Mizuno TPM Series Putters

Mizuno TPM Series Putters 

DESCRIPTION

Mizuno has combined its expertise in forging technology with the hand craftsmanship of world-renowned putter designer T.P. Mills to introduce a line of one-piece forged putters. They are available in six new designs to offer a variety of shapes and styles.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 18  
[Mar 23, 2013]
foxrock
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MP T101 putter

At last the search is over! For a very long time I've been actively searching for a putter to match/surpass the old Scotty Newport2 model I've played with for many years. None of the subsequent Scotty putters (and I've tried them all) feel as good or line up as well as my old model. The newer Scotty putters look very pretty but, perhaps, the focus has shifted from performance to pretty graphics. I've also tried many Ping, and some Yes, putters but none have matched the performance of my old Scotty.
Then I came upon the Mizuno MP T101 and liked it immediately. It lines up perfectly - something which, in my experience, very few putters do - and it feels great. Having tested it I know my search for another putter is over and this Mizuno may actually displace my old, and beloved, Scotty.
I love Mizuno equipment. The feel of their irons surpasses anything I've used and nothing I've seen looks as good as the old MP32 irons I use. The feel of this new MP T101 putter lives up to the best traditions of Mizuno.
PS While price was not a consideration it was nevertheless a pleasant surprise that my new Mizuno was only about 40% the price of a new Scotty while being at least as well made.

Customer Service

Very good

Similar Products Used:

Scotty Cameron, Ping, Yes,

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 13, 2009]
Hansch99
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Mizuno T.P. Mills "TPM" #9

I've owned them all, including David Mills's "Professional Series" T.P. Mills, Scotty Camerons (Mil-Specs, Circa 62s, Studio Stainless, Pro Platinum), C&L 350 Milled, Ping, and on and on. But my Mizuno TPM #9 beats them all on the green. It has a gooseneck, and toe hang is at about 3:30-4:00, so it's not quite face balanced. The nickel-plated carbon steel feels as smooth as any carbon-steel putter on the market, and to me feels better than the much revered nickel-plated Cameron Mil-Spec. The fact that you can get these putters used on ebay for less than $30 makes these the best value in used putters. I know of no other instance where you can get a forged, milled carbon steel putter designed by one of the kings of putter designed and manufactured by arguably the top carbon-steel-club manufacturer in the world. The feel and distance control with this putter are as good as I've been able to find.

My only complaint with this putter is the black finish, which appears to be painted on the nickel plating and wears really poorly. My copy became quite spotted after use. But I just soaked the putter in acetone and scrubbed the finish with a scotchbrite pad, revealing a beatiful silver (nickel) finish. I think they either should have made the finish without the black paint, or just used black oxide on bare carbon steel.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

T.P. Mills Professional Tradition and Softtail
Scotty Cameron Mil-Spec and Studio Stainless
Yes Sophia
Odyssey Marxman
C&L 350 Milled CL-1
Ping Karsten Anser 2
Scotty Cameron Heavy Flange Pro Platinum Bullseye

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 14, 2008]
macgregor6
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Mizuno Bettinardi C 3

This putter is similar to the Cameron Newport 2.5. It has more feedback then the Titleist. The putter has exceptional feel and balance. I Highly recomend it.

Similar Products Used:

Scotty Cameron Mill Spec Pro and Newport 2.5, Odessey Rosie, Macgregor MKT6.4

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 21, 2003]
Bobby Jones I Aint
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: TPM-1 Workshop

