TaylorMade 200 Irons

TaylorMade 200 Irons 

DESCRIPTION

Credit the club head''s longer blade, perimeter weighting and CG placed lower and deeper behind the club face for a higher launch trajectory with more ball spin. The 200 irons'' moderate offset promotes better alignment and shot shaping ability. Its straight leading edge and strong topline present a powerful look and aid alignment at address.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 11-20 of 81  
[Feb 25, 2008]
sdbriggs
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made 200 Series Irons, Steel Shaft

Just took up golf at in August 2007. Bought a cheap starter set and have since replaced all of it. Got the 200 Series Irons used at a local golf shop for $75.

Suddenly I'm not afraid of my irons. Although I'm still a hack, I've at least got some consistency going that I could never get with the cheapies.

I often feel like apologizing to the clubs for my mis-hits since my joke is the clubs are better than I deserve.

Wish I'd never spent any money on cheap "starter" club sets. Go buy good clubs used and avoid the discount clubs.

Customer Service

Not Used. Bought used from local golf shop. Buy local and the service is always good.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 23, 2007]
Jim Anciaux
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made 200 Series Irons

I've been playing with these irons for 6 seasons now. Prior to buying them new in spring of '02, I used to buy a new set of irons about every 1-2 years because I had not found any that I was happy with. Now, I can't find any new irons that I like well enough to trade them in for. That is how I can best describe these clubs. They are an excellent blend of shot-making and forgiving. Distances are perfect with the 3 going 215, the 5 190 the 7 170 and so on. My only complaint is that the 9 and P should probably have 1 or 2 degrees more loft as they tend to fly a bit far for my liking. Plan on carrying at least two additional wedges for that 90-140 yd range if you buy these clubs. Otherwise, find a bargain on these and buy what could be your last set of irons!

Customer Service

Great. I carry a TM driver, too and when my head cover became frayed, I emailed cust. service. A new one arrived in the mail in 1 week.

Similar Products Used:

Cleveland TA5
Titleist 704
Titleist DCI
Taylor Made 360
Mizuno Sure
Ben Hogan 5

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 04, 2006]
Scott Luckhurst
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: taylormade 200

I bought these clubs in 2004 but didn't start using them until 2006. I paid 160.00 on eBay from rockbottom golf. The first thing i noticed is these clubs are very consistent. I average 190 yards with my 3 iron and 10 yards less for every club down to my pw. When you hit these clubs correctly the ball flies off the club face and you dont even feel like you hit the ball. Even on mis-hits you dont get that much vibration and the ball still goes staight. I know if i am within 200 yards i can put it on the green.( if i guess the distance right)I think these clubs not only look good anybody can use them.

Customer Service

Have not used it

Similar Products Used:

Wilson prostafF AD

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 24, 2006]
dsig1
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made 200

The Taylor Made 200 Irons are hands down, the best mid level clubs you can play. I've played King Cobra 2, Tommy Armour 855, Srixon 403, Titlest DCI Black and Taylor Made 300 forged. The TM 200's have excellent yardage gaps of 10 to 12 yards between ecah club all the way from 3 to SW. They are forgiving, workable and long. The can also be found for bargain prices if you shop around. I bought my set on EBay for $229. They were new in the plastic. The only clubs that are close for distance are the KC 2's(8 year old model) and for forgiveness, the TA 855's. These Taylor Made 200's have the best of both worlds!

Similar Products Used:

King Cobra 2,
Tommy Armour 855,
Srixon 403,
Titlest DCI Black
Taylor Made 300 forged

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 13, 2006]
Ditty72
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made 200 irons

These irons are sweet. I bought the 2-SW (10 clubs) on ebay, with rifle shafts, brand new, for under $250. I'm about a 5-6 handicap, and I think these irons are great for that level. These could probably suit all players.

