Ping G5 Irons

Ping G5 Irons 

DESCRIPTION

Designed in multiple sections for maximum performance, the radius of the lead edge helps improve ground impact for better ball impact. Enhanced perimeter weighting maked the G5 iron very forgiving. By increasing the moment of inertia, off center shots are straighter and distance loss is decreased.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 73  
[May 29, 2021]
shemikasoraya


Strength:

It's definitely suitable for beginners to learn before proceeding to advance. The distance are very decent and the accuracy is fairly good as well. Pest Control Oakland

Weakness:

No negatives, all round excellent club.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Aug 31, 2015]
nhpro
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Ping G2

I have been using the G2 irons for a year or so and have found them to be "excellent" irons to hit.
The best set I've owned.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used:

Wilson,Callaway,Golfsmith,Dynacraft

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 26, 2012]
Dennis R. Peterson
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: g5

I,ve played Ping clubs for over 40 years. G5 are great clubs to hit, but the workmanship is not what I expect from Ping. I had 5 of the back balance weight come off. finally had the whole set done. My G5's spend more time in pings repair shop than they did in my bag.There service was soso, but had a none caring attitude. After 40 years I have Taylormades in my Bag.

Customer Service

So so, none caring

Similar Products Used:

Ping eyes, eye11, zings, zing11, ISI, G2

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Mar 24, 2012]
shagmut
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: ping5g

, picked up a set of g5's a coupled of weeks ago at golf galaxy they were white dots,had them adjusted for my swing which came out to be blue dot.these clubs are just awesome,nice balance feel to them,between taking lessons and having these clubs i hope to really improve my iron game.

Similar Products Used:

cleveland ta5 titleist dci981

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 28, 2011]
Roel Castor
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: G5

It is a great club, very forgiving and I would not trade it for anything now.... Price was very forgiving also.... I bought it new 2010 and was on sale due to other new models are already available like the g10 and g15....

i have more control with my shots now than ever

Customer Service

The free fitting was great! We used a launch monitor and the clubs now suited my swing for now... But the free retro fitting is even appealing when my swing is more stable I will definitely avail the retro fitting to check if my clubs are still in sync...

Similar Products Used:

CG gold was good but no fitting for the clubs and I have to use the standard lie....

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 16, 2010]
Victor
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Ping G5 irons

This year, I found a set of used G5s (4-PW,) and figured I'd revisit Ping irons; I'm glad I did. From almost the first swing, I felt at home with these clubs. They are very forgiving and easy to hit consistently. I normally don't carry a 4-iron, but with this set I do. Some won't like the high trajectory of these irons. When it comes to the average golfer, I find it to be more advantageous than detrimental - especially with the 4 & 5 irons.

I've seen others say these irons make it very difficult to work the ball. With this contention, I totally disagree. I'm not very skilled, and I can work the ball in either direction. No sweeping hooks or slices, but I view that limitation as a benefit, not a negative. When I overdo a cut or draw (which is more often than not,) the damage is limited.

In general, I think these clubs are spectacular. Especially now that they've been around a while and can be had for little cash. I also love the simple and plain styling. The G5s are work horse irons, not primadonnas.

Customer Service

I've dealth with Ping CS in the past and they were always very friendly and responsive to my needs.

Similar Products Used:

Ping i3; Callaway Big Bertha 2004.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 03, 2010]
benzz32
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Ping G5 Irons

I have had my G5 Irons for 3 years now, and have, since day 1 felt like there couldnt be better feeling club out there. Im sure there are clubs out there that might technically out perform them, but for an 11 handicapper, they have given me the confidence that I need to step up and believe that I can put my ball just about anywhere I want to (with about 5 yards). Very consistant feel, Very forgiving, very strong, and well balanced club. When I wear these into the ground, I will come right back to Ping. (Ive played with Talyormades, Callaways, Cobras, Nike, & Adams...none felt as clean and true than my Ping G5s)

Customer Service

Have never needed them... to me thats the best customer service you can find!

Similar Products Used:

Taylormade, Callaway, Cobra, Nike, & Adams

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 05, 2010]
Tony
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Ping G5

All I can say is ....Sweet! These irons have been the best improvement to my game.Not all are created equal. I'm 6'3.and my irons were ordered 3/4" longer,and green dot. I was hitting stock off the shelf irons,and was shooting in the low 90's. Now that I something that actualy fits me,I'm shooting in the low 80's. I went from sraying the ball,to hitting the green on my second shoot.(par 4's) the club is so fogiving..I Love Them!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 25, 2010]
Jawgm2001
Shoots in the 100s
Model Reviewed: Ping G5 white dot

I got the G5 white dot irons and the first time I used them I noticed an improvment in my game. Some friends I play with who are better golfers told me that they feel a little heavy.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 02, 2010]
Marty phillips
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: G5 irons

I got a good price on these at a local pro shop. Salesman talked me into the G5 blue dot. There is a half a degree diff from the Black dot. They hit real high and not very long. There is no feel to these clubs, it feels like you have a hammer on the end of the club they are so heavy headed. My game did not improve whatso ever. Out of 10 rounds I shot in the 80`s one time. I only hope I can get a good trade in for an I10 or I15. These are not a club I feel would benefit anyone that has been playing the game as long as I have (10 years).

Customer Service

I will find out what kind of service I get after I try and get an upgrade.

Similar Products Used:

Beginner Set were FX Rams very cheap but easiest to hit. I just gave up the Cobras for the pings. I use taylormade rescue 3 & 4. I have vokey 58 and 60 degree wedges.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 73  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com