Wilson Wilson Staff Ci9 Irons

Available At:
Wilson Staff Ci9

The completely redesigned Ci9™ is one of Wilson's best performing irons ever. It is the third generation of the award-winning C (control) iron, offering maximum playability for players of varying skill levels. Offering "player's club" looks in a midsize head, the Ci9 is a great choice for better players looking for classic design and workability, as well as for improving players looking for stability and playability.

User Reviews (19)

Showing 1-10 of 19  
Jmoe   Shoots in the 70s [Sep 19, 2016]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff Ci9 Irons

Bought these irons because I needed a set that conformed to USGA new standards for USGA tournament play...was attempting to qualify for Senior Amateur Championship. I've liked these irons from the start. I can work the ball with them and they feel good...lofts are a bit strong but I adjusted...good to see Wilson making a good iron again !

Similar Products Used: Hogan Edge Mizuno TZoid Pros
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
Xing L   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 14, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Ci7 irons

Bought a used set from eBay after having learned on an older set of Wilson blades. Very pleased with how easy it is to swing these clubs. As long as you swing freely with good form, no need to muscle them. Forgiving on mis-hits, providing good distance and accuracy, but still give feedback even on slight misses. They won't make every shot amazing, but I want to know when and how I miss. Decent ability to work balls-my natural swing is a draw, and I'm able to still move it, but have some trouble playing a fade except on mis-hits. I feel great confidence with these and am able to attack pins more.

Similar Products Used: Tried the Taylormade RACs and didn't find them as consistently forgiving or as easy to swing.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bruce   Shoots in the 70s [Nov 04, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff Ci9

I tried thw Wilson Staff Ci9 irons on the weekend after using Purefit MB1020 blades for the past 12 months. I am off 6, but got down to 3 six months ago. Well, I equalled the new course record at my local club and found the irons so easy to hit, I realise they are lofted to improve distance, but they come off sweet, very pleased.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
choon   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 22, 2012]
Model Reviewed: wilson staff ci9

When you grab the club, you feel confident. I like narrow top blade type. When you hit, the feel to your hand is indeed attached. I have Honma which is also narrow top blade type with graphite shaft but it seems that the iron shaft gives better accuracy. The head design is also very charming.

Similar Products Used: Japan Honma LB280
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Stuart   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 27, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Ci9

I'm 65 years old with a 7 handicap index. I played with a set of Mizuno MX 25s and decided to try the Ci9 irons looking for a little more forgiveness. What a great decision. The Ci9s look great, feel solid when hit and are more forgiving on off center hits. They are 1/2" longer for some reason. The lofts stay in 4 degree increments. That means the gap wedge is 48*. I put in a 52* wedge to bridge the gap. A great set of irons. Thanks Wilson.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Metrybill   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 15, 2012]
Model Reviewed: WS Ci9

I very much like these clubs (4-GW) but these come with really, really, crappy, cheap grips. Better grips improve their feel and performance. Count on spending $6 to $8 for a Golf Pride or Lamkin per grip if you regrip yourself. Inconsistent swingweights and shaft frequencies. I do not care because I customize my clubs anyway. But the uninformed should be forewarned. I bought these clubs for the heads and over time I will rework and customize the lies, very strong lofts, offsets, etc. I will slightly weaken (more) the lofts, thereby reducing the length and thereby add a height to each shot and a little bounce to each iron. The lofts are so stong that a GW is really a PW. The 5 iron is set up the same as an old fashioned 3 iron, loft and length. Tricked up but, then again, I knew that when I bought them. I recommend these clubs with the caveat that they have extra strong lofts (3 TO 4 deg. stronger (less loft) than conventional and 1/2" extra lengths, which means they make an 8 iron but with 7 irons specs. It's all smoke and mirrors, with which I am Ok; but there is some mathematical and physics trickery with all this. WS is not the only one doing this.

Bill Wegmann

Customer Service

WS has terrible customer service! I sent two emails with 0 response. I think they have a case of the Give a s...s.

Similar Products Used: Titleist, Cobra, Ping, Callaway, Cleveland, Scratch wedges only (great design and performance but harsh feel at impact), Adams hybrids (Idea golf Pro, wonderful), Tour Edge Exotics driver and fairway woods (outstanding, BTW),... 50 yrs. of golf.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
James   Shoots in the 90s [May 11, 2012]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Ci9 irons

Great set of irons at superb value! The SST shaft was also a great combo. It is one of the most under rated irons out there.

The head is just at the right size (not too big or too much off set). My consistency just shoots up after using them. Irons used to be my weakest link. Not anymore! Now... to look for a forgiving driver to find the fairway!

Get yourself a set too. You won't regret!

Customer Service

No need at all. Just point and shoot!

Similar Products Used: Tour Edge Mizuno MX 200, Cobra S9,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ANDY   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 25, 2012]
Model Reviewed: CI9 WILSON IRON

Fantastic club, my average is 81 and i was playing the AP1 club ,Try those CI9 and right away i score a 77 with a triple bogey.wow! Those are just the best club all around. Please give those club a try !!! You be surprise.






OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 21, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Wilson Staff CI9

Awsome set of clubs. I'm a long ball hitter so distance was not much of a concern. Using the CI9's My bag make up is 11 irons 3-60*. Although most Golf shops do not have the 3 Iron it can be ordered from Wilson. I have lowered my score dramatically hitting these Irons the ball flys higher with more spin and distance is not sacrificed at all. If you are in the market for a new set of clubs I reccomend any club wilson staff makes. Very impressive.

Similar Products Used: Callaway FT fusion Irons.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jack Hoke   Shoots in the 80s [May 12, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Ci9

Tried the Ci9 at a demo day and was simply amazed. I have the Ci7 irons and didn't think I could improve upon them. I was very wrong. Was one club longer through the set and the 9s were much easier to hit. Goes straight, long, and gets the ball up. I ordered the half and half shaft. It is nothing like the old bimatrix shaft that was so bad, so don't confuse them

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 19  

    THE SITE

    ABOUT GOLFREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

    (C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.