Tommy Armour Golf 855 Silver Scot Irons

Tommy Armour Golf 855 Silver Scot Irons 

DESCRIPTION

  • Moderate offset helps square face at impact
  • Stainless steel construction provides long lasting durability
  • Maximum perimeter weighting creates larger sweet spot
  • Lightweight steel shafts

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 11  
[Jun 10, 2017]
John Roberts
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Tommy Armour Silver Scott 855

When I bought these sticks 20 years ago I tried them on the grass range with 6 or 7 other clubs. All had duct tape on and I tried to test them as blind as possible.

I was inclined towards a couple of other brands but kept coming back to the 885's. They worked for me.

I'm now getting more golf in and while my woods have changed, the problem with my game is not my 855's ; )

If you find a used set for yourself or someone you know who's getting into golf, they can take a player a long way.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 07, 2015]
Don
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Tommy Armour 855's

Interesting story... I had a set of these about 20 years ago. Really liked them, but wanted something a little more forgiving and a bit longer. Since then, I have purchased 5 sets of irons and sold 3 of them. I have tried two Callaway models, Cleveland, Hogan and a custom built set. I just bought a used set of the 855's. They are they best irons on the market for me.

Similar Products Used:

Hogan Apex+, Big Bertha Diablo, Cleveland TA6, Big Bertha X19's, KZG Custom cavity back forged iron set.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 21, 2014]
Mike Johnson
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Tommy Armour Golf 855s Silver Scot

I used to work for Tommy Armour in the mid 90's. I had a set of custom shop 845s I sold in favor a newer set Taylormade irons. I did not like them (no workability). I was able to find a set of near new 855s irons for $40! I remembered playing some scratch rounds with that set. I was not let down. These irons were easy to hit, provided a tour trajectory and yet I could still work shots. The Tour Step II shaft in an R flex performs more like a weak stiff (as it was designed). First round I played with them, I shot a 76 (I have not done that for nearly 20 years). I will be keeping these in my bag.

Customer Service

Out of business, Brand name owned by Sports Authority.

Similar Products Used:

Tommy Armour 845s, TaylorMade RAC CGB,

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 15, 2014]
John Winkler
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Tommy Armour 855

I did and trade and buy for these irons in 95. I thought they looked good, and I played the irons a couple of years. Cast clubs in general have little feel, but a ton of forgiveness. I sent the irons to my Dad, and he like the distance and forgiveness of the clubs. A few years later, I bought a set of the 845's new, for around $200. The 845's had a smaller head, but the same solid feel as the 855's. After playing the 845's for about 2 years, I started playing forged cavity-backed irons. Forged CB's are the best way to go if a player wants feel and forgiveness. Twenty years ago, when I first began playing golf, the 845 Silver Scots were one of the most popular clubs in the US. I played with several single-digit handicap players in the 90's that hit the 845 and 855 irons. They are quality clubs for the beginner and experienced golfer.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 11, 2013]
Vic
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Tommy Armour 855s

I have used the 855s going on almost 17 years now. These clubs have held up tremendously. The clubs offer a very nice balance of workability (draw) and forgiveness. They also produce a very high ball trajectory. About 3 years ago I was fitted for a set of Ping i's but ended up giving them to my son and going back to the 855's. Great value for the money (I see them all over Ebay for around $100.)

Similar Products Used:

Ping i

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 29, 2012]
Bruce
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Tommy Armour 855s

Having played 845s for years, I thought it might be time for a more forgiving club and more swingweight. With old age and a slower swing, I found a fine set of 855s in regular steel, having only to regrip and adjust the lie up (I'm 6'2"). I should have got these five years ago. They look good at address and have a reasonably thin top line. You can work the ball with these, it is much easier to get the ball up in the long irons, and distance has increased by about a club. The wedges play nicely. Let me just add that I have the complete set of original clubs, including driver and woods. I've replaced the driver and 3 wood with modern clubs, but kept the 5 wood (19*) and picked up an original 7 wood (25*). The 5 and 7 woods hit just like modern hybrids, so I leave the 3 and 4 irons at home. I am quite happy with my bag now.

Customer Service

Never dealt with them.

Similar Products Used:

Ping I3 Blades, TA 845s

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 19, 2009]
The_sheff_79
Shoots in the 100s
Model Reviewed: tommy amour 855

a friend of mine is a local gun dealer who also plays golf. he has a set of used 855s for 100 dollars that are in great shape . should i purchase these irons ? ive played with wallmart clubs for years.someone send me an email and tell me what you think.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Sep 25, 2009]
adam
Scratch Golfer
Model Reviewed: tommy armour 855's

i started with a set of tommy armour 845's and i shot in the 90's i continued practicing with my 845's but didnt like them. i switched to the 855's and have been loving and useing them for 2 years now. im a scratch golfer and them irons really helped to improve my game. they are well weighted and can sure hit the ball. they are one of the strongest irons and continue to look good after years of use. great irons recommend to anyone who wants to improve there game. but rember this to all you golfers who are trying to buy all the best clubs and think thats how they will improve. you cant by the game of golf. practice.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 14, 2009]
Troika
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: 855 Silver Scot

I picked up a used set of these irons several years ago for cheap with the thought of resting my favorite set a bit and having a set for visitors when they come through town. I ended up liking them enough that they got the majority of my play. I actually find them very forgiving and sweet to hit. Now, I'm not into really soft, oversized, game improvement irons, so it's a matter of context, but they have a big sweet spot and the ball jumps off of the face nicely. Longer than the Calloways I had for a while, not as long as my '80s forged Wilson blades. Somewhere in between on playability.

I really like the finish on these. Chromed clubs ultimately flake and ding, these have a nice satin finish that cleans up well and keeps looking good.

These were not as popular as the 845s, but I have really enjoyed them.

Customer Service

Not used

Similar Products Used:

Wilson Staff Tour Blades, Hogan Edge, Calloway Big Birtha Irons; Demo'ed Cobras, 845s, etc.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Nov 16, 2007]
snowman
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: 855 Silver Scot

I've been playing the 855's for about 3 years. I bought them about the time I started shooting under 100 consistently. They did help me lower my score another 7 or so strokes, but I started noticing the lack of forgiveness more and more. I hit them very long and I like the high trajectory I get from them. They seem to hold up very well, with very few dings or scratches. However, after getting the chance to demo some Mizuno irons for several weeks, I now see that I am ready to move on to a nice, new set of irons that are more forgiving. Basically if you are looking for a sturdy set of irons that will help you get below a 30 handicap, for a cheap price, these will work. Otherwise I'd imagine you can find a much more forgiving set of irons for a comparable price.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com