)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 16, 2009]
Stormbringer
Scratch Golfer
Model Reviewed: Ping G2 Green Dot Steel

I played these irons for a couple years. They helped my game and are very easy to hit straight and high. The only complaint I would have is the feel is a little lacking and the sole a bit wide for my taste. One other thing is every so often I would really crush one. Especially the 7 iron would at time go 10 yards farther than normal.

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used:

Several

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Apr 07, 2009]
Ed Bowman
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Ping G-2 Irons

I purchased the G-2 Irons at a Ping Demo Day at the Dupont Country Club.The Ping rep. watched my swing and took the appropriate measurments. In about two weeks I had my new irons, they look and feel great. I immediatley noticed less off center hits, and much better balance on my finish. The distance is very consistant thru all the irons. My handicap had been a 12 for 3 years it dropped to a 7.4 in less than a year.

Customer Service

I have had several issues with the weights falling off the back of the clubs. (4) times to be exact, I have contacted Ping cust service, and every time they tell me to send the clubs back for repair, and they repair them at no charge. So the service is great but the weights falling off is very aggravating. And falling off 4 times is VERY aggravating.

Similar Products Used:

Titlest DCI irons and King Cobra irons

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 11-20 of 108  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com