Mizuno MP Raw Black Oxide Wedges

Available At:
MP Raw Black Oxide

MP Series RAW Black Ox offers a Tour preferred look and the feel that only comes from a Mizuno forged wedge.

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
jjloans   Shoots in the 70s [Feb 09, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Black OX 50*

Picked this one up at a Play it again for $30, in great shape, hardly any wear on the grooves. I had been looking for a good gap wedge for some time, tried many, many.

This is the best gap wedge I have ever had. I hit it smooth to 110 and can jump on it a little for 120 no problemo... great stick!! I use the good old X-14 irons, so the PW is 125 to 130, and this 50* wedge fits in perfectly. Love the chipping with it too.

I am going to have to get used to the spin, as it spins better when you step on the gas a little than any other wedge I have owned or tried, even my 60* X-Tour Callaway with MD grooves. All of this on a city course. I bet on a good soft bent grass green this thing would make the ball scamper like a sardine with a shark after it!

I am going to try to talk the guy at PIA to trade my Vokey Spin-Milled 56* for his Black Ox 56*, but I doubt if he will do it...

LOVE this wedge!! OUTSTANDING!!

P.S. It DOES chew at the ball a little... so what?

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used: Many. Vokey Spin Milled is 2ND, old Cleveland original 588 gun metal 3rd, Old Nickent gunmetal 4th.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Scott Henderson   Shoots in the 100s [May 01, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MP Raw Black Oxide

Like the shallow guy I am, I bought this club purely based on looks and it certainly doesn't disappoint in that department. Where it needs a bit of help is in that there's too much bounce and once I'd had it ground down sensational. Spins the ball from all sorts of lies and because of the forging process allows for real feel.

Customer Service

Not used. Went to local pro to have ground down

Similar Products Used: Adams, Callaway, Ram, Cleveland
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Luxor   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 17, 2006]
Model Reviewed: MP Black Ox 52 degrees

Bought it two months ago second-hand for about $50, so it was fully worn in. Its got steel true temper shaft and I play in combination with the Titleist nxt (tour) ball.

Several great benifits: 1) great bite/check on the first bounce on normal chip 'n runs and very soft landings on pitches from 60/70 yards out. 2) I hit it very consistant out the fairway, about 100 meters (110 yrds) 3) Looks and feels fantastic, no glare etc. 4) shapewise it fits perfectly with my mx-20 irons 5) Other reviews have suggested that it 'eats/chews at your golfball' which I completely disagree with, especially if you hit it crisply!

Similar Products Used: previously owned a Ram Nikkel Gapwedge (52), but this has a completely different look and weighting than my mizuno irons, which made it nearly impossible for me to hit with any sort of consistancy.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
Stephan   Shoots in the 90s [May 08, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno Mp Raw Black Ox

i went to the local golf store and grabbed a bunch of wedges to try em out ( titelist, tm, mizuno, nike, cleveland, etc) and set them up and blindly grabbed at them.. the mizuno was my favorite... the feel is incredible.. i love the looks of it... i just have confidence in it.. a great club.

Customer Service

no need.

Similar Products Used: listed some above..
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Mizunogolfer   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 23, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Black OX

I wanted to wait awhile to review these and after having them in my bag for a full season last year I can say that I am pleasantly surprised with the Black Ox line of weges and nothing beats the feel of a forged wedge. I purchased two of them slightly used (all for under $45 each) on ebay and found another orpahned at Golf Galaxy. I currently play the 50, 54, and 58 degree models. Not only are they appealing to the eye, but they play just as well. After time, and when the rust sets in, these wedges will really put the spin on just about any ball, unless it's a rock! I basically use the 50 degree to chip with and the control with all three wedges is super. I recommend these for just about any level of golfer who has any type of short game whatsoever. In conclusion, these are oldies but goodies!

Customer Service

I have had conversations with Mizuno via telephone regarding other equipment and they have always been courteous an helpful.

