Tommy Armour Golf 845M Silverback Irons

845M Silverback

Features muscle back design perfect for low to mid-handicaps

User Reviews (18)

Showing 1-10 of 18  
Brian   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 04, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Tommy Armour Silverback 845m

I grew up playing knockoff Armour 845's. Loved the clean thin topline, and the lack of offset with the head. I always hated the big bulky irons. About 6-7 years ago, I went looking for a new iron set. I tried out many different iron sets, and really wanted the Taylormade 2005 rac TP's, but i didn't have $1000 to spend. I wound up randomly finding a set of these Tommy Armour Silverback 845m in a golfing warehouse. Loved the look of them, but was concerned that I wasn't good enough to play a blade. I also loved the price tag, they were only asking $300, and they threw in a free box of Pro V's. As soon as I started hitting them in the store, I fell in love with this set. This is a player's set of irons. If you're a solid ball-striker, these irons are amazing. I still have them in my bag, and they won't be replaced anytime soon.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
andrew pardoe   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 06, 2012]
Model Reviewed: tommy armour silver scott blades

i have had these clubs now 3 years.i have customized the length.shorter by 1/2 inch.each club.new mid sized grips. standard loft.& lie.i play to about @ 18 handicap.in the summer .i had my first round.in single figures.8 over.there is a lot off negative better players that say 18 plus handicapers.should keep away from bladed clubs.rubbish. after lots off practice.it will pay off .using a harder to hit iron.like a blade.i will keep them for ever.i have just treated myself to my second set off bladed irons.mizuno.mp 68 in left handed like my silver scotts.keep you posted on my progress.

Similar Products Used: mizuno mp 68
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
D K   Shoots in the 70s [Aug 10, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Tommy Armour Golf 845M Silverback Irons

My hacker uncle bought these on a lark online, but since they weren't suited to his game he handed them over to me. Best set of irons I've ever played. Beautiful at address, great workability, awesome feel, and surprising forgiveness for a MB. I wish I had gobbled up another set (as well as the 1 and 2 irons and SW) while they were still available. I play them with the standard TT DG S300s and trajectory is perfect and dispersion is tight. Grab these if you can still find them!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
RayP   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 20, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Tommy Armour 845M

I am a bit of an equipment junkie, in the last 3 years I have probably bought, tried and sold about 30 different sets of irons of all the Major brands, all bought on Ebay and imported due to the bargains one can get. I was always a "blade" user in my early days but I figured as I got older I would go to more alleged "forgiving" irons as blades have that reputation as "hard to hit". I must have used every set of Mizuno, Titleist, Cleveland, Honma, Nike Irons they have made left handed but I was never ever completely happy. My greatest regret was selling a set of Mizuno TP9's I happily used for about 4 years before going on my iron trek that just wont end, maybe until now. I saw a set of Tommy Armour 845M blades on 3balls on ebay. I then went to this site and was taken aback by the overwhelming glowing positives that have been written about this model by all that have used them, they have that old blade look that I have yearned for, so I bought them for a song. They were in quite "good" condition, not new, but OK. First thing I noticed was the weight in the head, a lot heavier than all of the newer Mizuno and Titleist blades I have tried. I loved it !!! I can feel the head again, I know where it is. I now think that the Major manufacturers of "tour" type irons over the years have made them too light. This model is noticebly heavier in the head. I used them for one round and have got that "feel" back that I have been looking for. NO LOSS OF DISTANCE at all, which I am happy with. Solid contact has that soft buttery feel that I used to remember with my TP9's and not with anything else I have used. They look great at address and inspire confidence. Off centre shots suffer a little but I can live with that. I am back to taking divots again. I can only concur with all the other reviews that are written about this set of irons. I only wish I could get a NEW set somewhere, it is a 2003 model and no longer being made.

Customer Service

Not interested!

