Teardrop TD Series Putters

TD Series

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
123465   Shoots in the 90s [Feb 09, 2006]
Model Reviewed: td31 w/ roll face

I'd like to start out this review by giving a quick summary of my golf game. I'm about a 19 handicap, usually shoot in the low 90's, occasional rounds in the 80's and 100's. I consider myself average. Putting has always been a stronger aspect of my game. I have had this putter for over 2 years now and have decided to share my thoughts. The putter is a pretty personal club, so what one may like another may hate. Personally, I love this putter. It has a great, crisp feel to it, even compared to the higher priced stuff. The roll face technology really works, and the ball holds its line very well. The distance control is amazing. It is surprisingly forgiving, as well. You can't really mis-hit this putter unless you hit the extreme heel or toe. I carry two putters in my bag; this, and an odyssey dfx 1100 mallet style putter. I stopped using the tear drop at one point, because it doesn't really have any alignment features. However, I was soon back to it. While the odyssey is a good putter, it just doesn't have the feel and control that the tear drop has. Anyway, I'm using the tear drop again. To compensate for the lack of alignment features I painted a white sight line on the back of the putter with white out, and now it's better than ever. The company's no longer around, but you can find one of these on ebay or something for practically nothing. I don't know why this site says that these are $233, cause I only payed like 30 or 40 for mine when it was relatively new. So to sum it up, this is one of the best putters you can buy, especially since its so cheap.

Similar Products Used: odyssey dfx 1100, i've tryed most of the newer putters from ping, taylormade, titleist, odyssey, yes! golf, etc. at stores
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ryan   Shoots in the 70s [Aug 21, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Teardrop TD41

This putter is wonderful. I wanted something without an insert and this delivers. It is easy to lineup and the ball goes where I aim it. It feels so crisp and I have no more toe or heel putts. Get this putter!

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: Odyssey White Hot, Alien Tutch Mallet
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sean C   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 04, 2003]
Model Reviewed: TD-14

Wonderful putter. Feels good coming off the face. The black finish really helps me in aligning the club behind the ball. Once I learn to actually putt and stop leaving myself 50 footers, this putter will cut some strokes off my game I'm sure! I used an insert type putter for a while and it's just hard getting consistant results and feel. Unless I just hit it off the toe or heel, I can expect similar results every time.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
PiKapp23   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 23, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Teardrop TD14

The best putter I've ever used. I bought it used for $30 just to play around with since I wasn't putting well with my Odyssey White Hot #7 and loved it. The ball really does seem to come off the putter truer than off any other putter I've used. I've tried several other putters, but none ever seem produce as true a roll as this putter (except maybe the Rossa). Maybe it's me, but I don't think so.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Odyssey White Hot, Rossa, Ping, Scottie Cameron
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jesus Luison   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 06, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Teardrop TD21

This is my second review for the TD21. This putter is really one of the best putter model i've used. Been using it for the last 8 months and with consistent practice, I've managed to cut 5-6 shots off my handicap. Once on the green, distance control and feel are very good. No more three putts for me... this thing is deadly from less than 5 feet from the pin. Ball rolls true and holds the line very well... no skidding... I also tried the TD17fc (black putter)... also one fine putter which i got for only US$20!!! (Brand new!!!) I will keep it as a back up...just in case.But it is a bit lighter than the TD21... Overall, I'm very happy with both putters and will probabaly use them for my entire golf life... (I'm only 33 and have a 20 handicap... :) Too bad teardrop company is no long around... would recommend these things to everyone!!!

Customer Service

never tried any...

Similar Products Used: Teardrop TD17fc, Cleveland Classic Blade, White hot, Odyssey rossie 1, White hot 1, Taylormade nubbins b11s, etc...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
lqdsnddist   Shoots in the 100s [Feb 04, 2003]
Model Reviewed: td14

was looking into these for a while and found them on clearance at golfsmith for $49.99. These are milled putters that used to sell for $179. The rolled face of them really does give it a nice roll of the face, no skidding at all. I found it more consistant than the insert type putters since the insert seems to have more of a sweet spot and if you dont hit it exact it feels and rolls different. the teardrop has a large hitting area and always gives the same feel and roll. Overall im really happy with it for the money, dont know if its the best putter out there, Trihots felt nice but cost 5 times as much !! At the price i think its one of the best deals going

Customer Service

not sure if the companys in business still

Similar Products Used: ping ansers, never compromise, whitehots, etc. Didnt seem to get any better results with the ones cost 3 to 5 times more money so i just went with the teardrop
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tim   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 10, 2002]
Model Reviewed: TD 17FC

I bought the teardrop because I wanted a putter without an insert. I felt that face inserts gave less predictable results because they have a more active sweetspot. All putters do have a sweetspot due to their weighting. Face inserts just complicate things because now you have to worry about the interface between the plastic and the steel. The FC in TD17FC does not stand for Fred Couples, as many think. It stands for flange cut. It just so happens that Fred Couples used this model for a while. Anyway the putter works great. I've had it for two seasons and it rarely leaves my bag except for when I am playing really fast greens and I switch back to my lighter bulls eye putter.

Similar Products Used: Nubbins, Oddysey, Bulls Eye, Ping, See More
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
jesusluison   Shoots in the 90s [Jul 23, 2002]
Model Reviewed: TD21 Roll Face putter

This putter is one of the best investments i made for my golf game. Really well made and gives true feel / feedback on every putt. Roll face technology really works. Been using it for less than a month and i already stopped three putting. Aim and alignment is simple. Just as good (or even better... ) than other similar putters like the pricey Titleist - Scotty Cameron, Never Compromise, Odyssey white hot, etc... Got this club brand new!!! (Really good and rare find... :) Will be in my golf bag for a very long, long time... Guaranteed to improve your game thru better putting...

Customer Service

Ok. The shop offers good aftersales support for all golf products. Staff are always friendly and accomodating.

Similar Products Used: Cleveland classic, Taylor made nubbins, Odyssey white hot 1, Odyssey rossi 1
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike Ree   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 15, 2002]
Model Reviewed: TD 21

if you want Odyssey? you want to try this, very good, and ease of hitting. Putter takes you where you want to be. I''m getting better result.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used: Ping 2, Alien
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeremy Jerry   Shoot in the 90s [May 09, 2001]
Model Reviewed: TD 17 FC

Great Putter. The ball starts on the green and stays on the green--no bouncing or hopping from contact. Good feel and great looking!!

Similar Products Used: Odyssey Dual Force 668, Never Compromise,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com