Odyssey White Steel #1 Putters

Available At:
White Steel #1

  • Heel-toe weighted blade with a full-shaft offset
  • Highlighted alignment strip squares face
  • Urethane Insert
  • Greater Moment of Inertia

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Mike Hunt is a #unt   Scratch Golfer [Feb 13, 2009]
Model Reviewed: white steel #1

Mike Hunt is an IDIOT! Take your Bullsh*t somewhere else!

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
konakid67   Shoots in the 70s [Nov 08, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Odyssey white steel #1

I was in my proshop this morning ( they were just converted to an Edwin Watts) and I picked up one of these and started putting with it. I was hitting a desk leg (or to the right or left of it) from 20 ft out about every time. So the pro taped the sole and said take it out to the green and try it. It is one of the most solid putters I have stroked, has a nice feeling grip and has great weight to it. It is a very solid feeling head 303 SS which has a urethane insert and a milled stainless steel insert as well. Distance control was great and the roll was pure, made some great puts on the practice green. I have putted with a number of high end putters and for $128.00 this will be my new gamer

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used: All Ping blades, Sizemore, Camerons
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Mcalllstarrr13   Shoots in the 70s [Feb 22, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Odyssey White Steel #1

Bought this putter in very good condition off Ebay for $49.99. Only thing wrong with it was a few unoticable cosmetic imperfections on the face. I putted with it in the house and on the practice green at the range, and I was very impressed! I have a very silky smooth putting stroke, and with my stroke, I can take my normal pendulum swing and the ball feels very soft off the club face. i played with it in my first junior tournament of the year (14 year old division) and although I didn't play well, my putting was magnificent. I made numerous 5 footers to save par, and on long birdie attempts, I nestled them up very close. My highlight putt was, I was standing over an 8 foot putt on the 9th hole on the first day of the tournamernt and I was around 3 over. It was an all downhill right to left slider, and I took the putter back about 2 inches and decelerated a bit through impact, to make sure I didn't blow it by the hole. The line was perfect and it went straight in, for a birdie. I love this putter. Everything from its feel on impact to its overal appearance. For a putter needing a putter that will provide them with posistive and negative feedback, and also an overall astounding putter, the Odyssey White Steel #1 is for you.

Customer Service

None Needed, got putter in 4 days.

Similar Products Used: Ping Anser
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
mike hunt   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 16, 2006]
Model Reviewed: odyssey white steel #1

Can i note that 'there' = 'over there' or 'there are', whilst 'they're' = 'they are'. It would be nice and also proper if people could be grammatically correct, rather than contributing to the deevolution of the human species. Thank you.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: n/A
OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
Mizunogolfer   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 11, 2006]
Model Reviewed: White Steel #1

After putting horribly with a Taylormade Daytona CGB for the first part of the season last year, I finally took a leap of faith and switched to the White Steel #1 in a 36" model.

Immediately after purchasing it, I noticed that more putts were rolling in or very close to it, on the practice range. After I finally got it on the greens for a live round, I can honestly say that the White Steel #1 is one of the nicest putters for the price on the market today.

With the TaylorMade putter, I was just missing badly with decent speed control. With the #1, not only was my distance control excellent, my speed became better with each and every round played!

What really impresses me about the #1 is that it gives you solid feedback, both on mis-hits and purely struck putts, that most putters don't give you. It is soft but not marshmellowly soft where you struggle to get the ball to the hole on longer putts.

The #1 also has a pleasant sound at impact with good balance as well. Every bit as good as a $200-$300 Cameron that I've owned recently.

My only minor complaints about the #1 would be with the stock grip that comes with it and the butt ugly headcover that comes with it as well. While the grip looks good and feels great, the grip seems to show wear and dirt more readily than most other grips that I have seen or used on other putters.
The headcover is just plain ugly and not worthy of such a fine putter IMHO.

In closing, this is a great putter that can be had for well under $100 if you shop hard enough. I'm also surprised that this putter isn't burning up the reviews on this site, as it is as good as a blade can get, without spending a small fortune.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Ping G2i
Taylormade Daytona CGB
Cameron Studio Style
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Grinder   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 26, 2005]
Model Reviewed: White Hot Steel #1

Picked up one in the Pro Shop between rounds the other day. Took it out to the practive green and the first few putts felt real strange. Hard to describe, but I was not enjoying the feel. However, noticed that roll was good, distance control was better than it has been in a long time, and I liked the feel of the grip. I finally realized that the weird feel was feedback from not making square and solid contact, something that I realized was missing from my current putter (MacGregor MOI 6.4K). I took the putter out to use in a scramble and made several really good putts. My partners were consistently remarking how good I was putting. Used it again the next day and was really happy with all aspects of my putting, especially the feedback. No more guessing on how I hit the putt, I instantly knew. Distance control was excellent and better than it has been in ages. In addition, this is the first blade putter that I've used in years as I have been devoted to mallets. I'm really impressed with this putter. Hope to have it in the bag for a while.

Customer Service

Have not used.

Similar Products Used: MacGregor MOI 6.4K (both heel and center-shafted), Gamill Railgun, Odyssey 2-ball and White-Hot #5, etc., etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
goalscorer9898   Shoots in the 90s [Sep 12, 2005]
Model Reviewed: white steal #1

after using a no name putter forever i decided to switch to an odyssey white hot #1. I liked that putter but found it to be too soft at times. Tried a friends DFX 2-ball but found that to be a little to hard at times. When the white steal came out I decided to try that. I picked up the white steal #1 and my putting has never been better. It is easy to line up and you know when you make a good stroke which is about 99% of the time. Definetly a good putter and worth the price

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: odyssey white hot #1 odyssey DFX 2-ball
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
progolfersds   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 05, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Odyssey White Steel #1

I recenlty upgraded to this Odyssey White Steel #1 Putter and I absolutely love it!!! The most important thing that I noticed was that I am able to dial in distance much more precisely than I did before. I also like the alignment and consistency on off center hits, but when you hit the sweet spot there is a gratifying ping. I would recomend this putter to anyone who wishes to improve there overall putting consistency.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
i3putt   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 02, 2005]
Model Reviewed: White Hot Steel #1

Great putter with a nice balanced feel. Good weight without being too heavy. I paid $99 new from Golf Galaxy. My putting has always been my downfall. I would almost always three putt, now I two and one putt 90% of the time. I get a nice smooth roll without any jumping across the green. Lately I've been switching back and forth compairing the White Steel with my G2i Anser, I keep going back to the White Steel. With the Ping I have to hit it harder to get the same distance and the ball jumps across the green. The White Steel gives a nice true roll without the jumping. The Ping dosen't seem to have as much MOI, so you need to be on target more with your hits than with the Odyssey. This putter is very forgiving with off-center hits. I replaced the red Winn grip with a Lamkin Dual Density grip, feels great! Now I need to change my user name to "i2putt"!

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: Ping G2i Anser (for sale $75!), Maltby Extreme (very nice but looks like a branding iron), Cleveland Classics I, Odyssey 2-ball, Odyssey White Hot #1, Carbite B-15, Ping IsoPur, and a ton of no-name junk.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Available At:
Rainkingjr   Shoots in the 80s [May 11, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Odyssey White Hot Steel #1

Great putter. Great feel. Love the sight alignment. Awesome grip. I actually got rid of my Scotty Cameron Newport Beach for this putter. Don't get me wrong, the Cameron's are nice putters, but I'll spend half the price on the Odyssey and get as good as if not better results.

Customer Service

No experience

Similar Products Used: Ping Anser, Scotty Cameron Newport Beach
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com