Tour Edge Exotics 3-PW Irons

Available At:
Exotics 3-PW

  • Tungsten sole
  • Stainless steel head
  • Lighter stainless steel body

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
jrook   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 10, 2010]
Model Reviewed: XCG (3-pw) Project x shaft

Not gonna have a long drawn out review the bottom line is I had the ex-1s a few years ago and after getting rid of those regreted it caught these on sale so decided to try them and they are even better than the ex-1s. this is probably the best irons I've ever had and that includes Pings, taylormades, callaways, clevelands, mizunos, titleist and some other smaller named companies as well. These may not have the big name but they are truly worth trying.

Customer Service

Never used but a lifetime warranty on all the clubs they make can't be a bad deal.

Similar Products Used: tried or owned everything under the sun and all I can say is these are as good as the best and better than the rest!!!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Giovani Ayong   Scratch Golfer [Jul 19, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Tour Edge EX-1

I have been playing for almost 20 years and tried almost every club out there. Tour Edge EX-1 are overlooked and underrated because Tour Edge does not endorce players to play their product. I recently demoed a set at Golfsmith and right off the bat noticed the feel and accuracy was awesome, but i was hitting into a net 30 yards away, so i was a little skeptic. Took a gamble bought a set on ebay for $215, which is a bargain compare to $800 new at golfsmith.(nitice I'm a bargain shopper AOL) I played 4 rounds with them now and I was right, they feel great and very accurate. My friends still tease me about the look and brand of the clubs, but I'm knocking them stiffer and making more birdies, so it's only a matter of time till they switch too. If you ever demo or hit this club take a closer look. If you notice the tungsten and the undercut behind the club does it remind you of a current and very popular Titleist AP2's, except titleist filled in the undercut with rubber. Makes you think how inovative Tour Edge are and some major company's are copying. In addition to inovation add Lifetime warranty, I was sold.

Customer Service

Emailed about the specs and they responded quickly. Great service.

Similar Products Used: Taylormade R7 TP, titleist AP2, callaway x tour forged,X forged, X18 tour, Adams Pro gold, and Taylormade 09 burner.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 20, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Tour Edge Ex-1

Just picked up a set of these for about $160US. Was using Taylormade Rac Coin forged tour preferred muscle back/cavity combo and was looking for something a bit more forgiving.These irons are stunning, and although not quite as thin profile, inspire confidence at address. Although I usually use stiff shafts, the regular Nippon shafts are perfect, still get nice draw and the clubs get the ball out there a fair way, about the same as my Taylormades eg 5 iron 185 yards. I have owned Tayormade, Mizuno, McGregor forged, Golfsmith forged and these are the first irons I have ever got REALLY excited about. Absolutely love them, already had the Tour Edge 3 wood which proved to be a long distance beast,so was aware of quality of Tour Edge. Stunning. If you get a chance, grab some!

Customer Service

Should not be needed!

Similar Products Used: Taylormade, Mizuno, Golfsmith, MacGregor(very briefly)Maxfli revolution black dot
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
dorsaldave   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 17, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Exotics EX-3

I have been looking for a set that would add some trajectory to my normally medium ball flight. I have tried several game improvement sets including MacGregor M565, M455, Nicklaus CT High, TaylorMade RAC CGB and others. I decided to give the Exotics EX-3 a shot. These are very clean-looking irons that inspire confidence. I had a set of X-QUAD graphite w/reg flex (70 gram) mid kick shafts that are very solid. Wow! The ball flies long and high off the face, tremendous improvement over the other irons I had been using. I gained 8-10 yards in carry and every stick had a higher ball flight to boot. These sticks boast a 0.83 COR off the face which is the max limit normally seen with drivers and I can tell you there is something to this technology. If you are looking to gain some altitude and length with your shots - try these on for size. I picked them up on eBay for $375 new/4-AW and they were worth every penny.

Customer Service

Tour Edge is one of the best customer service vendors out there w/life time warranties on most all their products.