Similar Products Used: You name it, I have used it!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
andy pardoe   Shoots in the 90s [Jan 08, 2009]
Model Reviewed: tommy armour blades 845

i got thease for £99.00 with tax they are the best irons ever i would bye 5 more sets if i can .martinthey are pops

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Alexander Heinrich   Shoots in the 70s [Sep 19, 2008]
Model Reviewed: 845m

I bought a brand new set for $249 at a discounter almost two years ago. There is no doubt in my mind that this is the best value in forged irons out there. The club looks impeccable at set-up and feels even better at impact. Distance and trajectory control are remarkable, as is workability.
I've played Mizuno forged irons growing up and was very happy, but this is an even more impressive golf club.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: Mizuno TP9, Hogan Apex
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
demarius   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 21, 2008]
Model Reviewed: 845m silverback irons (tommy armour)

I've recently traded in a set of big bertha irons, wanting to get a set of forged irons (wasnt sure which kind). I went to our local golf shop here in town and hit several different types. Ive hit titleist, cleveland, you name it, ive tried it. I saw a set of tommy armour on a used irons rack for 249.99. I'll tell you i hit the 7 iron and i love the feel and the control of it. I bought them and took them out to the golf course and shot a 75 that same day. They say that mizuno makes the best forged (blades) out there i beg to differ. If you see a set, i highly recommend that you hit them they are superb.

Similar Products Used: titleist, cleveland, nike etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ben Rollinson   Scratch Golfer [Jul 29, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Tommy Armour 845m

I have been playing golf since I was seven (nearly 20 years) and have been playing to a + handicap for 3 years now. Earlier this year I was at the range when the pro came over with a set of these irons he had just bought. He asked me if I would like to have a hit for ten minutes and my god they are unbelievable irons. I have several sets of irons myself which all cost serious bucks and I have to say I am jealous, if I could find them, I would buy them. My only gripe is that they do notcome with many customisation options, I myself play with tour velvet ribbed grips and extra stiff rifled shafts etc but these cannot be added before purchase so would cost me more in the long run but believe me guys they are definitely worth it. If you can find a set, buy it you would be mad not to and if you find a set but don't want them, let me know because I'll definitely be all over that.

Customer Service

unknown

Similar Products Used: Titleist, Muzuno, Taylor Made, Snake Eyes
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
boomboom1972   Shoots in the 70s [Oct 05, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Tommy Armour 845m

Far and away the best blade I have ever hit, even though they were significantly less. Softest feel, longest (with more control), and most forgiving, which is a suprise with the minimal offset. Thought I loved my TA-3's, but decided i needed something with less offset. Hit Nike, Titliest, Mizuno, Hogans, and Cleveland blades as well, but kept going back to these (Even before I knew they were a couple hundred bucks cheaper). Distance control ceased to be an issue, and the fact that I hit the 845 3-iron farther than my TA-3 2 iron meant I could add another wedge. Last year picked up an 845m 1-iron for 15 bucks on EBAY, and, although I don't trust hitting it off the ground, it is just as good as the rest of the set. An awesome club on tight par-4's, and almost as long as my 3 wood. IF you can still find them, try them. You will be amazed.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
golfsuccess   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 23, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Tommy Armour 845M Silverback

In my days of golf, I've hit quite a few brand name clubs. In order to get the right feel, you owe it to yourself to try anything you can get your hands on. Nowadays, you can try out many different top brands. Once you get the feel, you'll know what you can best work with. The 845Ms are what I feel the most confident with after trying out numerous differnt top brands of clubs. These are of exceptional value and are made of stellar quality. They look beautiful too! I agree to the other reviews; they are the best kept secret in muscle back blades. If you can find them, don't hesitate to give them a try.

Customer Service

I have heard great things about customer service. The clubs are too good of quality for me to actually have to test out their services.

Similar Products Used: King Cobra Oversized, King cobra II, King Cobra SS, Ping G2, Callaway X14, Ben Hogen Edge, Cleveland Golf CG4 (I like), Nike Forged Blades...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 18  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com