Wilson 8802 Putters

Wilson 8802 Putters 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 35  
[Apr 02, 2013]
Pete
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Wilson 8812

I had an early mint leather wrapped 8802 that I couldn't bear to modify being 7 feet tall. I sold it on eBay and picked up my vintage 8812. It's basically the same putter but with a center sight line the 02 lacks. I've got a lot of high end putters that are excellent in their own rights but this has much better feel. I do have a BeNi Ping B60 I use when playing courses with very large greens but that's about it. I should mention that I was once a high 70s low 80s player but health and playing time have brought my game up to about 90. The only thing saving me from complete disaster is this putter. I got a cheap in good shape one that wouldn't hurt my feelings to modify.

It's all about the feel!

Also, note this putter yields better results when struck slightly toward the toe.

Customer Service

Never had to use it.

Similar Products Used:

Anser 2, Anser, B60, Cushin etc.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 26, 2012]
kevin dwyer
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: wilson 8802 putter

wilson 8802 putter mint con never hit I think its very rare because the wilson on the bottom of the putter is in red and the numbers are in black the grip cheaks ok the sticker on the shaft ok all measurements ok just (THE) is in red and all other models iv seen are black can you please help me this please thank you

Customer Service

help me with the model wilson 8802

Similar Products Used:

wilson 8802

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 17, 2010]
troyster
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: wilson 8802

I bought one of these brand new in '97, this was my first of several heel shafted blade putters I owned, also my least favorite. I also have a black cobra greg norman blade, a cleveland "designed by",a little tommy armour blade with a green colored shaft, and my prized posession- a ram wizard 600 sportsman which is an exact replica of Jack Nicklaus' wizard 600. My 8802 had a harder feeling at impact than these other putters,especially the cleveland which is still my favorite to use. Could be I just had a lemon.

Similar Products Used:

the ones I mentioned above plus another one that I cannot remember the brand of.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Oct 06, 2009]
RY Chgo
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Wilson 8802 Putter

I bought a used 8802 for $35. Pristine shape. I've got about 20 putters sitting in the basement, but the 8802 is in my bag every time I play.

...Anyone have an idea on where I can get a Wilson headcover for it? I had to buy a "Yes" cover for now. ...Can't find one on e-bay.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 12, 2009]
herbsewell
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Wilson Tour Special Forged Putter

Bought this putter on ebay for a great price and I have much better feel than I have had in a long time.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 02, 2009]
tysmart
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Wilson 8802

I never had an 8802, but have had a Golden Ram/Tom Watson forged blade. No
glare. Used it for three years until my
CMT stopped me from playing anymore golf.
Great feel with putter. Right to left or left to right putts, this putter made them feel easy to make.
Since I can't play anymore, I am selling all my putters and other clubs.

Similar Products Used:

Ping Anser, Zing, B61

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 26, 2008]
caselaw1
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: 8802 The real original

I consider the real 8802 the best putter of all times. The Robert Mandrella (remake) is the only match for it I have ever tested. Now if only I could have a set of Toney Penna 1963 Vip's or the rare and hard to find Macgregor Penna VIP Centennial model of the 1963 (probably even better. Matched with the 8802 who needs woods.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 13, 2008]
Steve193
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Wilson 8802

Bought it used on eBay for around $80 and couldn't be happier. Once I trimmed it down to 33" and installed a Golfpride Dual Durometer it was pefect.

Great feel and sound. Very smooth when you hit the sweet spot, when you miss you know it. It just looks and feels right. A true classic.

The Wilson 8802 and the Scotty Cameron Studio Design 3.5 are fighting for the putter slot in my bag and right now the 8802 is winning. Why the hell did Wilson stop making them???

Customer Service

Never used.

Similar Products Used:

An old Ram 8802 clone.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 20, 2007]
Joel Peck
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Wilson 8802

This is really a great putter! It is really quite heavy for as small as the head is, and it is all about feel. The only thing bad about it is the fact that the glare off the chrome can KILL you at times.

Customer Service

Never used it.

Similar Products Used:

Never Compromise TPD, Ping Anser

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 23, 2004]
ray_bklyn
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: The Wilson 8802 Vintage

I purchased this vintage putter a while ago and could not use it as it was 35" long. I finally cut it down and "lost" the collectable value of the putter but this putter will be in my bag forever. Combine it will a Precept Laddie and there is nothing more butter in the world. The putter seems to 'know' distances and continues to track to the hole long after you think your putt will die. Try one - today!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 35  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com