Walter Hagen SB-3 Irons

Walter Hagen SB-3 Irons 

DESCRIPTION

The Walter Hagen SB-3 Irons boasts Split Bar Bridge BackTechnology which moves the weight progressively to position the center of gravity towards the heel for the short irons and towards the toe for the long irons.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 11  
[Jan 29, 2013]
Phillip tabone
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Sb3 irons by Walter Hagen

I started off with these irons as my first set of clubs in 2008. New to the game, I purchased a membership at my local club which I have been a member every year since. I play every day from spring to fall. I'm now the two man on my college golf team and have a three handicap in league, all using the sb3 irons. I've recently purchased a set of Nike blade irons which I am reluctant to try out, and still haven't. This is because my Hagen irons feel so smith and consistent, I feel there really is no reason to switch. If you notice more pros hit a wider consistent iron as opposed to a blade. Take a look at Kenny perry the year he went into a playoff for the masters, he was using just a set of R7 irons. Nothing spectacular. Distance want everything, especially in amateur golf. I'll take a consistent set of clubs over a longer set that's inconsistent

Customer Service

I bought them at dicks sporting goods and me being six three, I got them fitted and lengthened by their golf pro. Took only one day to do

Similar Products Used:

I've hit many other irons of my friends such as the tour burner 2.0 from TM, r7s, nikes, callaway x22s

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 18, 2008]
gthunter
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Walter Hagen SB3

I purchased this set last spring. I immediately noticed an impact in, not only my control, but my distance as well. These clubs are well balanced and produce a large sweet spot. I recommend for any beginner to intermediate player. The grips are comfortable and provide great hand position. (Prevent open face for beginners). This is a absolute recommend!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 13, 2007]
Casey Johnson
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Walter Hagen

If anyone is interested in purchasing this club, before paying the sale price for it contact me first. I can get it to you for 50-100 dollars off. I can get any of the Walter Hagen Clubs, mens or womens for a discounted price. Even a brand new set of iron as long as they are walter hagen. They are all brand new and all top of the line clubs. If anyone is interested contact me to find out more. cj800mtrs@hotmail.com thank you and remember every product i sell is brand new in origonal packaging.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 24, 2007]
Ran Merritt
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Walter Hager SB-5

Recently went in to buy a set of high dollar name brand clubs, and like many of the reviews here was introduced to the Hagen line. I had been playing with some cheaper hybrid clubs and already really liked them, so the sb5 graphite set with a 3 & 4 hybrid just made sense to me. A wide sole and good size sweet spot sold me. They not only look great, but they hit great and I have seen a very apparent gain in distance and accuracy from my old pro-kennex graphites. The guys at Dicks in Dothan have went above and beyond helping this relative newby with all of they typical clueless questions. I now have a great set of clubs and my game is on a steady linear slope of improvement. Thanks Sam, Carl, Nick, and all of the guys at the new Dothan store.

Customer Service

Exceptional and the primary reason I am coming back and spending hundreds of dollars. The store manager handled a small problem I had initially with a club swap and he earned my total loyalty and I told him so. True customer service is so rare these days, that it will earn my total committment when it is rendered. I know think of Dicks in Dothan for any of my sports needs first.

Similar Products Used:

Taylor made drivers, Nike ignite fairways clubs, Ram/golden bear wedges

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 12, 2007]
Michael Reed
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Walter Hagen SB-3

To start off I am a 9 handicap and 22 years old. I have been playing the same set of irons for the last 10 years and loved them, but after losing the 4 iron and breaking another club, It was time to replace them. I went to Dick's with the intent to just try a couple of different sets. Of course I immediately fell in love with the Nike Slingshots and the new Callaways, but I saw the Walter Hagens SB-3 and the price caught my attention. I hit the 7 iron for aboutt 10 minutes and fell in love. They have a somewhat small sweet spot so I wouldn't advise a higher handicap to purchase them, but for those in the mid to low range I definately recommend. They added about 15 yards per club and they have added to my accuracy as well. Don't let price or brand fool you, these are an amazing set of clubs.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 09, 2007]
Richard Yu
Shoots in the 80s

