Wilson Fat Shaft Steel Irons

Wilson Fat Shaft Steel Irons 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 72  
[Jan 01, 2024]
minami


Strength:

Wonderful Article!
tstoto
tstoto
tstoto

Weakness:

. . .

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Dec 30, 2023]
Aeera


Strength:

ขอบคุณสำหรับข้อมูล บทความนี้มีประโยชน์มาก! tstoto

Weakness:

. . .

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Dec 21, 2023]
arissaaqila


Strength:

tstoto
realizes that the benefits of playing golf are not only limited to physical activity, but also build character and relationships. He learns to appreciate the beauty of nature, manages stress, and develops valuable life skills. With every stroke, He not only scores on the golf course, but also scores wins in his own life.

Weakness:

no weaknesses, all very good.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Oct 10, 2005]
HJ Seeley
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: 1998 Fat Shaft Staff version

I tested clubs extensively in 1997 and 1998, all the big names. Cobra, Lynx, Top Flite, Callaway, Taylor Made, Ping, etc. My decision came down to the Top Flite Tour and the Wilson Staff Fat Shafts and I went with the Wilsons. I have never regretted that choice and even still when I test other irons, I still prefer my now old Fat Shafts. I agree with others that say the regular flex shaft plays about equal to a standard stiff. I do not feel that these irons are all that long though, I find them to be pretty standard, and even a bit weak on the long irons. What I do like the most is that they are consistent and have a fantastic set up. I like the narrow topline a great deal, so much nicer than many other irons that have a huge, fat topline - Callaway for example. I did have to have them custom bent, the lie angles were not consistent, nor were the loft angles. This was a bit annoying but not a huge matter. Certainly not all irons appeal to everyone, but these are most definitely worth a look for anyone interested in a game improvement club. One thing of note is that there are a few different versions of this iron on the used and new market. There are notable differences in those variations. I've hit a set of newer irons, 2000 models I think with graphite shafts and those irons did not perform up to the caliber of my 1997-98 model. Look for the Wilson Staff logo on the back of the iron, these are the top of line. I'm not sure Wilson makes a Staff Fat Shaft now, but I have seen the Staff models on Ebay for practically nothing.

Customer Service

Never needed.

Similar Products Used:

Ping Zing, Zing2, Top Flite Tour, Taylor Bubble, many others.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 18, 2003]
JesseC
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Wilson Fat Shaft

I read a couple of reviews from those who shoot in the 70's and one joker sticks in my mind...Said who ever bought them had an IQ of 2 or 3. Sorry I have an IQ of 159 and I love them. Hit my 7 iron 190 6 feet from the pin on my home course's par 3. I've been shooting in the middle to high 70's the past 10 rounds with my best score ever a 69. So much for these junkie sticks. If you want a forgiving accurate stick these fit the bill. The only thing I'd be careful of is the steel shaft flex rating. This is my second set my first was s-flex my new set in r-flex. My 5 iron speed is 95 and I am aggressive and the r-fles play more like a stiff. I also hit a 4 iron 230 the same day. Great stick, best I have ever owned.

Customer Service

Never Used

Similar Products Used:

Fat shaft, Tour Edge, Wilson Staff, Top Flite

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 28, 2003]
Peter
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Wilson Fat shaft steel

I first tried Wilson Fat Shafts as a rental club on links courses in the West of Ireland. I was amazed at the distance I was getting and the ease of effort. I do not normally pay any attention to marketing hype. I am a difficult person to sell to. I thought I have used blades and I now have perimeter weighted clubs, any further improvement will have to be from lessons and practice - not equipment. However, I was wrong. Try them and make up your own mind. Make your judgement on personal experience. I also tried Callaway Big Berthas as they were well regarded. The Big Berthas were heavier clubs and did a reasonable job but they were not worth 200 quid more, in my opinion. I have not had any problems with accuracy from wedges. I just make allowances for the fact that all the clubs go further.

Customer Service

In England you can take the clubs back after 6 months for a free check to see that all is in order.

Similar Products Used:

Callaway Big Bertha - a nice club and on special offer too. However not worth the extra £200.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 28, 2003]
Peter
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Wilson Fat shaft steel

I first tried Wilson Fat Shafts as a rental club on links courses in the West of Ireland. I was amazed at the distance I was getting and the ease of effort. I do not normally pay any attention to marketing hype. I am a difficult person to sell to. I thought I have used blades and I now have perimeter weighted clubs, any further improvement will have to be from lessons and practice - not equipment. However, I was wrong. Try them and make up your own mind. Make your judgement on personal experience. I also tried Callaway Big Berthas as they were well regarded. The Big Berthas were heavier clubs and did a reasonable job but they were not worth 200 quid more, in my opinion. I have not had any problems with accuracy from wedges. I just make allowances for the fact that all the clubs go further.

Customer Service

In England you can take the clubs back after 6 months for a free check to see that all is in order.

Similar Products Used:

Callaway Big Bertha - a nice club and on special offer too. However not worth the extra £200.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 05, 2003]
Scott K
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Wilson Fat Shaft Steel

I don't know about you, but my swing is a continual work in progress. Everytime I sccessfully tweak another piece, my game gets more consistent. I am now a 17 hcp, and hit around 90 very consistently on a fairly tough course (127 slope). These clubs are great, because their consistency lets me know whether the tweak I'm working on is a good or bad one. Yes, they're long, but they're also consistent--with a consistent swing. They can be straight, but my preferred flight is a slight draw, and with the offset head, these provide it. I can also fade them (or slice or hook them) on command. I prefer these to the Deep Reds, because the insert in the Reds takes away the feel. Yes, you get a sting if it's thin or off the toe with these, but you're supposed to. That's called feedback. I've had these for about 5 years now, and had them custom made (+2* loft, +1/2" shaft). The sand and transition wedges are great, and help with the feel around the greens that some others say is missing. Take them to the range, hit 20 shots with each club, and average them. That should solve the distance question. I also regrip with Winn Grips each year, to keep the feel fresh. If all else fails, take a lesson. Or 2. It ain't the sticks.

Customer Service

Great. Had to replace the shaft on my 5, which broke under the grip. No questions asked.

Similar Products Used:

Top Flite Tour

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 04, 2002]
laruebush
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Wilson Fat Shaft

I demoed the Mizuno MX-20, Taylor Made 360, Top-Flite XL2000 and the Wilson Fat Shaft. The Fat Shafts were straighter, longer and more consistant. I have shaved 4 to 6 strokes from my game. I am now consistantly taking money from my buddies that play with Calloways and Pings who have 9 to 12 handicaps.

Customer Service

Not needed

Similar Products Used:

Mizuno MX-20, Taylor Made 360, Top-Flite XL2000

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 13, 2002]
John_S
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Fat Shaft Platnium

Back again - after giving the clubs a reprieve from the dumpster and spending more time at the range, this is the final review these clubs will be getting. Final verdict - worst clubs on the market. Garden hoes would have more feel than these - only reason I shot my best round this year (76) was due to the fact that I hit every fairway but one in regulation and I had a total of 24 putts in the round!!!! These things suck as far as getting close to the hole. Give credit for long and straight, but I'm really tired of seeing straight at the flag go right over top of the flagstick and over the green!!! Absolute junk!! I'd trade these for a slice of pizza and a pop. Still can't work the ball and will sell these so I can afford a good set of Cleveland TA-7's. By the way, I would recommend Adams ST woods to anyone - seriously.

Customer Service

You can have these back for 1/2 the cost.

Similar Products Used:

Baseball bats and shovels

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 72  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com