Ram Ram Tour Balata LB Balls

Ram Ram Tour Balata LB Balls 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 15  
[Oct 24, 2003]
JS
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Ram Tour Balata LB Golf Balls

The Ram Tour LB is a 90 compression ball that provides what I think is a really nice feel off the club and very nice overall performance on the course. Combine that with the price (of about 55 cents a ball), and the Ram Tour Balata LB becomes a real find. I've tried Stratas, Nikes, Callaway HX Red and Blue, Titleist NXT, Top Flite Tour, Wilson True, Maxfli, Pinnacle Gold and their Power Core brand, but always seem to return to the Ram Tour. The Ram Tour Balata's distance is always comparable to the best, the Rams are longer than most and only shorter by a few feet to others, and provides very comparable performace on the green. Stops surprisingly well. The Ram Tour Balata LB could turn out to be my only ball.

Similar Products Used:

Stratas, Nikes, Callaway HX Red and Blue, Titleist NXT, Top Flite Tour and XL 2000 & 3000, Wilson True, Maxfli, Pinnacle Gold and Pinnacle Power Core

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 04, 2003]
mr_sooty
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Ram Tour Balata LB

I wrote a review on this ball about 9 months ago, and I'm still using it. I'm onto my third box and I still think it's the best bang for the buck out there. I wrote in my last review that it was the softest ball I had played. Now that I have a bit more experience with other products, I can clarify that it's not soft like some other balls, Strata Tour Pro for instance. It doesn't have that soft dull cover that some of those other balls do. It has a lively feel and makes a reassuring click off the putter. Someone else said that it's not a true balata, which probably explains this. But it has a soft core and a low compression, and I love the feel of it. It's lively and responsive. It putts well, it's easy to stop on greens, and it gives you a nice level of spin control without being overly unforgiving. it's not a distance ball as such, but it goes long enough for me, and I'm not a particularly big hitter. My handicap has come down 10 shots since my last review (which probably has nothing to do with the ball) and I still love it. It's dirt cheap and I always go to it when I'm playing a tounament or whatever. Highly recomended!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 19, 2003]
VVM3
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Ram Tour Balata LB

This a great ball for the money. Fairly cheap if you can find them. Just a two piece ball with good spin and decent distance. There are longer balls out there than this one, but if you are looking for good control and stopping power on the green, this ball will fit the bill. I have stuck them close to the flag using this ball on closest to the pin holes in our golf league. This ball has good durability. Even though it says balata, your not getting the same feel as a Maxfli Tour balata ball for example. Not as soft because its a two piece ball with a synthetic balata blend. I don't think there is a better ball for the few bucks these cost. I have these as my back up ball and primarily play strata's and precepts, but use these as well.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

Precept MC Distance, Pinnacle, Titleist DT 90, Strata Tour Ultimate, Wilson Staff Titanium, Wilson Smartcore professional distance.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 29, 2003]
mr_sooty
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Ram Tour Balata LB

Bought these because they were dirt cheap at $19.95 NZ a dozen (about $10 US). To give you a comparrison, Titleist Pro V1*'s cost a little over $100 NZ a dozen. I haven't played a Balata before because I am a high handicapper and I've only been playing a year and a half, but I like a soft feel and some greenside control. This ball gives me all that. They are the softest ball I've played, and an absolute joy to putt with. I think distance is over-rated in balls, but these seem to go as far as anything else. The durability is good too. I used to use the Macgregor DX, which is another nice soft ball, but it cuts up real quick, not lasting much more than one round. The Rams don't cut up half as much. Good spin too, and they stop well. Highly recommended if you can get them as cheap as I did.

Customer Service

The Warehouse is a discount store that often 'parallel imports' products which is why they're so cheap. This means they take all the responsibilty for customer service and you don't deal with the manufacturer. I haven't had any problems with these balls anyway.

Similar Products Used:

Macgregor DX, Top Flite XL2000 (not bad for Top Flite), Titleist Distance SF, Maxfli Noodle.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 18, 2002]
GGS
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Ram Tour Balata LB

AWESOME BALL! The best performing ball I have ever played PERIOD. Excellent feel around the green, good distance, and it stops on a dime! All for 7 bucks 7 BUCKS! THESE DESERVE 6 STARS.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 19, 2002]
butch7
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Ram Tour Balata LB

Bought these balls on sale just because they were so cheap and the Ram name. Best ball I've used in the five years I've been playing golf. Feel and controlled ball flight is most noticeable. Distance is not long but good enough to stay within a few yards of my golfing buddies.

Customer Service

Not Used

Similar Products Used:

Strata Balata

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 20, 2001]
Chuck Watts
Shoot in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Ram tour balata lb

I Have played many distance & control balls.These balls offer a good compromise of distance & spin.However were they leap ahead of other balls is in the feel they give you on & around the green. When I am playing for keeps I always use the Ram Balata LB.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 20, 2001]
robert moody
Shoot in the 80s

a decent ball. not as long as other distance balls but not bad. does not spin as much as a maxfli revolution or maxfli xs tour, not as soft either but better than dunlop titaniums,maxfli maxdistance and pinnacle titaniums. good ball for golfers on a budget like me.

Similar Products Used:

tons of similar priced balls

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 21, 2001]
MARK COHEN
Shoot in the 80s
Model Reviewed: RAM TOUR LB

I LOVE PLAYING THE RAM TOUR..ITS LONG AND PUTTS WELL..AND IM THE ONLY OTHER GUY USING SUCH A GREAT BALL!!!!!

Customer Service

VERY GOOD PEOPLE

Similar Products Used:

Maxfli, Titilest prestige

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 03, 2000]
John
Shoot in the 70s
Model Reviewed: RAM TOUR BALATA LB

I PLAY TO A 4 HANDICAP, SO I'VE EXPIERIMENTED WITH A LOT OF BALLS. i STARTED HITTING THE RAM BALATA LB ABOUT 6 MONTHS AGO AND AM CONVINCED THIS IS THE BEST BALL ON THE MARKET. gREAT LENGTH OFF THE TEE AND VERY GOOD FROM 160 YARDS AND CLOSER.

Similar Products Used:

TITELIST PROFESSINAL---PRECEPT---STRATA BALATA

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 15  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com