Never Compromise ZI Delta Putters

ZI Delta

User Reviews (17)

Showing 1-10 of 17  
Golfmage   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 21, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Never Compromise Z/I Delta

Putting. It is the REAL area of the game where ball strikers the calibre of Ben Hogan and Sam Snead, to Lee Trevino, to Vijay Singh have gone nuts trying to get the ball in the hole.

My experience with the NC Delta began with the first year of the company in 1999. It was formed from the engineering group who refused to give up control of their work to the Callaway buy-out of Odyssey . . . thus, Never Compromise. I bought the first model because I respected their philosophy, and the innovative concept of the 3-piece putter. With the original "Gray Matter" polymer, the Z/I Delta puts 90% of the putter head mass at the heel and toe. Thus, a HUGE sweet spot.

Beginning as a small putter company, NC had growing pains. After making a splash on the LPGA and Champions tour, the company almost went under, until purchased by Cleveland Golf. Now that Cleveland is owned by Srixon, NC has managed to keep its emphasis on quality an originality.

In the nine years since I first started, after finally deciding that I had to take advantage of technology, and give up on my Bulls Eye blade, I have tried many methods of putting, and many variations of putters.

I am conviced that no one can tell you how to putt better, once you learn the fundamentals of putting. It is simply a matter of comfort and confidence.

I recommend this putter from a subjective standpoint. For the following reasons: first, it's BALANCE. As a heel-shafted plumbers neck putter, the Z/I Delta suits a more inside-to-inside (swinging gate) type of stroke. I also like the ALIGNMENT GUIDE. The distinctive black/gray/black head design has become instantly recognizable on tour, and has sound optical engineering principles to support it. Third, FORGIVENESS. With the massive re-distribution of heel-toe weighting, mis-hits are rare.

Ultimately, you only get better with more confidence. This putter helped me, so I hope if you try it out, that it will help you too. Make sure you get fitter properly. I had the lie adjusted to +4 degrees flat, and a professional clubmaker added several grams head weight to make it comfortable for me. I also personalized with a C-Thru (SD Chargers) grip, because I like the smooth feel, and the Chargers were my favorite NFL team growing up.

Customer Service

Not used.

Similar Products Used: Cameron Bulls Eye, Cameron TeI3 Santa Fe, Bobby Grace Amazing Grace Belly, Odyssey 2-ball belly, Odyssey 440, Odyssey TriHot #1, Ping 1/2 Craze I-series
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Finny5   Shoots in the 70s [Mar 04, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Never Compromise Z/I Delta

This was the first big name putter I ever used. I've had this putter for over 5 years and have not found anything I like better. Extremely easy to align with its black-gray-black color layout. Fantastic balance in the face for a smooth swing and solid contact on every stroke. There are never any mis hits that feel dead and lose distance. I would describe the feeling at impact as a soft-firmness. It does not have that "cushion" like feel that you get with insert putters, yet it doesn't have the solid metal click of a stainless steel either. It is a middle ground combination of the two. Excellent distance control on all green speeds. For the price these go for on eBay it's a steal for a good solid putter that will add confidence to every stroke you make.

Similar Products Used: Odyssey White Hot
Odyssey DFX 3300
Ping Anser stainless steel
Never Compromise Milled Series
Scotty Cameron Pro Platinum
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
robjcold   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 31, 2005]
Model Reviewed: ZI Beta

This putter has given me confidence on shorter puts (3 feet in) that I never had with the 2 ball. It has taken a while to used to distance puts, but the feel off the face is superb.

Customer Service

Superb, I lost the header cover, and was sent a replacement for free

Similar Products Used: Odyssey White Hot 2 Ball, Wilson Fat Shaft Copper Insert
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
iamthetrout   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 30, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Never Compromise Z/I Delta

I have heard so many good things about this putter, and I saw a used one on ebay for $35 shipped, so I picked it up. All I can say is "wow." It gives so much confidence to the user. I am sure that with this in my bag, I am going to regularly shoot in the 80's.