I will not buy any Walter hagen iron set anymore because of their supporting. I brought a new set from disk sports two years ago and lost one singel club.I call the store and they can not get replacement for me because it is discontinued. I can get support from secound tier golf or component company like pinseeker, acer for their old product but not "WALTER HAGEN"

Customer Service

No support for Hagen product

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 20, 2006]
Leonard Kubiak
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Walter Hagan SB-5 Irons

I recently took a golf lesson on my iron game. It really sucked. The golf pro straighten out my stance and grip but also said my irons were tecknology and suggested new ones. He had me try out Nike's Slingshots and man what a difference in distance and accuracy. So I headed to Dicks to purchase a set of slingshots and the sales person had me try them and also suggested I try the SB-5's because my Drivers were Walter Hagans
I could not tell and difference between the Hagan's and Nikes. The Hagan's were $399 vers $699 for the Nikes. After 3 rounds with my Hagans I'm now shooting in the 80's, a 10 stroke difference. I'm in my late 60's and I need all the help I can get. Thanks Dicks for this help

Customer Service

Great service at Dick's

Similar Products Used:

Nike's, Taylormade

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 16, 2006]
bscudder4
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Walter Hagen SB3

I have been playing golf on and off (more off) for about 20 years with the same set of Spalding Executive clubs. I am playing more frequently now so I decided it was time I get a new set of clubs. I purchased the Walter Hagen WH SB3 set of irons at Dick's Sporting Goods. I used the new clubs last week and was amazed how well I shot. The clubs feel great in my hands and I am getting about 40 yards more distance. I would recommend anyone who is looking for new clubs go to Dick's and try them, believe me it will be worth your time.

Customer Service

Tom, the PGA Pro at Dick's Sorting Goods, fitted me for my new clubs. He explained how the new clubs are made and showed me several sets that fit me. He took a lot of time with me and made sure I was not hurried into a decision. He made sure I was comfortable and satified with the clubs I purchased.

Great job Tom, Thanks!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 05, 2006]
wraman12
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Walter Hagen SB5

I am a fourteen year old caddy and I love to play golf. Being a caddy I have seen all sorts of wonderful iron sets and how average players hit them. Compared to the Nike Slingshots, Taylormade RAC's, and Callaway X-16 these irons are the best buy for your money. I recently purchased these clus and havve since found that I love the feel of each club and have noticed that they hit very well. Also, the hybrids are great out of the rough! They come with the weight placement technology that has become very popular, but I have one question: How do you change these weights (do you have to buy something) or is the bronze piece there to stay? All in all these clubs are a great but and I encourage anyone to buy them!

Customer Service

Dicks was great in helping me with my purchase.

Similar Products Used:

This is my first full set of irons.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 30, 2006]
runarak
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Walter Hagen SB 5

I am a high 80's to mid 90's players. I have tried many many clubs and was currently playing the Ping G2, which I hated by the way. I had recently played a friends set of Callaway x-14 which I really liked a lot. They were easy to hit and gave me confidence.
I headed to Dick's with all intentions of spending $899 for the x-18 iron set with graphite shafts.
While browsing and waiting for someone to get my Callaway's, I decided to hit some other clubs. I hit the Walter Hagen SB 5 with the graphite shafts and IMMEDIATELY fell in love with the clubs. They hit so clean and pure, I could not be happier. To top it off, they were only $499 for the graphite which save me $400 off of the Callaways. The sales associate said that he felt I made an excellelent decision, that these clubs were the bomb. I love the utility clubs that replace the 3 and 4 iron and I love the feel.
They perform even better on the golf course, I could not be happier.
I believe that these can only be purchased at Dick's. I don't want my friends to find out the new secret to my improved game. Anyone that say's the clubs don't make a difference, is NUTZ..

Customer Service

Dicks, Excellence in customer service.

Similar Products Used:

Callaway X-14, X-18, Ping G2, I3 and Lynx Parallax.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com