Similar Products Used: MacGregor M565/M455, Nicklaus CT High, TaylorMade RAC CGB
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
SCOTTY1   Scratch Golfer [Jan 17, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Tour Edge EX-1

I consider myself a golf purist. Disipline,control,fun and accuracy,yeah you got it: a Gamer. That is my game and that is Tour Edge Exotics. I played the Cleveland TA-7's when Roger Cleveland DID own the Co.as in before he went(sold-out)to Call-away. At the range with my son one day, A rep from Golf USA was there on a demo w/ Tour Edge. Now granted all my Clevelands were dialed in as far as yardages go with in 2 yards of always accurate. Demo rep looked at my swing -noticed good tempo and ability to work ball from a mat. He admired and asked if I'd try the EX-1's. Okay...1st one...hhmm,nice hit,good feed back... Okay...2nd shot, Sweet spot! & feel!...Picked the club up looked at the face,set it back down ,In position and Hit a third and I was saying "No way!" Stunned and amazed! That afternoon my son and I hit all the irons with amazement, We hit the exotics Hybrid rescue clubs, Fantastic I may add. Driver? you mean the oil can? The big shoe? How about eeeeasy long. The 3 wood? Hell if driver is in bag this 3 wood with 13 degrees is in the bag well it will smoke it far and straight too. It is incredible. 4 wood? Do not even get me started.. this performs! All these clubs have horsepower and 2 degrees up lie. I V-2'ed my driver & 3 wood. IROD'ed my rescue club and kept the Nippon steel shafts in my amazing irons. Just as I did with Cleve's. BUT MY SWING SPEED IS IN TEMPO/CONTROL. making these clubs, when I play, like throwing darts at the pin=ACCURATE. Confidence for all you 70+ and above players in clubs? these are confidence tools for you. David Glod is on to something great here that I see alot of major brands are trying to follow/copy. As I said "American made and American played" You should put these sticks in your hands and don't look back. I picked up 2 sets, 1 for my office and one for home.Yep, doubled up. By far the best. The rest can play catch up. Low key, great quality. great handling. The' package. Scott.

Customer Service

Life time warranty, 'nuff said.

Similar Products Used: Cleveland, Did not need to demo after using these bad boys of distinction. Scott.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Quantumgolfer   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 20, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Tour Edge Exotics EX-1 irons

3 things summed up these clubs after a few rounds with them. In no particular order: LONG STRAIGHT HIGH!
I sell clubs for a living, so I get to hit many and I've tested over 50 different models of irons in the past 2 years. There are very, very few that really suit me, as my mis-hits tend to be hooks and I usually draw most of my iron shots slightly.
As most of you are probably aware, the majority of clubs on the market are "draw biased" and most irons (except for the ones for those off about scratch) have way too much offset for those of us who draw/hook, but not these. These are about the only clubs suited to anyone up to about a 20 handicap, that have almost no offset. I love it!
I bought a set (which were too short and flat for me), yet in my first round with them, I made 3 birdies in a round for the first time ever! Next time I played about 12 holes and had 2 more birdie putts from about 6-8 feet. These irons hit the ball amazingly straight! And they're very forgiving. You just take dead aim and the ball usually goes exactly where you've aimed it. Centre shots feel pure. Off centre shots don't, but that encourages you to hit the middle more often.
They go a good length and nice and high, but not too high.
Nippon shafts are excellent. Grips are fantastic. Tour Edge don't seem to skimp on quality. Believe the hype!

Customer Service

Only spoken to them on the phone, but like most companies, were very helpful

Similar Products Used: Heaps and heaps! Bridgestone GC Midsize, Mizuno MP 57, MP 60, MP 67, MX 900, 950, 25. Callaway X-Tour, X-20 Tour, X-Forged, FT. Nike CCi Cast & Forged, Slingshot 4D. TMade R7, R7TP, CGB Max. Ping G5, i5, S59. Srixon 506, 701, 701 Tour. Cobra FP, Titleist 775, AP1,AP2, Adams A2, A3
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
tomkoss   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 04, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Tour Edge Exotics EX-1 Irons (Nippon Steel 950GH Stiff Shafts)

Purchased on e-bay since I have the Exotics Tour Proto Driver and CB2 3-wood (and are the best I've hit by far). The irons look great and hit even better. Without a doubt the longest, straightest irons I've hit. Was worried going from Mizuno MP-67s with the TT Black Gold shafts that the Exotics would go too high (I'm a high-ball hitter). I can work these left, right, high, and low (but probably a bit harder to move than blades, which is probably a good thing for most golfers). The feel is unbelievable, and off-center hits aren't punished nearly as much as with blades (or other cavity backs). While the distance is outstanding (at least a club longer than anything I've hit), the feel is still there when hitting touch shots. The Nippon still shafts are extremely responsive and have an excellent feel whether really going at a shot or swinging smoothly.
I can't think of enough positive to say about these clubs...didn't think anything could replace the Mizunos!

