Titleist Vokey Design Spin SM60.08 Wedges

Vokey Design Spin SM60.08

A slightly wider sole lob wedge with 60° of loft and 8° of bounce. The sole is fuller across the toe and heel with increased bounce for playability from deep grass or sand. Excellent wedge in soft conditions.

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
firedude101   Shoots in the 80s [May 10, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Titleist Vokey Design Spin SM60.08

The best lob wedge that I have ever used. I love the spin and check that I put on the ball. It really helps with those shots from 75 yards and in.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
golftitus   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 05, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Titleist Vokey SpinMill 54-10&60-8

Well, I thought cleveland wedges were nice, but they seemed inconsistent for me with chip shots and out of the sand. The ball never seemed to check up. So I decided to try the 60 lob wedge as my sand game was pathetic last year. Best decision of my life. I take a nice easy swing and the ball always comes out of the sand and stops on the green. Loved the 60 so much I decided to get a 54-10 for chip shots around the green when I need to get it up quickly and make the ball stop and it works great too. The only thing I need to get used to is how quick the ball stops with chip shots as I got used to the cleveland wedges where the ball would release and roll. My game has improved with these two clubs now that I can get up and down so easily. Now I just need to know what to do with these cleveland wedges, garage sale?

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Cleveland RTG 588 49,53,56 and chrome 588 60. Chrome is horrible, sun light would blind me.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
sgrubb359   Shoots in the 70s [Aug 10, 2008]
Model Reviewed: 60 spin milled

I am 12 year old and a 5 handicap this club is amazing the spin you get is great specially out the bunker and the nice fairways great club from titleist

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
madsolsen   Shoots in the 80s [Oct 16, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Titleist Vokey Spin Milled 60*08

In my opninion this is the best wedge you can get. No matter what lie you are in you can get it to spin. I love mine from the sand. If you got the money i can highly recomend it. Really nice feel and balance.

Similar Products Used: Pro Series. and alot of trys in the local proshop with trackman.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jack   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 02, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Vokey SM60.08

I bought a vokey spin milled 60.08 2 weeks ago and have only had 3 chances to play with it. From what I have seen, the vokey spin milled only works well with a premium, soft cover golf ball and it seems it only uses the full potential with Titleist, Callaway, Bridgestone or Hogan (or other soft cover balls), as the special grooves are not used as efficiently. Full swings are good (not great, because of the heavy weighting). Touchy flops and chips are excellent, out of deep rough or tight cuts. My first pitch with this club was from about 40m, I struck it solidly, saw it bounce right on the hole and then spun back 6 feet short.

Also, i played another shot over a ridge with front pin and was able to spin the ball back down the ridge, next to the cup. What a great Club!!

Customer Service

Just hit balls at Drummond golf in nets.

Similar Products Used: Brother uses callaway x-tour, they have softer feel but no where near as good spin
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Canadian3131   Shoots in the 70s [May 30, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Vokey SM 60.08

I will set this review up for someone who is thinking about buying a wedge because who else reads these things.

First of all, even though I do have this wedge, I won't say that you HAVE to buy this one because IT IS THE BEST EVER. Wedges in particular are about feel, and this usually comes down to bounce and loft. (And let me tell you, I've had a few headaches getting the bounce and loft correct.) The point is, try out as many as you can.

About this wedge, I opted for the 8 degrees of bounce because I wanted something that would compliment a fairly strong sand wedge. If you have 56 degree, I would highly recommend checking out the 60.04. The trajectory of the 60.08 (as with most higher bounce wedges) is lower. I am still somewhat shocked at how relatively low this clubs flights the ball.

Out of the sand, this is EASILY the best wedge I have ever had. I don't know why, it just is. And getting the ball to check on half shots and pitchs, etc, is a breeze. It is true what people say, however- get ready to lose some Pro-V1's to scuffing.

Lastly, the jury is still out on this 'Spin-Milled' version. I have the 50.08 and 55.11 (bent from 54.10) in the regular 200 series chrome. The spin very well from full shots. I haven't tried the 60 degree in non-SM, but I suspect you'd be ok with it. My problem is that I expect this spin-milled face to work miracles around the green, and I often play shots that are downright stupid because of it. That being said, I have been able to hit some pretty ridiculous shots with it, especially from the rough, that have wow-ed my playing partners.

Bottom line- very cool club (all vokeys are)... but try all clubs and, ABOVE ALL, make sure you know which bounces and lofts are right for you- BEFORE YOU BUY!

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used: Callaway X-Tour, Cleveland 588, Taylor Made RAC
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
bucsgolf14   Scratch Golfer [Aug 16, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Titleist Vokey Spin Milled 60 08

This is a great addition to the Vokey line of wedges by Titleist. 1) Where this club really shines is on those chips from the fairway with a tight pin. The ball checks up so nicely then just rolls towards the cup. 2) Its a little smaller than my older Titleist 60 08, so I am still practicing with it to get used to it. I haven't noticed any 80% spin increase out of lies from the rough, although the rough around my course is pretty thick. That is still to be tested. Out of the sand, it is as great as my old club.

Overall, this wedge is awesome, and gives me even more confidence in hitting the shots I need to in order to win. It just plain ole' feels cool when you rub it, too!

Customer Service

What's in the bag?

Taylormade R580 9.5
Taylormade Supersteel 15 degree Steel
Taylormade V-Steel 18 degree Steel
Mizuno MP-33 (3-PW)
Titleist Vokey 52
Titleist Vokey Spin Milled 60 08

Similar Products Used: Titleist Vokey Wedge line
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
jjloans   Shoots in the 70s [Aug 16, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Spin milled 56* and 60*

Best wedges I ever hit, and I have hit them all. Balance, feel, spin, head weight, accuracy. Gave up my RAC Satins for these, they were good, these are better by a ways....

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used: Everythiiiiing
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ASG6676   Shoots in the 80s [Nov 09, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Titleist Vokey SM 60.08

Awesome spin, great feel.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Reefsta   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 13, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Vokey Spin Milled 60.08 wedge

I got the SM60.08 wedge with 60°loft and 8° bounce. On the first shot i hit with the wedge justified my purchase. Out of a bunker and 1 foot away from the cup. Easy to play out of the sand and rough. It is just excellent on half shots, the ball just drops and stops, with even a bit of backspin. After playing a few shots with it, just picking it out of your bag gives you confidence to play your shots. A bit pricey but i'll be winning more often with pitch shots that i'll be making with this wedge.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com