Powerbilt Citation Irons

Powerbilt Citation Irons 

DESCRIPTION

Citation irons were designed with the elite player in mind. For those players who like to make the ball hunt. Fot those players who control the ball not the other way around. We know all about golfers like you because Powerbilts past professionals won over 100 PGA tour and worldwide events including 8 majors. We know how to make clubs for great golfers. The moment that you sole these irons you will realize you are looking at a very serious golf club. From the thin top line to the minimal offset to the compact head size to the True Temper Dynamic Gold shafts. Yet we had to be honest with ourselves, technology has vastly improved the playability of golf clubs, so simply designing a traditional looking club wasn''t enough. This is why we took the technology like steel softening heat treatments specific perimeter weighting and exact CAD center of gravity points on the club face which match the center of gravity on a golf ball. Then we married these technologies and the "look" into the club to give you all the playability of today''s cavity back clubs without taking away the workability that elite player''s demand.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Mar 07, 2022]
ceceliafredrick


Strength:

They offer a good combination of forgiveness and workability. Not as easy to work as blades, but much easier to work than traditional cavity backs. Distance is about average, maybe a slight shade above average. They've held up well and when clean look almost brand new. I like playing Powerbilt because it's the anti-cool manufacturer - and I'm a nonconformist by nature. They don't have the sexy rep of Nike and Titleist, but they make rock solid clubs, and the Citation is their pro line of irons. Wood Fence Installation also recommend the Citation driver (and 3-wood).

Weakness:

None so far.

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jul 08, 2010]
Andy Ve
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Powerbilt Citation Irons

My second set of clubs were Powerbilts, some 15 years ago. Went away from them but most recently got my hands on the most beautiful Citation Is. All I can say is, thank goodness I came back! Amazing feel and easy to hit. My distance (after coming from full cavity-backs) has increased dramatically and I now need to re-measure what my normal distance is since it has changed so much. Don't waste money on anything else, these are the bomb!

Customer Service

Excellent. My 5-iron broke shortly after buying. They fixed it, no questions asked!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 21, 2009]
Sgt. ChiliDip
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Citation Forged (2003)

I've been on a quest for an affordable set of forged irons for 2 seasons. I came across this set and was excited to receive them as my first set of irons way back when were Powerbilts. I really wanted to love these clubs, but have to be brutally honest. These are some of the cheapest looking and feeling irons I've ever owned. Cheap True Temper shafts, with poorly aligned and fitted (sloppy) grips. Even the ferrules were very rough and brittle although I bought this set new in box. I understand they are 2003 models, of course. The clubheads had all the specs on them and not one of the set of 8 irons matched the published supposed stock specs. I didn't measure them, but it felt like the swingweight was similar to my wife's irons. They just didn't have that substantial forged head feeling at all. Fortunately, I got them very cheap, but I guess it all comes back to you get what you pay for. I was similarly disappointed in the Tommy Armour Silver Scot Forged Blade set as well, thought, strangely, both sets have gotten favorable reviews. To me, both were cheap looking and feeling with no attention to detail with regard to grips/ferrules/finish. Guess I will have to look in to filling more pockets with the bigger name manufacturers.

Customer Service

Powerbilt still has good service, but just not the quality I remember as a youngster.

Similar Products Used:

All of them.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Apr 19, 2007]
alex
Shoots in the 70s

just got the current citation combos this last month...fantastic value for a forged iron...many people have comented on them while i have been at the range and what i like most is that everyone has and knows titleist and pings, but only i minority know of powerbilt, moreso of the citation range.
GREAT CLUBS

Customer Service

lifetime warrenty

Similar Products Used:

titleist 695 cb and mb

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 13, 2005]
bakdon
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: powerbilt citation forged progresive

I BOUGHT THESE BABYS USED FOR 200.00.THESE ARE 8620 CARBON STEEL AND HAVE A FEEL TO DIE FOR.MINAMIL OFFSET SO YOU CAN WORK THE BALL WITH NO PROBLEM.I HAVE HAD THEM ALL.HOGAN,MIZUNO,PING,ETC.THESE ARE QAULITY CRAFTED WITH AMERICAN PRIDE AND HAVE BEEN AROUND FOREVER.THESE ARE BLADES PW THRU 7 IRON AND CAVITY BACK 6 THRU 2 IRON.I HAVE THE 1025CMS ALSO.THESE I LIKE JUST A LITTLE BIT BETTER.SMALLER COMPACT HEADS.THIS COMPANY STANDS BUY THERE PRODUCT WITH A LIFETIME WARRANTY ALSO.KILLER.

