Wilson Fat Shaft RM Irons

Wilson Fat Shaft RM Irons 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 48  
[Aug 20, 2003]
Will
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff RM Fatshaft Irons

I currently play off 18 (on the way down), and was looking to upgrade from my old Wilson Prostaff OS set to something with a little more feedback and a sleeker look (Staff RM clubs are 2002 model - looks different to the pic above). People warned me that they would be less forgiving and that off 18 I am not ready for these clubs - they were wrong :) I hit them better and more consistantly than my old clubs, and the feel is superb. Bad shots are punished slightly more than my old clubs - but I was sort of wanting that, and feedback is good, slight toe hits feel hard, but distance almost as good and straight. Distance on flush shots is the same (maybe 5-10% more in 3 & 4 irons) than my old clubs except for the SW which is 10M shorter, ball flight more penetrating, stopping power excellent. If you are considering these, like the look and feel, but are unsure about the forgiveness - go for it. These are not just for low handicappers.

Customer Service

Not Used

Similar Products Used:

Titleist DCI 981, Brosnan Tour CB

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 06, 2003]
buck51
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: WilsonRMFatAShaft2002 model

I've been playing with Cleveland VAS+ irons for the last 4 years and intend to keep them,but I wanted to play a more traditional looking club so I came across these Wilson's at a Second Swing store and liked how they felt when swung,but they were asking more for the used set than I'd pay for a brand new set through Edwin Watts,or Pro Golf so I went a bought a set through Pro Golf. These clubs feel very good and look geat in the bag and at address. The distances in the set are much shorter than my Clevelands, but I like the feel and ball flight which is high with soft landing maybe the distance will come back in time. The only complaint I have is that after only using them 4 months(I treated myself to purchasing them for Christmas02) the deatil painting has started to come off the heads, I like these so much I'm considering buying a second set but am concerned about the detail work.

Customer Service

Havent used them yet except for obtaing an product mailing address for send ing them in for having the lie angle adjusted, so I can't say anything negative about them.

Similar Products Used:

None similar

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[May 25, 2003]
eldrick
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: wilson fat shaft 3 2003 model

after purchasing a set of fat shafts i found i went from a h'cap of 22 to a h'cap of 9. i found that my old set of clubs went nowhere when i got my new set i started getting alot more hight and i was hitting the ball a lot further (7 iron from 150 out) i reckomend these to anyone who wants to play better golf

Customer Service

it was goog

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 06, 2003]
sgm50
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Wilson R. Mendralla Signature Staffs

After having played the older Wilson Staff Tour Blades FG-51 my whole life, I decided to go newer with the Mendralla Signatures. Best decision I've made on the golf course (besides laying up). I was once a high-70s low-80s golfer. After a couple years off I have started a comeback and the clubs are a big part of it. I tried everything but came back to Wilson. Wilson is the most underrated out there. To look down the shaft (the fat shaft takes a couple rounds to get used to) and see the low-profile head, was incredible after demos of other ugly brands. The feedback is good. Hard for me to say after using the blades, but much better feedback than the other clubs I tried. I tend to have a high loft already and these clubs make my landings that much softer. I prefer control any day over distance. However, I actually gained nearly a club length on my 5-7 irons. I think these are for the golfer that is trying to get better (who isn't). I think they are ideally for the mid-low hncper, but well suited to someone close or trying to get there.

Customer Service

Never have needed

Similar Products Used:

Wilson Tour Staffs

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 07, 2003]
Matthew Evans
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Wilson Fat Shafts RM

I seem to hit the ball alot futher than i can do with any other club and also straighter shots. As a 16 younger old teenager i haven't experienced many other clubs but these i love.

Similar Products Used:

I have try Callaways X12's, Maxfli Revolutions and Lynx Black Cats

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 04, 2002]
Chris
Scratch Golfer
Model Reviewed: RM Signature Fat Shaft

As a professional golfer I depend greatly on the equipment that I put in my bag. After only a few rounds with the Wilson Fat Shaft RM Signature irons they are here to stay. I have seen quick results that cannot be denied. In my first round out I fired a round of one under par. As someone who is on another companies Advisory Staff it is tough to sometimes puch other manufacturers but I would stand behind these irons any day of the week.