After three months with this putter--and watching in wonder as three-putts have become a thing of the past--I had to write a review. These putters seem to be golf's best-kept secret, and I really don't know why. Read the reviews. Aside from a few that are obviously tongue-in-cheek and a couple that don't offer any real support for their complaints, it's five stars across the board. I have the Workshop TPM-1 and the regular TPM-3 ($45 on Ebay; incredible). Both are outstanding, traditional putters. The Workshop model looks--and is--a bit more expensive, with a more finely machined face, and a beautiful, glossy black finish. Touch is where these shine. They're heavy, but perfectly balanced, soft as butter, responsive, and offer precise feedback. Hit the sweet spot (and you DO have to hit the sweet spot; these are forged) and 20-footers nestle up to the hole like they're being drawn by a magnet. Some have complained about the sighting oval, and while it does take some getting used to, I find that it has changed me from a "map-and-compass" putter, obsessed about getting sight lines aligned perfectly, to a more intuitive player, focused on reading the whole green and striking the ball smoothly and well. On the short, straight putts, you just line up the little oval with the big one (the hole) and put the ball in between. No problems. I've only been playing for 14 months, and my handicap has gone from 30+ to 22 this summer. I broke 90 twice last month for the first time on regulation courses, and it was mostly thanks to this putter. One warning: You have to treat the finish on these like you would a firearm. Keep it oiled or it will rust--FAST. I just spray some WD-40 in the headcover every week or so and don't have any trouble. If you lean toward the traditional, and doubt that a ZK-99 Titanium Infused Insert is going to do much to help your putting, you owe it to yourself to try one of these putters. Get one in your hands at Ebay prices and it's really going to make you wonder what the people who don't play Mizuno are paying for.o

Customer Service

Prompt, professional service when I ordered a set of irons.

Similar Products Used:

TPM-3, several Never Compromise models, some no-name Wal*Mart specials.s

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 30, 2003]
Pete
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Mizuno TP Mills #3

I got this baby on e-bay for $56 of someone who only used it once, it looked brand spankin new when I recieced it! This is absalutely the best Putter I have ever used...Just an outstanding piece of golf equiptment, everything from looks to feel I would rate it a 10.. I was on the verge of dishing out $200 for a Scotty til I putted around with one of these at my local Golf Shop... I found this club to be just as good as the scotty for half the price. Matter of fact my golf partner liked it so much he is buying one too!!! If you can buy one of these for $60-70 GO FOR IT!!! you will love this putter!!

Customer Service

Called Customer Service due to a little rust on the face (I didnt know it needed to be kept oiled, like the scottys)...He was really helpful and polite... no problems getting through on the phone and was assisted immediately!

Similar Products Used:

Scotty Cameron,Ping Zing

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 12, 2002]
Randy
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Mizuno TP Mills #1

Sets up very nice to your aiming point, very solid when it strikes the ball. This putter has helped me on the putting surface, I don't have as many three putts anymore. I own two of them!!. I like the looks of this blade putter. Can't hurt your putting will definitely help you take strokes of your Handicap.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

Ping Zing 2 Scottie Cameron Newport

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 16, 2002]
john_john
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Mizuno Dare to Dream

Bought this while in Japan, Beautiful putter, great feel. Nothing like it. I looked at the TM series, nothing looks like this one. I cannot make a bad putt. Anyone know about this model?

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

Ping Ray Cook

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 20, 2001]
tommygolf
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: T.P.MILLS -1

Strength:

None

THIS PUTTER HAS IT ALL ,LOOKS,FEEL,PERFORMANCE.IF YOUR LOOKING FOR A BLADE TYPE PUTTER, THAN THIS PUTTER IS FOR YOU.IF YOUR CONFIDENT ABOUT YOUR STROKE, THIS PUTTER WILL TAKE CARE OF THE REST, GREAT FLATSTICK.

Customer Service

SMOOTH TRANSACTION ON EBAY

Similar Products Used:

CARBITE/NUBBINS/SLOTLINE

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 09, 2001]
Jeff
Shoot in the 90s
Model Reviewed: T.P Mills # 1

Highly recommend this putter.Great combination of looks and performance.

Similar Products Used:

Ping Zing 2,MacGregor Balata

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 28, 2000]
Jon
Shoot in the 90s

Extremely soft and a real beauty. It gives loads of feedback so you know whether you hit it perfectly or not and if you do, you will be rewarded with an undescribably magnificent feel. Not very forgiving but it does teach you to put with "skill", if you are patient enough to learn that is. Highly recommended especially with its low price compared to the Scotty Camerons. Try it...you won't regret it.

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used:

Titleist Scotty Cameron, Odyssey White Hot, Teardrop, Ping

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 18  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com