Bushnell Pinseeker 1500 Tournament Edition Accessories

Pinseeker 1500 Tournament Edition

Now legal for tournament play and posting of scores for handicap purposes! The Pinseeker 1500 is accurate to +/- one yard from 5 to 1,500 yards away and will range directly to the flag, not objects behind it.

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
isotope1024   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 13, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Model 1500 Pinseeker Edition

This is the one to buy. The money spent is well worth it when you consider the reliability of the measurement. Played with one guy who had a cheaper laser rangefinder and he asked me if I could figure how to make it work. It turns out that in order to get a measurement, you had to hold it perfectly still, which was practically inpossible even without any wind. If the magnification level isn't at least 6X you will have problems. In my mind if the rangefinder doesn't include technology that excludes all obstacles except for flags it's going to take too long(in that case you may be better off with a GPS). However, if you concern is distances to the flag, then this is the one for you!

Customer Service

none required yet!

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
smokehouse   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 07, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Bushnell Pinseeker 1500

One of the best investments you can make if you are willing to take the time to learn how far you hit each club in your bag. I'd suggest going to the range with a friend and have them spot each shot you hit then record the distance. Once you've learned how far you hit each club this device can be invaluable. Much better than the satellite based range finders in my opinion. Make sure to get the carry case that attaches to your bag, and then it only takes about 5 seconds to get your distance to the pin or whatever landmark you're referencing. A little pricey at $400, but you get what you pay for. The less expensive models are basically worthless on distances over 100 yards. My first range finder was the sport model, which I think cost about $150. Fortunately I was able to trade it in toward the purchase of the 1500 model.

Customer Service

Never used.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
cplgumby   Shoots in the 80s [May 19, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Bushnell 1500 Pinseeker (no slope)

This weekend I golfed 4 courses and took out the Pinseeker and the Golf Logix. Still hard to make a decision.

Pinseeker was extremely valuable to give distances when GPS cart couldn't get to the ball. Great to use when <100 yards out, helped a lot. The only disadvantage I found was that it wasn't convenient. By that I mean I had to take it out of the case, lase the target and put it back in the case as compared to the golflogix where you just take the unit off your belt. Golf Logix also allowed you to measure your shots.

Very expensive to purchase but it does help you find correct yardage which allows you to shoot the right club and score better.

An advantage is no subscription and it works on every course. The Golf logix was only set up for 1 of the 3 courses (Same as SkyCaddie)

The price prevents it from being a value of 5 and the inconvenience affected my Overall rating.

Customer Service

Bought at GolfTown

Similar Products Used: Golf Logix GPS unit
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Shane   Shoots in the 70s [Oct 26, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Pinseeker 1500 Tourn Edition

This rangefinder is awesome. You will be amazed at how inaccurate some of the course markers are. Often times you need more than a distance to the middle of the green. This will get you exact distances with a quick click. I have not had any issues with picking up false readings or limp flags as I have heard with other models. It is quite expensive, but it is well worth it.

Customer Service

Not used

Similar Products Used: Sky Caddie - cannot get distance to flag
Yardage Pro - very inaccurate and unsteady
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
haywardwisc   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 09, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Bushnell Pinseeker Model 1500

I first used the rangefinder on a two week vacation where I golfed everyday at the Hayward (Wisconsin) Golf & Tennis Club. This is a great (albeit expensive) tool for the serious golfer.

I had no problem getting distances to flags up to 250 yards (using the pinseeker mode which zeroes in a flag while ignoring, say, trees in the background). There was also no problem getting distances to things you'd like to avoid like trees, traps, ponds, etc.

I believe the unit delivers the +/- one yard accuracy it promises as several times I obtained a distance, walked away, and then reshot the distance - with the second yardage always coming within one yard of the first reading.

The unit is light, fits nicely in the hand, and I had no problems getting a distance even though I don't have the steady hands of a surgeon. It is also fast as the time to remove it from the carrying case, shoot the distance and return it to the case is less than 10 seconds. I would recommend getting the optional $20 carrying case, however, as it has straps to secure it to your bag.

If you are willing to invest $420 + tax to your game ($400 for the rangefinder + $20 more for the case) I think your game will see some improvement.

Customer Service

The rangefinder was purchased from Golfsmith and they promptly mailed me a new owner's manual. (The manual which came with the unit had missing pages.)

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Kevin   Shoots in the 70s [May 18, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Bushnell 1500 pinseeker tournament edition

Awesome product..
Very easy to use and seems to be spot on for yardage.
You will be surprised about what you thought the actual yardage was from angles.

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used: GPS
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Norge   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 27, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Pinseeker 1500 w/slope

I researched extensively on rangefinders in the winter season. I really found conflicting opinions on models, cost, usefulness which made my decision very difficult. On the advice of a very trusted rep at Golftown (Canada's version of Golf Galaxy) who recommended the Pinseeker 1500 with slope (I'm not a pro), I can honestly say I am 100% satisfied. What a difference! Nearly exact yardages, confidence in club selection, and getting back to having fun and not worrying about pacing off distance. I've played 5 rounds with this "finder" and am very pleased with it's results. Very easy to use and the pinseeker technology really does work.
However, the only drawback is it's price. It can hurt the wallet but in the world of golf equipment, where a new driver can be upwards of $500 it's not that out of limits. I could have replaced my Taylor R7 Quad but chose the Pinseeker. Previous reviewers are absolutely correct, pay the extra, you won't be disappointed. Buy cheap, and get what you pay for.
I also found that determinng exact distances with each club in your bag was a snap at the range. Knowing what your clubs average is essential but check your ego at the door when you really find out what your average carry is.
Highly recommended product. I'd love to give 5's but the price is a little high for value.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
blaaad   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 26, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Bushnell Pinseeker 1500 Tournament Edition

Awesome tool that will definetly improve your scores. Very easy to lock in on a flag, bunker, treee, whatever. Sometimes I have to shoot my target twice to ensure proper club selection, but most of the time, I have no problem with getting accurate yardages.

A little pricey at $400, but worth the money if you want to improve your game AND speed up your play.

Approved for establishing a handicap.

Customer Service

Not Needed

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
earlka   Shoots in the 70s [Jul 13, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Bushnell Pinseeker 1500 Tournament Edition

I recently sold my original Bushnell Yardage Pro 400 because I continued to have trouble shooting accurate distances in a timely manner during my round. I decided to give the Pinseeker 1500 a try---WOW!! This thing is amazing. I can literally just point, press the button, and have my distances immediately on flagsticks on any par 5 I play on. The pinseeker mode means no more trying to center the flagstick inside the little square of the viewfinder in hopes of not getting distances to the trees behind the green. Since the USGA made these things legal, I will always have one in/one my bag. The unit is rather expensive at $400, but if you're going to invest in a rangefinder, go for the top of the line and you won't be dissapointed.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Gildas   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 19, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Pineseeker 1500

I bought it 2 weeks ago (though a little bit expensive here in France) and since I use it on every course.
Very reliable and accurate, it gives you lot of confidence especially for shots under 170 yards.
I recommend this product to all golfers. Even my pro is eager to get it.

Customer Service

So far so good.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com