Customer Service

The people at Wilson are phenominal!

Similar Products Used:

Callaway X-14 Pro Series, Cleveland TA1, Cleveland TA7 Tour, Titleist 990-B, Titleist 690MB, Titleist 762

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 11, 2002]
Dan
Shoots in the 100s
Model Reviewed: Wilson Signature Series R. Mendralla Fat Shaft Irons

I bought this nice set of WILSON R. MENDRALLA FAT SHAFT 3-PW IRONS NEW and found out they were not for me. These have the STIFF STEEL 450 FAT SHAFT but feels more like a firm. I played them for a few rounds and found out that I was not hitting the sweet spot by the feedback I got from the club. When struck good these beauties felt like butter. When hit bad you will know it. It was made for the better player and not for someone like me. I am going back to my older cavity back which are more forgiving. Blades will have to wait for a while. ANYONE INTERESTED in these can email me. I'll let them go for less than 1/2 price. Still in great shape. They need to be used by a better player.

Customer Service

Never used.

Similar Products Used:

Wilson Mid Size Cativity Backs, Apex Edge

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 01, 2002]
shoshi
Shoots in the 90s

Never knew what feedback meant until I hit this set. Now, I can actually work on things I do wrong because I know exactly what I did. More productive practice time on the range = better game on the course. Can't hit the 3 and 4 irons though. Had to go out and buy a 7 wood. Maybe when my game gets better, I can start hitting the long irons.

Similar Products Used:

Taylor Made

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 24, 2002]
Tats
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: RM Signature Series - Fat Shaft

The irons I bought are the ones Padraig Harrington is currently using, not the older version shown in the photograph of this section. I originally wanted to buy a set of Ping's and being a high handicapper the guy in the shop tried to sell me the Wilson Deep Reds. I tried these but the offset made me hit every shot off the toe. This was verified by using marker tape on the clubface. With the RM's I was hitting everything off the middle. However hitting the ball is not my problem, its keeping it straight up the middle. As I was taking up the game again after a 12 year absence, I was in two minds, after reading through all the hype, as to whether these traditional blade/muscleback type clubs would be suitable. I figured that I needed to improve anyway and using oversize, offset clubs would eventually hinder my performance. I purchased stiff shaft clubs as I like to give it a good whack. Since buying the clubs, my handicap has come down from 27 to 23 within three months and recently I hit an 89 without doing anything fancy. I have now realised its my short game that needs work to get me to the next level. These clubs allow you to draw, fade and even hit it straight. Distance wise they are not long as some clubs in the short irons, but in the mid to long they are as good as any. I compared this with one of my friends who swears by his King Cobra II's. He hits his wedge where I hit my 8 iron however when it comes to 5 irons, the distances seem to even out. I personally think the Cobra's have stronger lofts for the short irons which convinces hackers they can hit he ball further (cheap marketing ploy?). Overall I have found these clubs to be consistent and fairly forgiving. Even if you top/cut the ball you still manage to get good distance out of your shot, however be prepared for some vibrations. My advise to anyone wanting to buy these clubs is try them first, if they give you confidence then buy them and you'll be satisified. Do not be convinced by the guy in the shop saying your not good enough for blades, only you will know after hitting them.

Customer Service

Not required at this stage.

Similar Products Used:

Ping I3's, Wilson Deep Red, Callaway X-14 and Big Bertha, King Cobra II

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 06, 2002]
clubberlang
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Wilson fat shaft RM signature irons

The irons are the most beautiful thing to look at. When you hit the sweet spot it feels very crisp. These 2001 Wilson fat shaft RM signature irons sets up very nice with the thin top line. The 450 stiff shaft feels more like a firm to me. I played these irons for about a month and found out they are for the lower handicaper. It is sitting in the corner now until the golfing gods make me better. I need a bigger face. The face and grooves are like new and played for only a month. The bottoms show signs of use for a months worth. If anyone is interested I'll sell these to them for $299 + shipping and take the lost. I installed brand new Winn grips which cost me $40 installed. I am sticking to my Hawkeyes until I start shooting in the 80's. FIRST COME FIRST SERVE!!!

Customer Service

never had to use them.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 48  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com