Top-Flite Tour Oversize Irons

Top-Flite Tour Oversize Irons 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 106  
[May 29, 2021]
chaples19


Strength:

Good look, good feel, good results. 10 yards longer than any other irons I have ever had. Forgiving, but still able to work the ball. Aliso Viejo Pro Concrete & Masonry

Weakness:

Absolutely nothing to worry about.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Aug 09, 2014]
mikeknee
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: topflitetourmuscleshaftr80regula

Gotasetofirons3thru9howmuchare

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jun 25, 2012]
H Nordblom
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Top Flite Tour Oversize irons

I began playing golf regularly in 1999, and my first set of new clubs were the Top Flites Tour Oversize in 2001. Very straight, somewhat lower ball flight, but accurate and forgiving. Replaced the 3 and 4 with hybrids, but 5-P are still in the bag. I made the mistake of switching to Ping G5s for a few years, looking for a higher ball flight (that did happen on straight shots), but I could never fade the ball and most shots moved right to left. Went back to the Top Flites and my game improved immediately with straight, predictable shots.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

Ping G5

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 20, 2010]
p atwood
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Top Flite Tour Oversized Irons

These cavity-back irons replaced my old Top Flite Professional blades back in 2001. Every once in a while I try to go back to the blades when I think my game is really on and I'm invariably forced to admit that blades are a club of the past, at least for me. I've had some success with the new clubs, winning my club's senior club championship as well as several weekend club tournaments. The 3 and 4 irons have been replaced with hybids (Tour Edge J-Max Ironwoods) and I've added a Tour Edge gap wedge that is very necessary with the strong loft of the set's pitching wedge. If I ever replace these it will be with another cavity back set, probably including hybrid 3 and 4 irons.

Customer Service

Never used.

Similar Products Used:

Ping Eye-two. Hogan Edge

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 10, 2010]
Jeff Carey
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Top Flite Tour Irons (1999)

I saw these in the golf shop in Dublin, CA and really liked the look and feel of them. I really believe a club has to feel right in the hands or you won't play well with them, these just seemed right to me. They were about $500 and I just couldn't bring myself to buy them. A few months later I won a driver at the A T & T Pebble Beach tournament in a drawing. I didn't like the feel of it so I took it to the golf store to see if they would give me credit for it against the Tour irons and I have had them ever since. I can't hit the 3 but love the 4 thru P and hit them long and straight with good spin and control. The sand wedge is ok out of the sand but really short in the fairway and I have never been able to find a matching gap wedge to go with these clubs, but if I do I will certainly buy. I was in my mid 50's when I got them and now in my 60's I still love these clubs and their feel. They have the Graphite Muscle shaft that is easy to swing and control. I've looked at other clubs and even tried a few but I have not seen anything that would make me give these up.
I have never been a heavy hitter but as soon as I started playing these irons I added about 20 yards per club. Had my first ace with the 9 iron too. If you can find a set of these you should take them and give them a chance they are great clubs.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 01, 2010]
firstcut
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Top Flite Tour

Great clubs used them for 3 seasons now. Only paid 175 used. Has a nice soft feel on impact.

Similar Products Used:

snake eyes Ti, palm springs

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 19, 2009]
samarati
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Top Flite Tour

Now here's an interesting set of irons that I bought on E-bay for $49. The set have Made in USA labels with serial numbers, Fenwick Stiff 90 gram graphite shafts, Stock Top flite grips which feel somewhat corded (the grips do tear up my hands a bit). This used set looks practically new, the previous owner used just a few of the clubs seldom - Not a scratch on the soles or backs nor shafts.

Compared to my Ping i3+ with JZ Stiff steel shafts the Top Flites are a mixed bag for my game. I love the Top Flite Wedge thru 7 irons. I hit the short irons farther than the Pings. I'm consistently nailing 150 yard Wedges with Taylormade TP balls when I go for it. The accuracy of my shots is equal to the Pings. The Top Flites have a nice heavy and solid feel. BUT, I'm not as happy with the 5 to 3 irons. The heads get progressively smaller, the top line of the face thins out. And somehow my shots tend to go wild with the 3 and 4 irons. And I'm an accuracy monster with my Ping i3+ Three & Four irons.

So are these old USA Made clubs worth the $49 I paid - YES! Are they equal in quality to my USA made Pings? - No.

Yet, I'll keep them for a while as I enjoy having a change-of-pace set of clubs. I like variety, even if my handicap may suffer. I'm a hobby golfer, not a serious competitor.

Customer Service

E-bay purchase.

Similar Products Used:

Ludicrous! In the past two years I've bought and sold over a dozen sets of irons and at least 25 drivers / fairway woods. I'm using Callaway VFT Driver & Woods & 2i Hybrid with great success & the Ping i3+ irons have reallyimproved my game.

I'm spending my children's legacy on E-bay.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 29, 2009]
JACK M
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Topflite Tour Oversize

Great set of Irons,have them 10 years,stiff steel shafts,long and forgiving,looks great at address,mid and long irons easy to hit,short irons and wedges slightly chunky but plays well,looking at others but very reluctant to change

Customer Service

Tried to order Gap Wedge as there is 11 degree gap between pitch and sand wedge with no luck as it was discontinued

Similar Products Used:

had Ping Eye 2 before but rate Topflite ahead

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 22, 2009]
Rick
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Top Flite Tour

I recently gave my son this set so he could replace his MacGregors VIP irons. His gave has improved since he started playing them. I got them for my travel set, and found them to be okay. I put them ahead of Cobra's. I've been playing a long time (H.S. and College golf included) and outside of my old set of Ram Tour Grinds, these are fairly decent.

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used:

Cobra's and Ram Tour Grind.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jul 25, 2009]
Todd - Again
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Top Flite Tour OS

So here I am again 1 year after my last attempt to replace these clubs. Because I haven't been man enough to take the ridicule (and often amazement)from others about these clubs I keep trying to upgrade. This season I played Nike Pro Combo forged and Taylor Made r7's trying to put something new in my bag. Both went on ebay after a few rounds. Nothing I can find will match the swing weight and distance of these Top Flite Tours I bought 10 years ago. Maybe they're just the right fit for me but I still believe they are the most under rated clubs in golf.

They don't appear to be so under rated in Europe where they are fetching up to $250 USD used. Apparently they can gain a reputation when people aren't so worried about perception and logos. Spaulding might have made some mistakes prior to selling out to Callaway but these clubs were not one of them.

I'll just keep re-gripping and scoring low instead of trying to shave strokes for the sake of appearance.

Customer Service

Non existent anymore.

Similar Products Used:

Tried lots. IMO there is nothing similar.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 106  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com