MacGregor M5K Putters

MacGregor M5K Putters 

DESCRIPTION

  • Head weight 352g
  • MOI: 4,998
  • .
  • Compact configuration
  • Shafted right- or left-handed, heel or center
  • Conventional length shaft - 33" - 36"

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-7 of 7  
[Nov 13, 2016]
Steve patterson
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Macgregor bobby grace k5 centershaft shafted

Do yourself a favour buy one of these putters and save yourself a fortune .There is know better feeling putter than this and I have tried them all trust me Scottys included.so easy to line up it maybe an old model please don't dismiss it as it is as good if not better than present day putters

Similar Products Used:

Scotty Cameron
Oddessey

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 20, 2013]
brian
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: m6.4k v- foil

this is a great putter and really enjoy the weight and feel need to regrip but want to know if any readers know were i can get my hands on a new cover

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 28, 2006]
rooboy
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: M5K Heel Shafted

Picked this putter up on e-bay for $50 AUD.Distance control with this putter is very easy and it has a good alignment line.The weight of the putter head encourages a straight back straight through stroke and it puts a beautiful roll on the ball.Grip has a nice soft feel.There is nothing to dislike about this putter - even the size of the putter head seems to be just right.Definitely excellent value for what they can be bought for now on e-bay.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used:

n/a

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 07, 2006]
lkniz
Shoots in the 80s

The M5 by Bobby Grace and Macgregor is very accurate on short putts and just as good "feel" for long lag putts. I've used a Scotty Camron Studio Design 2 for over 2 years ,but I found myself pulling short putts. I thought that the M5 would help on the short ones...and it did!I was pleased to find that I didn't lose any feel on lag putts. Played last week,29 putts.This putter encourages a straight back straight thru stroke.I did get the Studio Design reconditioned by Scotty Cameron it sits in my office beautiful but not in use. M5,ugly but effective

Customer Service

none needed yet

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 10, 2005]
lmc3
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Heal Shafted MacGregor M5K

I was just killing time at the local sporting goods store, "browsing" at the latest putters on display. A salesmen recommended I try this putter to see how it compared with my Nike OZ(nice putter) that was currently in my bag. Predictably, the putter felt great and I was sinking a significant number of putts on the showroom putting green. He asked me to try it on the course and if it didn't improve my game, I could return it for a full refund. With nothing to loose, I took him up on his offer and experienced very positive results. Specifically, it improved my distance control on long putts and helped me to be nearly automatic on shorter putts. Never thought I would use high "MOI" and "forgiving" to describe a putter, but that's what I experienced. This stick putts a nice roll on the ball and it has a good feel when balls come off the soft copper face. The M5K is the smallest head in this model series, but it's large compared to other mallet style putters. After getting used to it, allignment was a snap and the weighting encouraged a straight back and through putting stroke. That being said, it's not a putter everyone will like. It's not going to win any beauty pagents. While the fit and finish are excellent, it kind of looks like a Stealth bomber on a stick. I didn't particularly like the look at first but I got over that when I experienced these results. Playing several rounds with this putter has enabled me to significantly reduce my number of 3 putts and that has translated into shooting 80's for the first time in my life! These are on clearance at many stores and can be had for less than $100 new.

Customer Service

Helpful on the phone but never responded to my emails.

Similar Products Used:

Nike Oz, Taylor Made Monza, Hogan Hawk(too big)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 17, 2005]
mr. divots
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: M5K

I had a short love affair with this putter. It was really good for shorter putts, but the feel for long putts was horrible. Way too soft, and the backweighting was so extreme, the ball would literally leave the ground for 2-3 feet if you needed to putt across a large green and put a good stroke on it. The headcover also came apart after about 3 rounds (MacGregor did replace it to their credit.)

Customer Service

MacGregor said they would send me a new headcover, but it took a couple attempts before they would send one.

Similar Products Used:

Ping Craz-e (best putter ever) 2 Ball DFX

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
[May 08, 2004]
golfrunner28
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: macgregor mk5

I purchased the MK 5 2 weeks ago. This putter took a couple of rounds to adjust but is deadly accurate with excellent distancs control. It has a very soft feel ( excellent for fast greens) and is very accurate. Best Putter I have used....

Customer Service

not used

Similar Products Used:

Scotty Cameron Futura and Studio 2.5, Odessy 2 ball, Ping Craze E

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-7 of 7  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com