Cleveland 900 Form Forged GunMetal Wedges

Cleveland 900 Form Forged GunMetal Wedges 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[May 08, 2013]
BobbyB
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Cleveland 900 56* gun metal wedge

I own three CG15 wedges but got a 900 form forged wedge with a cheap second set of irons i picked up on ebay. Took the new set out and fell in love with the older 900 wedge, was just excellent in terms of feel and versitility - sand, short chips, 90 yards or less pitches. Less offset and thinner top line give it a less chunky, lighter feel which I preferred. Couldnt tell much difference in terms of spin considered the grooves arent lazer milled like the CG15s. Just found myself reaching for it all the time with some really great results. The 56* 900 wierdly has exact same loft as the 52* CG15 so one of them isnt correct, no difference held side to side and this is also the same for how far I could hit them at full swing, maybe Cleveland have reduced the lofts of late? I was really pleased to read excellent reviews of this club after playing with it because it deserves praise - shame they dont make them any more.

Customer Service

N/a

Similar Products Used:

CG15 52 / 48 / 62

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 30, 2007]
mcalllstarrr13
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Cleveland 900 Form Wedges, 56 and 60

These are great wedges, if you have the right swing for them. After having no name wedges, with huge forgiving heads, these are a great upgrade. I was shocked to feel how heavy they felt in my hands. I am a grip and rip type player, and these wedges do not let me do that. They keep me in control and swinging smooth. If not i will hit a little blade/stinger type shot which advances about 10 yards. I have learned to only swing these wedges when I am 100 yards and under. If I try to max a 56 out to 110 (which I can) I just end up missing the green or hitting one of those stinger wedges I was telling you about. Overall Cleveland should be proud about the great product that they have created. Well done!

Customer Service

None Needed

Similar Products Used:

No Name Brand

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 30, 2005]
tom p
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: cleveland 900 gun metal wedge 60 degree

I had never owned a lob wedge prior to this beuty, and thought the extra loft would cause problems. How wrong i was! The gun metal finish really does reduce glare from the sun alot!On pitches around 50 yards and in, BEWARE, this baby can put HUGE masses of check spin on your balls. Full wedge shots now stop dead, first bounce. The wedge is fantastic from bunkers, it really cuts through thin and thick sand and rough with no effort. The most versitlie wedge i have owned. I think that this wedge is a great weapon for any level of golfer. If you can make a half decent swing, the club will reward you nicely. A great feel also, soft as BUTTER! All in all a great wedge for any golfer. Demoe one to see the difference a lob wedge can do to your short game!

Customer Service

none needed

Similar Products Used:

no previous lob wedges

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 08, 2005]
kblakeney35
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Cleveland 900 gunmetal 56*

Great Club! Of course, what were you expecting, a bad review? It's a Cleveland! I tested this side-by-side to the CG10, the 588 RTG, and the 588 genmetal. This just felt the best. It plays so well from wherever you are, if you are in the fairway, it hits nice and high but perfectly straight. I also chip better with this club than with my pitching wedge. I've even chipped in a few times. The only drawback is that it is kind of pricey, I was lucky in that Golfzilla, where I bought it, had a demo that was still in very good shape and were willing to sell it for $50. But I would gladly pay the full price!

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 28, 2005]
progolfer33
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Cleveland 900 Gunmetal 52* + 56*

The best thing about these wedges is the look of them. Even in the higher lofted wedges the look is unparalleled and the finish is very good. In play these wedges have a nice feel and are very versatile of shots around the green. Alos they can be found for a reasonable price. The RRP is £119 each but I got both for £140.

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used:

Titleist Vokey, Callaway Forged +, Mizuno MP-T

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 27, 2005]
chipmasterchip
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: cleveland tour action gunmetal 900 56* wedge

These wedges are excellent. Very accurate around the greens with great feel. They're also relatively forgiving. Great club for any level of player.

Customer Service

haven't used

Similar Products Used:

top-flite wedge

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 21, 2004]
TimmyTaylor
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: 60 degree

This is the first 60 deg wedge I've owned, and shaping up to be the best club I've ever purchased. Couldn't get on with an old 64 deg Hogan wedge I owned (too many shots flew high and landed short i.e. in the bunker, or got thinned through the green), and my Ping G2 sand-wedge just doesn't do it well enough at short range. From 60 yards in, this club is superb, and although it's early days, I've put the ball within putting range of the pin every time so far. You just need to trust to the heaviness of the head and the loft of the club, make an easy swing, and the ball flies high and lands soft.

Customer Service

N/a.

Similar Products Used:

Hogan lob-wedge. Snake-Eyes 58 deg wedge (couldn't get on with it at all - sold it).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 22, 2004]
divotman
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Cleveland 900 gunmetal wedge

I have the 900 gunmetal 56-degree. i love my wedge. it's very easy to set up at adress, and seems perfectly balanced making shots from inside 80-85 yds very accurate for me. the ball comes off nicely with just the right amount of spin. i plan to purchase another Cleveland gap wedge soon.

Customer Service

haven't needed it

Similar Products Used:

Taylor Made point and shoot sand wedge

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 10, 2003]
clordiazepoxide
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: 900 Gunmetal 52* & 58*

Finally decided to upgrade to forged irons this past year - including forged wedges. Was playing Vokey 200 series. Not anymore. Feel is much better. Control is awesome. These impart much more spin to the ball - even out of the rough! Best wedges in golf, by far.

Customer Service

not needed

Similar Products Used:

Titleist Vokey 200 series

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com