I love the look of these irons, they look good at address, and they hit very far. The lofts are jacked up (45* PW? Come on), but they feel solid. Buy a gap wedge, or the TM 200 A wedge (it's 50*), and be ready to hit a sweet set of irons. The feel of these irons are awesome too. I don't think they're forged, but they have a lot of the characteristics of forged irons- they feel nice, and you can tell exactly where the ball hit, and they mark up quite easily. That's my only complaint about them. I've used these irons since March, and they already look they've been used for at least a year. Other than that, I love these irons.

Customer Service

not needed yet, bought these on ebay and it was a smooth deal.

Similar Products Used:

Ping G5, i5, S59- these 3 might be the 3 greatest sets of irons right now (TM 200s are 4th IMO).

Nike Slingshot OSS- Another great set, very high ballflight, just not as much distance control for me for some reason. Still an awesome set.

most sets of irons are awesome irons, just choose the one you like best.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 14, 2006]
Kev McL
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made 200 irons

Bought these irons on EBAY for £50, what a bargain, I upgraded from Wilson Pro Staff AD's and sold the old clubs for more than I paid for the 200 series. The improvement in "feel" is very noticable, and not something I had appreciated before. They have much more reasuring/solid contact and hit the ball a long way. The clubs have a high quality finish. I would recomend these clubs to any mid to high handicaper looking to upgrade for very little money. CHEERS TAYLOR MADE & EBAY

Customer Service

None

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 23, 2006]
miken
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: 200 series stiff graphite

Got these a few years ago at a end of model price. Good distance and feel. Sometimes a bit inconsistent with direction but that may be me. I have been told a steel shaft helps for consistency. I think they would suit most players as they reasonably easy to hit.

Customer Service

Not needed

Similar Products Used:

Precept,Prosimmon,Powerbilt.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 04, 2006]
Woody Bradley
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made 200 Irons Graphite Shaft Regular Flex

Very good irons on feel & distance. Good balance & very forgiving on bad shots. Well made as all TM clubs. Would advise players with 6-10 handicap to give these a try.Good luck to all golfers.

Customer Service

Not needed as of this listing.

Similar Products Used:

TM Supersteel, Tommy Armour 845,Top Flite Tour,Adams A1 Pro.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 26, 2005]
killab0518
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made 200 Series

These clubs have been in my bag for years. They are an amazing set of irons for any level golfer. I highly recommend these for their price. I have recently changed to the LT2s, which are also an amazing set. But you cannot go wrong with the 200 series.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 21, 2005]
rayp1111
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Taylor Made 200 irons

Very Surprising for a medium priced set of irons. I am left handed and have always been a blade player and of course suffered up and down form slumps due to inconsistency in my iron play. After using a measured "Golfsmith" set of cavity blades for 4 years I went on a buying and selling spree on Ebay for the last 12 months. In that time I used about 12 different sets of irons, mostly top brands, including about 5 sets if Mizuno irons as well as Wilson, Titleist and Nike sets. I bought the Taylor Made 200's because they were sold NEW (even though an old model)and at a cheap price. This set has the Taylor Made S90 Graphite shaft. The first thing I noticed was that they were head heavy, with a thinish sole, which I like. They are slightly offset which I generally dont like, but I was prepared to give it a go. From the first hit, these irons were AWESOME!! I have gained at least 2 clubs in length, which I have never experienced in the 26 years I have played the game. I think the graphite shafts have something to do with it as this is the first irons I have used with graphite shafts. My constant fade has virtually gone. I hit these mostly straight, or with a slight draw now and then. My bad shot now being more a straightish pull. I have used these irons for 3 months and have gone from 8 to 5. These are far and away the BEST irons I have ever used since taking up the game. Easy and forgiving to hit, they seem to "want to go straight" regardless of the swing, great distance, plenty of stop on the greens and at present, very cheap. It goes to prove you dont have to spend a lot of money to get a good set of irons and it pays to test, all irons ARE different. Overall I would highly recommend these for any player regardless of handicap, especially if you need some extra distance in your irons.

Customer Service

None tried

Similar Products Used:

Mizuno TP9, MX15, MX20, MX23, MP30. Titelist 690 MB, Nike Pro Combo's, Wilson Prostaff Mendrella.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 11-20 of 81  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com