Customer Service

never had to use it

Similar Products Used: zebra, arnold palmer, various other cheap, crappy putters
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrewgolf   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 11, 2003]
Model Reviewed: TDP 2.2

I have been golfing for about 5-6 years. As with most golfers I have upgraded my equipment several times. I have purchased several drivers and fairway woods along the way. Last year I upgraded my irons and was very happy. This year I finally got around to buying a new putter. I was pretty good with my old one. A cheapy I bought at Canadian Tire. I tried a Never Compromise putter at a local golf shop and liked the way it looked and felt. I looked at the Delta 2, but decide I wanted the more conventional look of the TDP 2.2. This putter has not turned me into a professional, we all know that equipment can only do so much. Practice is the only way to get good. Anyway, down to the nitty gritty. I love the way the putter looks. From the gray and black head to the gray and black Winn grip and the gray and black head cover. The extreme heel and toe weighting and the new "trans" matter that makes Never Compromise famous works great. Off centre hits still get close to the hole and the feel and feedback is great. You know when have hit the sweetspot and when you haven't. The gray insert in the middle of the blade helps frame the ball and promotes a centre hit. The simple one black alignment aid is all that is needed. This is a classy, great looking putter with lots of feel the inspires confidence. Hasn't made me a pro, but I like it.

Customer Service

Haven't had to use yet.

Similar Products Used: I used a Spalding Tour XL and demo numerours others.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
falconcg   Shoots in the 90s [Jan 23, 2003]

I allways been a bad putter. But when I bought the never compromise ZI DELTA 2, my life changed. Actually, I did a small modification on the putter (I am a clubmaker). I removed the 35inches shaft and added a longer shaft to make it a belly putter, so know I have a never compromise belly putter. You have difficulty putting then try that modification and you will get results instantly.

Similar Products Used: I can't count that far...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ParPaT   Shoots in the 100s [Oct 08, 2002]
Model Reviewed: DI Delta

I love this putter, if you like feel this putter has lots of it, while still having the most forgivness ive ever played in a putter. This putter reduced my putting strokes from about 50 per round, to about 37 per round

Customer Service

Never Needed.

Similar Products Used: Rossa Mallet, Cleveland Classic, and Arnold Palmer original.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
pauche   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 26, 2002]
Model Reviewed: Delta 2

This putter is simply amazing. The feel and balance is excellent. I was very inconsistent with my WH#1. I would push short putts and short on long putts. Lag putting with the Delta 2 is very easy that I am actually trying to sink 20+ foot putts. I just have so much more confidence with this putter in short or long putt situations.

Customer Service

I had a problem with the Winn grip (twisted) but NC was there to help and listen to my gripes. Customer Service is excellent.

Similar Products Used: WH#1
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jerry   Shoot in the 90s [Oct 01, 2000]
Model Reviewed: Never Compromise Delta

Most golfers have several putters. Me too! But this is the one I play with. I probably took 3-4 strokes off my game because I don't miss much inside 6 feet anymore and 3 footers are almost a tap in. Very nice touch and ability to control distance. Very forgiving. Innovative design that works very well, yet looks pretty conventional. Not cheap, but it will do more for your game than an equal amount spent on any other club in your bag. Besides, I play in the 90's and 40% of my strokes are putts. Seems like a pretty good place to invest in your game.

Similar Products Used: Ping Pal, Ping Answer, Ping Echo, Wilson 8802 & 8803, Odyssey, Bullseye, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Chris   Shoot in the 80s [Sep 01, 2000]
Model Reviewed: Delta 2

This putter is amazing. I tried this putter when I was at a golf course from a friend and it was great. The Gray matter is great and you can tell that this putter is extremely well balanced. Putts true and I can now sink putts from accross a green.

Similar Products Used: Insert putters and pixl type putters
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 17  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com