Ping ISI Irons

Ping ISI Irons 

DESCRIPTION

ISI features standard sized clubheads with more rounded features recalling the look of the Eye2 available in Steel,Copper and Nickel

USER REVIEWS

Showing 11-20 of 94  
[Jul 08, 2009]
ah
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: ISI-S Black Dot

Had not swung a golf club for two years, but my profession necessitated I get into the game again. Picked up a used 3-SW set for $225 and hit the driving range. Three words described the majority of my shots on the range: Long, High, Straight.

A great set of clubs indeed, and a great value!

Customer Service

N/A.

Similar Products Used:

N/A.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 29, 2009]
Ketsugo
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Ping ISI becu

I can't say enough good things about these irons. They are LONG, forgiving and very workable. Also the softy feel of the becu is outstanding. I hit my 7 iron 180 with these and 168 with my eye2's. I will be very sad when I wear these clubs out. If I could find a NOS set in the right lie, I would snatch them up and save for when the set I now have is used up.

Similar Products Used:

eye2, bb

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 21, 2008]
stcjones
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Ping ISI (Becu)

This is one of the greatest irons that I have ever played. Extremely accurate and workable, and good feedback with mis-hits..and there is MUCH more forgiveness with Mis-hits!!!. These also hit much longer than my other irons (Zing 2's)and I am a Ping guy. Thus far these are the best Ping iron (VERY closely followed by Zing 2)that I have hit....especially when you pure it...The ISI has taken a few strokes off my game as well...Give them a try!!!

Customer Service

Best in the business. Excellent in my dealings with them!!!!

Similar Products Used:

Zing 2, Callaway BB, Rac OS2, Eye 2's, Wilson Fat Shaft

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 30, 2008]
Flash 80
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Ping ISI - S Red Dot

I recently picked up a set of ISI-S in Red Dot with JZ-regular cushin shafts, and sent my Callaway GBB Tung Ti irons home with my father in law to sell. Have never played a round with ISI's but I have played a SW for a while now and have always liked the way Pings hit. 9 years ago, I sold off my DCI Gold for something with more distance and found that in the Great Big Bertha Tungsten Ti's. Distance was good, but they lacked the feel and after a couple years away from the game, I came back ready to ditch the spongy trampolining Callaways and get back to something that I probably should have bought to begin with. While it may seem odd to trade off one set of 10 year old clubs for another set of 10 year old clubs, I've never been one to be lured in by the seasonal new equipment bug. New irons show up every year along with new high prices, and for me, that just means you can get older irons that are probably just as good at a bargain. I can understand the advantages of some new technology, but in the end Tiger set his Masters records with MP14's and MP29's and an old Cobra bore thru prototype. Newer technology hasn't yet caused those records to fall.

So I've got one round in since getting these clubs in. Definitely an improvement over the Callaways. At address, there is no more of that thick topline of the GBB's. The Cushin inserts provide for a great feel through the shaft. I prefer Cushin or Sensicore steel over graphite all day after having hit both enough. Ball flight is right at what I wanted with a lower trajectory than the Callaways, but still not too low. They are easy to hit straight, and feel solid when hit on the money. The distance control was consistent as well, which was one of my problems with the GBB's. Distance itself was probably a bit shorter than the Callaways, but at least it was close to the same on each shot. GBB's tended to fall 10-15yds further/shorter on successive shots.

For $170, I got a set that was in great condition other than shaft bands peeling, and thats not exactly a travesty. Excellent bargain in my mind, thank god for Ebay. Just regripped these with a set of I3 Lamkin full cords that I found for less than $3 each, and I imagine I'll be playing these for quite a few years to come.

Customer Service

What little I've dealt with them in the past was good.

Similar Products Used:

Ping Eye2 clones, Titleist DCI Gold, Goldwin AVDP, Callaway Great Big Bertha Tungsten Ti, Cleveland TA5

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 23, 2008]
nchrcek
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Ping ISI Irons

Just before I sell my ISIs, I have to say that I owe it to these clubs for keeping me in the game. I struggled to consistently break 100 for soooooo long...Then I bought these for $200 and instantly (and permanently) shave 10-12 strokes off my game. With practice and these remarkable irons I'm knocking on the 70s door.
If you want to enjoy the game, improve through consistent results, get these now!
The reason I'd sell these if you're wondering is that I'm purchasing KZG blades.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

ISI clones, Jazz crap

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 14, 2008]
Francis
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Ping ISI-S (red dot)

Been using Ping irons for quite a while but these ISI-S are the best I've played with by far. I purchased these used irons just last month and fell in love with them. Great feel and workability. This is my 5th Ping iron set and by far the best of the lot.

Similar Products Used:

Ping Eye, Ping Eye 2, Ping Eye 2+ BeCu,
Ping Zing

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 19, 2008]
Matthew 77
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: ISI Steel

This is the second set of ISI irons I have owned. Even though they are over 10 years old. This is an inspiring set of irons. They offer a minimal, yet still visible, offset coupled with a slightly smaller club head. They are also slightly strong lofted, not as much as todays irons. I picked mine up used for less than $200. They still look and swing as new. It will be a long while before I switch irons. I don't see anything on the current market that matches. (For me.)

Customer Service

Ping is known for their customer service. With my previous set I had to order a matching pw. Cost was less than $100 and it was perfect to spec.

Similar Products Used:

KZG Forged Irons

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 01, 2008]
Daerhldgs2
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Ping ISI BeCu rifle

I have always played blades and more recently Mizuno MP60 and Titleist 755 irons, picked these up because they were cheap, reshafted them to the Rifle shafts at 5.5 and just love them. They are workable and the shot dispersion is much better than the MP60s with Rifle shafts or the Titleists. They are just as long as either of the others even though they are much lighter,great feel great clubs.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used:

BeCu eye2 clones,eye2s

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 01, 2008]
GoffNut
Scratch Golfer
Model Reviewed: Ping ISI BeCu

Simply the finest iron ever produced, and I've played a lot of irons in 30 years. Always wanted them when they came out but could not justify the expense. Very consistent feel throughout the set. Can be worked easily with slight ball adjustments. Distance is outstanding with no loss of feel and playability. I'm an old guy and I can hit the 8 iron 150 yds, draw, fade, low punch or sky high fade. The 4 iron is a rocket launcher, 200-210 yds off the turf, 220 yds off the tee. Hogan Apex irons were my weapons of choice when I was younger. I never found an iron with the same soft feel, distance and workability until these. Getting them re-shafted this winter with TT Black Gold, can't wait to hit them. These clubs can still bring a high price on eBay, but watch close and you can get a full set for $300 - $325. Can't say enough about these irons, grab a set, you will not be disappointed.

Customer Service

Outstanding customer service. Ping continues to set the standard in the golf industry.

Similar Products Used:

Hogan Apex and Apex2, Ping S58, Ping i3 blade, Cleveland Black Pearl CG1 blade.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 06, 2008]
leo
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: ping isi copper

Let me tell you there is not another better feeling iron in the game then the copper ping irons. picked them up on ebay for about 450.00 and worth everyu penny sent them to ping had them reshafted with rifle shafts from the wrx dept. i can flight the ball low and high with ease. the feel is better then any forging out there. I wish they would still continue to make copper irons they are the best.

Customer Service

great

Similar Products Used:

mizuno.wilson,macgregor,nike

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 11-20 of 94  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com