Similar Products Used: Feel Mizuno MP Chrome Nike Forged
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
futurdoc   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 19, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MP Raw Black Oxide Wedge

I picked up a wedge slightly used at a local retailer and love it. I was looking for something to get me that 85 yd distance and settled on a 52 degree, but wanted something that feels like the pitching wedge that I have with my nike pro combos, which I love. I didn't want to struggle too much with a different feeling club...I struggle enough on other parts of my game. Maybe it's due to the fact that I'm only in my second season of play and don't know any better, but I tried the 900 series cleveland, the nike SV, and the titleist wedges and found that I didn't like the feel of a milled wedge. There's something very solid and buttery about the forged wedges that makes scrambling with it a pleasure. I would recommend the wedge to anyone wanting a great feeling club. the only other wedge that I thought felt amazing was the Tiger Woods series wedges by nike (also forged)...but I didn't have the money to get into some of those. I'll be looking for a new sand wedge and will seriously be considering the Mizuno stuff.

Similar Products Used: Cleveland 900 series, Titleist wedges, Nike SV series
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dr. barry   Shoots in the 100s [Jul 13, 2005]
Model Reviewed: mizuno raw black ox 56 low bounce (8)

This is a SUPER wedge! Even better then Cleveland! Backspin is tremendous!! ultra Low bouce of 8 degrees is ideal for cutting under the ball on grass etc. Feel is great!!!!! I am a beginning golfer and have tried some older and newer wedges with high bounce. This Mizuno beats them all. I love this club. Great Mizuno quality. hardstikke goeie wedge man!

Customer Service

Depends on retailer

Similar Products Used: cleveland CG 10 older brands
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dspal32   Shoots in the 90s [Apr 14, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MP series black ox wedge

I bought a 50* gap wedge to fill out my set of Mizuno T-Zoid Sures and I am floored. This is the first forged wedge I have ever bought and it is great. It has taken a while for me to get used to the extra bite I get but that is the best problem I have ever had since I started playing golf. The club is very easy to hit off of any lie and doesn't dig like my old wedge did. I have since ordered the 58/10 sand/lob wedge and can't wait to try it out also. I hate to be so overly optimistic about this club but it is like night and day from my old ones.

Customer Service

Not used

Similar Products Used: Prior wedge was a Macgregor VIP Oversize CB95 (Cast not forged)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
lokn2improve   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 18, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno MP Raw Black Ox Wedges in 52, 56 and 60.

Thsese wedges perform incredibly and display very soft, consistent feel. The rusting effect that they come with starts to show by the second time you go out, and it improves the feel and spin and at the same time gives you a feeling like you´ve owned them for years. I don´t know what the big deal is with Cleveland wedges, I played the 900 series and I found that they were soft, but a bit inconsistent. I would put the MP wedges to the test with vokeys or Clevelands any day of the week. I would recommend these to anybody that is looking to improve in the scoring zone and understands the benefits of a solid short game. Where as before I would have considered my short game a problem are, I now make almost every up and down I encounter and am even getting good with flop shots. Test them, I am positive you´ll add them to your bag. I am honestly suprised that Mizuno isn´t more popular. In my opinion (and I have done lots of research) they make some of the best value golf equipment around.

Customer Service

Excellent... they hook you up with what is best for your needs and respond quickly.

Similar Products Used: Cleveland 900 series, Taylor Made RAC wedges (yuck!) and Titleist Vokey Oil Can (Very good wedges too)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Golfer1984   Shoots in the 70s [Oct 04, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Mizuno Black Ox 52' 56' wedges

These wedges are rediculously soft around the greens and provide incredible spin when needed. The large sole should help higher handicappers having trouble with hitting fat shots, as i found it is much more difficult to bury these in the ground as would a club with a smaller sole. Overall great wedges, i place them above my vokey wedges which i retired. They give a nice crisp feeling on impact.

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used: titleist vokey
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com