Customer Service

Not used...but only company to have a lifetime warranty on all of their clubs.

Similar Products Used: Callaway X-12, Mizuno MP-30, Tour Stage Z101, Mizuno MP-67
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
massey   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 18, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Tour Edge Exotics EX-1 irons

These are irons that can make you feel like a "Playa!" ... even if you aren't.

I bought these used off of eBay, and they came with the stock graphite regular Fujikura shaft which fits my swing speed fine. Although it was mid-December, 40 degrees, and drizzling rain, I couldn't wait to take these out so I went to a local par 3 to give them a spin.

The things I noticed immediately are that they are: (1) STRAIGHT (2) FORGIVING, and (3) EFFORTLESS.

The tungsten plug bonded to the bottom of the iron is invisible, but it really does work to make them hit almost like hybrids, but without the bulky hybrid look. In fact, both the top and bottom lines look more bladelike. But the ball gets up in the air easily, and at contact, well .....

The ball simply jumps off the face like its been teleported down the fairway, but with an easy swing--no need to muscle the ball here, which is good news for mid-handicappers trying to improve their game. I was able to work them some, but primarily they seemed to want to hold firmly to a very straight mid-trajectory line, even if my swing wasn't perfect. Distance consistency was scary, with 5 balls landing within 3 yards of each other, more than once, even on some mis-hits. I struggle with my mid-irons usually, and I had little problem hitting the 4-6 on this set.

Two years ago a normal golfer would not have been able to afford these clubs at retail ($1200 new graphite), but now they are within reach as used sets become available since Tour Edge has introduced the EX-3 iron model (a very different club, BTW.)

Rather than flash and extreme anything, these clubs exude finesse and sophistication. Don't expect to be radically wowed with your first swing .... but as you continue to swing, you'll notice that you simply don't have to work as hard to make the golf ball listen to you anymore. That's worth some bucks.

Customer Service

I have many Tour Edge products and they have a lifetime warranty.

Similar Products Used: Kasco K2K irons
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Tigers#1fan   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 01, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Exotics EX-1

I purchased the exotics 3 wood aka "baby driver" first. After hitting 260-270 yd shots I decided to buy the driver & 5 wood. I hit my longest drive ever last weekend about 325 yds. My fairways in regulation & distance has never been better. I finally decied to try the irons after having played with so many sets of clubs from my local Golfsmith over the past 2 yrs. My greens in regulation has increased after 2 lessons & 4 rounds with these irons. My swing coach who used to be the head golf pro at a local cc said these are the best looking & feeling set of clubs he has ever hit and he is right. Tour egde exotics are the best kept secret for the golfer looking to lower there handicap and have lots of fun. I highly recommend going to demo a set. You will hate me afterwords when your credit card bill has to be paid but its worth every penny.

Customer Service

30 day money back & lifetime guarantee. Can't beat that.

Similar Products Used: cleveland cg4 tour, calloway fusions, talyor R-7's, I still own my mizuno mx 900's & theycome the closest to the exotic ex-1's but the my mizuno's will remain at home.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
flashman   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 08, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Exotics Ex-1 Graphite stiff

These are fanatastic clubs for the mid to high handicapper. I had been using Taylormade 300 forged with steel shafts and noticed that I was losing distance. I tried the Adams Idea2,and Idea Pro. I saw the Exotics in one of the golf magazine tests and thought I would give them a try. They are very forgiving and have a great balance to them. I bought them off of the Tour Edge preowned site. They give you a 30 money back guarantee as well as a lifetime warranty. They are not advertised on tour but they are exceptionally made clubs. So much so that I have replaced all my clubs with Exotics

Customer Service

Preowned offers no questions asked 30 money back guarantee and lifetime warranty on all their clubs

Similar Products Used: Adams,Taylormade,Snake Eyes,Maxfli,Callaway,Cobra,Cleveland, Wilson.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com