Snake Eyes Tour Quality Wedges

Snake Eyes Tour Quality Wedges 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 49  
[Apr 14, 2016]
James
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: EV Original #11

The "EV" Line was hand made by Ernie Vadersen back in the mid 80's for the Tour Pros. Then the "Snake Eyes" name was sold to Golfsmith and those models are nothing like the originals. The original wedges are some of the best ever made. Perfect balance regardless of swing length from the sand or around the greens. Plays like a weak pitching wedge from the fairway. Very little bounce, very precise with that soft forged feeling. I bought the originals #10 and #11 and still play them today. None of todays wedges have the head mass or the swing weight like the EV's. Closest thing I found was the Vokey line with about 3 strips of lead tape to get a similar feel. After 30 years of play, the first couple of grooves are almost gone on my #11 so I will be looking for a replacement soon. My first stop is to try and find another EV #11 with good grooves....anyone?

Similar Products Used:

EV Original #10

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 09, 2005]
Will Mac
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Snake Eyes EV 52, 56, 58

As a previous reviewer stated, if you like the Golfsmith version of the Snake Eyes wedges you just HAVE TO TRY THE ORIGINAL "EV." I bought a Golfsmith version Snake Eyes a couple of years ago. It was through Golfsmith, a 52* GW with Dynamic Gold S300 shaft. Nice wedge, fairly solid performer in all aspects. Just a little too light for my tastes. I dropped it soon after for the Titleist Vokey line of wedges. Then, out of curiousity, I picked up an original EV SW on ebay for about $40, in near-new condition still with the original $199 sticker on it. In a word, AWESOME. VERY solid. I quickly grabbed an EV GW and LW (plan to bend the LW to 60*) on ebay. The only mods I made was to slap on my preferred grip, the GP V-50 full-cord. Super solid feel and great heft, the heaviest wedges I've ever used. The swing seems to track itself due to the weight alone. I played them for the entire 2004 season (the LW on and off, until I get it bent), close to 40 rounds. These wedges are a completely different animal from the Golfsmith version. And for the price that they can be had on ebay, EVERYONE that likes the original simply must give these a try. They're quality through and through. I consider myself lucky to have stumbled upon them. You simply will not be disappointed, try 'em out.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

Golfsmith's Snake Eyes, Titleist Vokey, Cobra Trusty Rusty, Cleveland 588 & 900.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 21, 2004]
rsyutzy
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: 600w 52&56 forged wedges

What awesome equipment! Usually my short game (80 yds in) is what kills my score but since I've had these wedges my short game has improved tremendously. I'm now getting the ball close enough to the hole to be able to 1 putt. These wedges have a great feel to them and I now have confidence in my short game that I never had before! I've never tried the Cleveland or Titleist wedges but I can't imagine them being any better than these! Plus you can get them custom built at Golfsmith for $20 cheaper than you'll pay for the others and the quality is just as high if not better..trust me!

Customer Service

had these custom built through Divotmasters.com great service so far

Similar Products Used:

armour 855 wedges,pinseeker wedges..why did I wait so long to get performance wedges!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 29, 2004]
bam_man
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Original Snake Eyes EV #10

To all you guys out there raving about the Golfsmith version of the Snake Eyes wedges -- 'If you think those are good, you should try the originals!!' All I can say is WOW! I got the EV #10 50 degree gap wedge slightly used on ebay for $24.99. It is by far the best scoring club I have ever laid my hands on. The feel, consistency, accuracy and versatility are all unbelievable. The swingweight is something like D8 (with no lead tape or tungsten hosel insert) which makes it very, very stable at impact. After hitting half a dozen balls with this club, I could tell why they originally went for $199 each and were worth every penny. I urge anybody out there if you get the chance to own one of these to jump on it. Even if you can't find one in good condition, you can always have it re-chromed and re-grooved at The Iron Factory for about $30 and it's as good or better than new. In my book, there is nothing on the market today at ANY price that can compare quality-wise with the Snake Eyes EV originals.

Customer Service

N/A.

Similar Products Used:

Hogan 5010 Fairway - a VERY good wedge in its own right, but it's in the closet now.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 29, 2003]
the celt
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: 5040 rust face 51 degree

What can you say, but this wedge replaced my 52 degree cleveland 900 gunmetal. I biult this wedge myself, and swingweighted it to match my sand wedge. Great feel, spin, and it ONLY cost $47. Next up will be my new 5040 wedge to replace my 56 degree cleveland 900 sand wedge!!!

Customer Service

great

Similar Products Used:

name them all!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 17, 2003]
p8golf
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: forged (black)

what else is there to say? snake eyes has one of the top wedges out there...period. the only advice i can give (besides buy one), is that my black one got a small chip in the finish the 1st time i used it. chrome might be tougher, then again i might have just hit a pebble in the ground or something. great feel and touch, ive been holeing chips on a fairly regular basis. if youre looking for a wedge, buy a forged snake eyes, cleveland or titleist.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used:

cleveland, titleist

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 06, 2003]
Manny
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Snake Eyes 5040 60d wedge

I built a 60 lob wedge with a Rust face and it is the best wedge I have in the bag. This club has an excellent feel, very soft and responsive. I can get about 100 yds and the ball will just drop on the green and not run away. The ball can spin as required and the feel is excellent, I am playing better compared to my old Titleist LW. I will be building a sand wedge later on to complement my set. Even one of my friends want me to build him one, as he is retiering his new Hogan.

Customer Service

The first salesman was not up to speed with the product but the second one was very helpfull even discussing the shaft I was going to use.

Similar Products Used:

Titleist & Cleveland

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 20, 2003]
Shannon
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Snake Eyes Black Chrome 52 & 56

I just got these two wedges and I have never used anything as good around the green for those delicate little shots. They have fairly small, light heads that are like a scalpel around the green! I haven't had as much success with the full swing. Both clubs seem a little short, distance wise and the 52* gap wedge is not enought longer than the 56* sand wedge to justify keeping both in the bag.

Similar Products Used:

Original Ping Sand Wedge, MacGregor wedges (48* & 60*)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 08, 2003]
Ron
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Tour Design Rust Face #10 & #11

I played my 1st round yesterday with these after several trips to the range, and was very pleased. I had them built with the Rifle Spinner wedge shafts (5.5) at 1/2" over. They feel awesome when struck well, and instill confidence at address. Drop-dead accuracy from 75 yards with the 55 degree left me a couple easy 1-putts. The claim that the variable bounce makes it easy to open the face and flop it without skulling it is absolutely true. Versatile and effective on a variety of pitch and chip shots (my iron play gives me the opportunity to try lots of different uwedge shots around the green.) The 51 is a perfect gap wedge for me allowing for a full swing from 100-115 instead of choking down on a PW. As deadly accurate as the 55. I highly recommend giving these a look before paying double for a cast Vokey or a Cleveland.

Customer Service

Bill Adams was responsive and easy to work with. Workmanship was first rate.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 30, 2003]
VVM3
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Snake Eyes #11

Had the original #11 model for awhile bought second hand. Let a friend try it and he fell in love with it. I sold it to him for what I had in it. Missed it after awhile and bought a new one. My favorite club out of the sand. You can get them close with this stick. I can't hit it far on approaches as it seems to come out soft and high. Reserve it for sand use mostly. I have another sand wedge that I use as my gap or approach wedge. The look is classic. These irons wear in with time as the chrome is pretty thin on these. Still the best feel for me.

Customer Service

Not used.

Similar Products Used:

Izzo 52 deg. gap , Tom Watson Troon wedge (ugh), carbite, Viper Bite me wedge

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 49  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com