Solus Golf Solus 56 Wedges

Solus 56

The Solus 56 utility wedge replaces the conventional sand wedge for all players - regardless of what type/texture of sand you encounter. Generally this club will play about 85-95 yards for average players and is most suitable for short game situations requiring intermediate spin and trajectory requirements. Greenside bunker explosion shots are a delight.

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Dan   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 11, 2012]
Model Reviewed: 56 degree

Love the club, I hit it 85 yards and for the most part right at the pin. It lands softly and sticks.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
M. R. Clag   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 15, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Solus 4.1 wedge

As a physicist by day and a garage club tinkerer by evening, I think the Solus Golf people are addressing several needs.

Visually the 4.1 model wedges set up to the ball well, and the clubs' finishes are glare resistant. The grooves and millings are sharp. The steel shafts and plain hosel ferrules do work in concert to keep the visuals "quiet." The clubs set up as a pro's business instruments -- all business, no flash.

On the original models the long, minimally-tapered Winn grip was superior to the 2009 Golf Pride DD2 grip because one could choke down easier. Howver, the DD2 is top-of-the-line in 2009, so the grips are still a positive compared to their competition.

The wedge is a firm turf, firm sand design when played normally. One can expose 18-degree bounce by opening the clubface, which allows the club to work well in soft sand or flop situations. The heel area is relieved, allowing the leading edge not to be raised as much as conventional wedges when the face is fanned open.

So the club, shot planning, and execution must be in sync. Hold it square in mush and it will dig in. Open the blade on an uphill bunker explosion and prepare to power the ball over the green. But square the face on tight grass or firm sand and be rewarded. Fan it open on soft, sugar sand and save par.

A player's club, but it is excellent for anyone setting out to intelligently improve his/her short game. Solus wedges will not hold you back!

Customer Service

I bought one, liked it. Won a large gift certficate at a tournament, and purchased three more lofts and teaching CD. Still pleased, I sought out and won the last two lofts on ebay. Have talked with Solus, and found them informed and helpful, not just marketers. I own 4.1 models: 47, 51, 53, 56, 59, 61.

Similar Products Used: Titleist DCI, Cleveland 797 and 900 (best of the rest), PureSpin, Wilson Harmonized, Callaway Forged+ Vintage
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
twhyla   Scratch Golfer [Feb 10, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Solus wedges series 4.1

Excellent wedges. Versatile. Can play all the shots with these, lobs, pitches, chips and bunker shots.
Feel different to other wedges, more crisp instead of smooth. You have to hit these good otherwise it feels harsh (blade is very thin all around). However, hit these good and they are second to none.
Cost is similar to other brands but not available in all stores. Highly recommend these clubs to better players. Not forgiving enough for beginners.

Customer Service

Bought these wedges directly from Solus web site (after trying them in store, cheaper this way). Fast shipping and came with a free tips dvd.

Similar Products Used: Titleist Vokey, Callaway, Cleveland, nike
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Gary Goetz   Scratch Golfer [Jul 17, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Solus RD 4.1 51* & 56*

I never thought I'd switch from Cleveland wedges until now.These are by far the best wedges I've ever played.They have a very soft feel and produce a ton of spin.First time out I pitch in for an eagle on a par 5 using the 56*.I don't leave very many reviews but after using these I had to let every one know how good these wedges are.They are very easy to use and work great from 90yds in.I don't understand why more people don't use them.

Customer Service

Never used.

Similar Products Used: Cleveland
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
nbo   Shoots in the 70s [Aug 29, 2007]
Model Reviewed: solus 56

I write reviews here because i read reviews on this site before I buy the golf clubs,the reviews are helpful so I just want to give back. After reading the Solus reviews, I bought a 3 pc set on GolfClubExchange for $170, 51,56&61 degrees, RD4.1series.I used to play Cleveland then switched to Vokey Oilcans 56 &60 wedges. At first,my shots with the Solus clubs seems to go right,but after 2 rounds of playing w/them, i am now dead on target.Shots have a lot of spin on them,even on high rough and sand.Pitches and chips are always a gimme.Just like what the other reviewer said,of course you must already have and know the proper techniques of the shortgame,but these clubs are for real and can really help.

Customer Service

not used

Similar Products Used: cleveland,vokey,purespin
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Rick   Scratch Golfer [Jul 22, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Solus 7.1

I have been a slow adopter of golf technologies. My game has been built around feel and rhythm. A few weeks ago I observed a gentlemen hitting short chip shots out of deep rough with a great deal of spin. This is not an easer shot. What caught my attention, he appeared to be a mid 80's players. I asked him how he was able to stop the ball out of the deep rough and he said its my new Solus 61 Wedge. He encouraged me to try a few shots out of the deep rough. I was shocked at the balance, control and spin it generated. At the time i did not even understand the crescent technology advantage. I decided to buy one as i was not in love with my cleveland 60. I found Solus had a 7.1 model which really fit my eye and bought it last week. I practiced with the club for 2 hours before putting in in bag. The club is superior in feel and control over my Cleveland. It provides more flexiblity allowing one to use it from a tight lie or bunker. This is not an infomercial posting. I played with my regular group last Wednesday. On the back 9 i struggled tee to green hitting only 4 greens.. I got up and down on the other 5 using the Solus. In fact i chipped in on 17 from the deep rough. I do not believe Solus or any club will lower your score if you do not already have the right technique. My recommendation is for anyone who has a good or great short game to get a solus in your hands. Try it from a variety of places and share you story. I just bought the 56 today and shared the clubs with a few other good players. Both gave the same response i did........the feel and performance were better than there titliest wedges. Good luck.......Rick Miami Fl

Similar Products Used: Cleveland and Titleist
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Barry Munro   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 15, 2006]
Model Reviewed: solus 56 degree wedge

I also think Solus has found something different and important. I bought the 56 degree and found I felt more confident and in control regardless of the lie. There is something about the way the shaft and hosel meets the blade that makes it easier to pick the ball off the grass. Went back and got the 51 degree and feel the same. When I found my MP30 Mizuno clubs I feel in love. Feel the same way about these wedges. To each his own but I own these.

Customer Service

Bought it at Edwin Watts and PGA superstore

Similar Products Used: used mizuno wedges and tried the 56 degree F2 wedge. These were good and the F2 has merit but I like the look feel and design of the solus wedges
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Steve   Shoots in the 70s [May 04, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Solus Wedges

I've used the three (51, 56 and 61 degree) Solus wedges for several months. Best wedges I've ever used from tight lies. Open up the face, and they great from greenside bunkers. Anyone want to buy my old Cleveland wedges?

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
Belly   Shoots in the 80s [Mar 19, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Solus 56

Just another gimmick club. Stick with brands that are tried and true. This club has a heavy price for what you get.
Much better clubs in this price range.

Customer Service

sent wrong club first time, took additional 3 weeks and a bunch of hassal to get what I paid for.

Similar Products Used: Titleist, Cleveland
OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
1
PeterK   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 04, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Solus 56 degree wedge

Purchased this wedge last week and made three trips to the practice range prior to putting it into official use. Used this club nine times in my Tuesday round and stopped the ball on the green eight times. Nice to actually make use of my green repair tool. Very easy to line up , and even easier to follow through and watch the ball fly. So nice to hit a green and watch the ball spin back. With a full swing , I found myself in complete control up to the 100 yard range. To-day I went out and purchased the 61 degree Solus wedge. I did a lot of research prior to buying these clubs. I believe Solus has indeed discovered something new about pitching a golf ball at a target. Finally I'm getting excited about improving my short game.

Similar Products Used: Taylor Made, sand and gap wedge.Lovett standard wedge.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com