Pixl Golf L 1.8 Putters

L 1.8

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
elvisgolfs   Shoots in the 90s [Mar 29, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Pixl L1.8

I've actually owned this putter since 2000, when I won it in a manufacturer's contest, just hadn't hought to review it until now. I play to a 24 hcap but my putting is the one part of my game that far exceeds the rest. I've played with several insert putters, the old TM Nubbins, the Odyssey 2-ball and the new TM Rossa Monza along with the usual collection of off-brands and bulls-eye putters, and this beats them all. Very comfortable at setup, lies very naturally (for me anyway). The real beauty of this stick though is feel and control. This rolls more true putts than any puuter I've tried, and I went from 63% inside of 8 feet to 68%, which is why I feel qualified to write a review on this topic. If you see this putter, buy it!

Customer Service

Not used.

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made Nubbins, Taylor Made Rossa Monza, Odyssey 2-Ball.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
George R   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 20, 2003]
Model Reviewed: L 1.8

Short and sweet - an absolutely great putter that is also a beauty to look at. I read all the reviews and just had to have it. I picked it up in Cincinnati on a business trip and couldn't wait to get home and use it. I putted about 20 putts on the practice green to get the feel and I was ready to go. The first hole I played with this beauty, I drained a 35 footer, uphill. This putter looks great, feels great and performs 10 times better than that ugly Odyssey Two Ball that I gladly sold. The Winn grip is also a nice touch. Try it, you'll like it!!

Similar Products Used: Odyssey Two Ball
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mark   Shoot in the 90s [Aug 16, 2001]

I think this is an amazing club. I'm only fourteen and i've had it for about a year and i can now have great putting. Just today i went golfing and i was rolling 30 footers in to the cup. It was great!

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Billy Hanson   Shoot in the 70s [Oct 19, 2000]
Model Reviewed: L 1.8 Putter

Wonderful putter, feels great, looks great, nice square lines inspire confidence at address... very nicely weighted.

Best feeing putter I've ever used... good enough to make me change for the first time in several years. I've always doubted that insert putters "really made a difference" ...this is the first that has gotten my attention.

Similar Products Used: Odessey, Ping IsoPure, Never Compromise, Scotty Cam etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Chris Burton   Scratch golfer [Oct 10, 2000]
Model Reviewed: L 1.8 (Metal Pixl Prototype)

Wow. Incredible feeling putter.

I was lucky enough to meet the President of the company at a local (Palo Alto) course, and to get my hands on a special Prototype L1.8 with a metal pixl insert. The standard insert features polymer pixls (see http://www.pixlgolf.com for details)

This putter is an awesome combination of the great soft feel of the Odessey/isopure insert putters, and the traditional metalic "Click" sound of the ball coming off the club that we're all used to. This is the beauty of the club. I like the soft feel of other insert putters (Odessey, Ping Isopure etc...) but they sound kind of "fake" ...and not very solid. Most people acknowledge that sound has a great deal to do with feel, "the sound of a "chrisp" iron shot relates to the pure "feel" in your hands... This putter is the first that really gives you this in a putter. The face is actually as soft as the old brass Bulls Eye's yet it sets up very square and solid, L1.8 has a pure satin finish and slant neck and looks a lot like the Cameron Platinum Series slant neck models. ...but FEELS BETTER!

I put it right in my bag and that's saying a lot, my previous putter, a vintage "dale head" Ping Anser had been in my bag for nearly 10 years and is actually older than I am!

I've also rolled a few with the standard Polymer Pixl Models and they feel awesome too (even softer that the metel) but don't feature the awesome click.

Give it a try, at 225 it's a bargain compared with some of the other "Premium materials" jobs out there!

Customer Service

the people at PIXL are awesome, they couldn't be nicer and will set you up with a putter specifically fit to you, length/lie/grip/weight etc...

Similar Products Used: All Ping Models, Cameron, Bulls Eye, Zebra, Mizuno milled, Maxfli Tad Moore (what happend to those anyway)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Victor Vilaplana   Shoot in the 80s [Aug 18, 2000]

Having played a Scotty Cameron putter for the last 4 years, I really felt
that I had the best putter on the market. But after playing just a couple
of rounds with my Pixl L 1.8, I was hooked. The look and feel of the Pixl
has given me confidence over all my putts and I am three-putting
considerably less. I am striking the ball solidly every time, and that is
not something I could say about my Cameron. Now if Pixl only made a driver
that could fix my slice!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Jim Seki   Scratch golfer [Aug 09, 2000]

This Pixl L 1.8 putter is very easy to look at. The lines set up very easily and there is no problem for alignment. When I heard the description of the individual pixls and their greater transfer of energy, I was somewhat skeptical. However, after a few putts with it I was hooked. The most interesting part of the putter is the variations in the compression of the faces. This is a first by far--instead of changing the compression of the ball to fit the club, the club instead is used to fit the ball that you prefer to play with. As soon as I got the putter I began shooting the lowest scores I have ever shot. I was still hitting the ball the same but it was the putts falling that made the difference. The putter took me to a new level of playing ability, cutting a good two strokes off of my game. I urge everyone to try this new technology out. Most of the time when people get new clubs, they play well with them for a while then it starts to drop off, what I like to call "new club syndrome". The Pixl putter is the exception to this rule. The putter is the most reliable club I have in my bag right now. Now how many people can say that? Everyone should definitely try it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Eric Dahlberg   Scratch golfer [Jul 31, 2000]

I play on the golf team at Stanford University, and because of the close proximity of Pixl headquarters (in Palo Alto), we occasionally get the chance to try new stuff that they are working on. When one of my buddies asked me to try the new Pixl putter, I was a bit ambivalent. I tend to stick with the same putter for quite a while, and I was not looking for a new one at the time. I was already sold on the technology. As a matter of fact, I was using the Ping IsoForce (the one with the Pixl insert that is manufactured by the same company) at the time. There was, and still is, no doubt in my mind that the Pixl technology provides an element of forgiveness that is far better than any other putter on the market.

I was also unsure as to whether I would like the plastic insert, as I tend to prefer the feel and click of metal on balata much better than plastic on balata.

However, it did not take long for this putter to earn a spot in the bag. The putter sets up very well - very square to the hole with nice, clean lines. The feel is a nice balance between soft and hard. It is soft enough to provide an aesthetic feel, but not so mushy as to dampen feedback. The Pixl technology gives maximum forgiveness, but the design is classic. This combination of factors makes for an unbeatable putter.

But hey, I was skeptical too. Give it a try. When you see putts going in that didn't go in with your old putter, it will all make sense. Making putts is the bottom line, and Pixl delivers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Emmet   Shoot in the 90s [Jul 31, 2000]

Love the look and feel of this putter. Great craftsmenship and I like the way the putter lines up. Pixel face gives a solid, consistent feel at impact. Awesome.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ming Tsai   Shoot in the 80s [Jul 29, 2000]

The best putter I've ever used, period. The balance is superb, the shape allows for easy alignment and the best is the distance control. The PIXL technology really works. Off-center hits roll up to the hole much better than my two previous putters (TaylorMade Nubbins mallet and Titleist Scotty Cameron mallet). Excellent feel without being too soft (ala the Nubbins). You get the right level of responsiveness from the putterhead. Bottom line - it will get you in or close more often than whatever you're using now.

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made Nubbins mallet, Scotty Cameron Caliente
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com