Customer Service

THEY HAVE BEEN IN BIS SINCE 1916.I THINK THAT SPEAKS FOR ITSELF.

Similar Products Used:

MCGREGOR 1025CMS,MP9,EYE2,HOGANS,ETC.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 20, 2005]
freddyc
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: citation

these irons are the best find ever. glad folks aren't playing them can be my secret. for 599.00 you will NOT find anything any better. feel, address, swing weight, ball flight you name it I have hit everything known to mankind. will never ever pay brand name prices AGAIN!!!!!! this is a forged club 8620 just like the famous Cleveland wedges. Powerbilt has a winner with these babies.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 25, 2005]
andy97
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Powerbilt Citation 2003

I bought two sets of Citations on Ebay this winter-- a 1978 stainless steel forged (nice, but not as nice as Hogans or Wilsons from the same era), and this 2003 set, which cost me $51. Cast, moderate cavity back, True Temper Dynamic Gold stiff shafts, and funky Powerbilt grips with lots of little lightning bolts on 'em... These are sweet irons, and ridiculously low-priced. Very soft for cast, not quite as much feel as forged, but nice. Small heads, and some retro styling, but they're very easy to hit, very straight, not explosively long or high but very consistent penetrating ball flight, and good, solid spin on impact. I love them for pitch and runs-- a nine-iron from 100 yards out, play it off the back foot, it's like a laser.

Customer Service

None. But they offer a lifetime warranty, which is pretty cool.

Similar Products Used:

Armour Evo, Top Flite XL2000

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 21, 2004]
jjloans
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Citation Blades 1970's(???)

I found a set of old Citation blades in a thrift store, 2-9 for $2/club. Just planned on goofing around with them, the design and balance is really nice. Took them out to the range, and to my great surprise, these irons are SWEEEEEET! The 5-9 are just laser beams, and the ball explodes off of the face with a smooth tempo swing.... jeeze, why was I wasting mucho dinero on the latest and greatest? I have had most of the really expensive irons, including Callaway VFT, X-14 & 16's, Porsche Design CB's, Ping i3 WRX, Liquidmetal, Yonex, and MANY more, but these dang old blades are in my bag. at least the 5-9. Ping Zing2 BeCu PW and SW are sweet, and the Daiwa G4 Brougham 3 and 4 irons with S flex graphite are cannons. God help me but I love it so.... :-)

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used:

Lots and lots and lots and lots

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 21, 2004]
jjloans
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Citation Blades 1970's(???)

I found a set of old Citation blades in a thrift store, 2-9 for $2/club. Just planned on goofing around with them, the design and balance is really nice. Took them out to the range, and to my great surprise, these irons are SWEEEEEET! The 5-9 are just laser beams, and the ball explodes off of the face with a smooth tempo swing.... jeeze, why was I wasting mucho dinero on the latest and greatest? I have had most of the really expensive irons, including Callaway VFT, X-14 & 16's, Porsche Design CB's, Ping i3 WRX, Liquidmetal, Yonex, and MANY more, but these dang old blades are in my bag. at least the 5-9. Ping Zing2 BeCu PW and SW are sweet, and the Daiwa G4 Brougham 3 and 4 irons with S flex graphite are cannons. God help me but I love it so.... :-)

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used:

Lots and lots and lots and lots

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 31, 2003]
Greg
Shoots in the 70s

I bought a set of these clubs two years ago. I don't play as often as I used to, but still shoot in the upper 70's. These clubs have been a godsend. They offer a good combination of forgiveness and workability. Not as easy to work as blades, but much easier to work than traditional cavity backs. Distance is about average, maybe a slight shade above average. They've held up well and when clean look almost brand new. I like playing Powerbilt because it's the anti-cool manufacturer - and I'm a nonconformist by nature. They don't have the sexy rep of Nike and Titleist, but they make rock solid clubs, and the Citation is their pro line of irons. I'd also recommend the Citation driver (and 3-wood). It's the best looking driver on the market, in my opinion, and the Beta Ti model is extremely long off the tee. When you consider that these clubs, brand new, 3-PW and driver/3wood, can be found for around $600-$700, it's a no brainer. You can spend more on something else, but the performance won't be any better.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com