Srixon Z-UR Balls

Srixon Z-UR Balls 

DESCRIPTION

The Z-UR features all the power of Srixon technology harnessed into our longest, most playable tour performance ball yet. An incredible membrane thin urethane elastomer cover, which surrounds the largest, fastest energetic gradient growth core. A proprietary compound called bis (pentabromophenyl) disulfide or PBDS added to the core delivers amazing resilience and initial ball velocity with low spin.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 13  
[May 04, 2009]
Stud Maximus
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Srixon Z-UR

This ball is an older model, since replaced with the URC, URS, now the Z-Stars. A nice three piece ball. I was very impressed and looking forward to playing the URC's I have too. I had a sleeve of three of these and they flew very straight. Good distance. Not a whole lot of spin. I doubt it's being made anymore. The UR-C and UR-S are already 2/$40 at Golf Galaxy when in stock. The new Z-Stars are $$$.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used:

TaylorMade Burner TP.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 25, 2008]
Alan Moretti
Shoots in the 90s
Model Reviewed: Srixon Z-UR

Someone told me to try these balls out instead of the Pro V1 balls. They have the same feeling once you strike them. But the distance is not as great as a Pro V1. Cheaper but hard to get your hands on.

Customer Service

Tough to to find.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 05, 2006]
BWJ
Scratch Golfer
Model Reviewed: Srixon Z-UR

Been playing Pro V1-X and most recently the B-330. Tried both the Z-UR and Z-UR-S out on the course where I had the unhurried luxury of hitting several shots per hole.
Z-UR-S was softer, spins more and appears to be about the same length as other premium balls....I'm indifferent on these. But the Z-UR was a good 20 yards longer than any others off the driver. No kidding, 20 yards. Thought it was an anamoly until I got the same results another 12-15 times during the round. Good flight in the wind also. Firmer than some around the greens but not much different than the V1X. Short iron approaches were short-hop-and-stop within a few feet which is just fine. I don't write reviews very often, except for products that really jump out as special. I'm definitely sold on these. No wonder Furyk is starting to keep up with the herd.

Customer Service

Can be hard to find them in stock right now (7/5/06).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 13, 2006]
SoCalglfr
Scratch Golfer
Model Reviewed: Srixon Z-UR

I have played Srixon balls in the past and liked them. For tournament play I can't seem to get away from Titleist Pro V1x's though. I had read about these balls and thought I would give them a try. I have to say I was disappointed in them. The ball balloons a lot especially off the driver and fairway woods. Its at least 20 yards shorter than the pro V1x and has a very hard feel. I played one round with them and ended up giving the whole box of balls away. I have been trying to find a ball that won't spin as much as the pro v1x with my short irons and this ball does work for that (less spin) but the loss of distance and ballooning makes this ball unplayable for me. (The balls did come with a cool tee shirt though)

Customer Service

Never used

Similar Products Used:

Nike one, Titleist pro V1, V1x, NXT tour and many others.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Aug 30, 2005]
Donkeyballs
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Srixon Z-UR

This is a follow up review, and after playing this ball for a couple of weeks now, I still feel this is an excellent ball. It's very long and although it has a firm feel, it still has decent spin off irons and wedge shots. I live in San Antonio playing often in near 100 degree heat. I am a half club longer, and my shots are still holding on dry and fast greens. I have a shallow swing and don't generate are large amount of backspin either-I rarely back a ball up. I also like that I get a diffent sound off the putter. I use a Taylormade rosa Lambeau 7 putter, and soft tour balls generate a dead sound. This ball generates a crisp contact sound I really like. I've noticed my distance control is very good lately-I think the audable que helps me judge speed better. Lastly broke 80 for the first time with this ball last week shooting 79!- Can't say it was all the ball, but I can say it didn't fight against me. I suggest you buy a sleeve, and give it a try. I think you'll be surprised by it. I also tried the ZUR-S which is supposed to be a lot softer, but I couldn;t tell a big difference excpet of course dead sound off the putter. Anyway Good luck with this ball.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

Maxfli BlackMax, Callaway tour 56, Bridgestone B330-S, Titleist NXT Tour, Hogan Tour Deep

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 20, 2005]
nsdqjr
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Z-UR

As a fan of the Pro V1x, and a working man, I have been looking for a less expensive, yet comparable, alternative to take to the course. After reading an advertisement in Golf Digest I decided to try the Srixon. I am working on losing my second dozen now, and I couldn't be more pleased. The ball flys very well in the wind, goes a long way, and holds greens nicely. It does seem to scuff up quicker than the Pro V1x, but not so fast as to make them unplayable. All in all, if you like the Pro V1x this is a ball you should try. It's ten dollars cheaper a dozen, not a huge difference, but hey,it's still ten bucks.

Similar Products Used:

Pro V1, Pro V1x, pretty much all the premium balls.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 27, 2005]
Donkeyballs
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Srixon Z-UR

I really like this ball. The Maxfli Black max had been my ball, but I bought sleeves of the ben Hogan Tour Deep, Bridgestone B333-S and this ball recently just to give them a shot. Nothing noticable about the Hogan or Bridgestone. I actually expected to like this ball the least as it is a bit harder than the other 2 balls, and the Blackmax I usually play. I played the Hogan for a round. Decent, not better than the B-Max. Yesterday I played the B330-S for half of my round and then switched to the Z-UR. On my first swing I hit a 300+ yard drive-my first of that length in years. Coming in I had several long drives, and was able to work the ball, hit greens with some check. It felt pretty good off the driver and irons. I made two birds in a row coming in and was 5 yards off the green in 2 on the next hole a par 5, but I hit a bad chip and settled for a par. I am excited about the ball, and traded a dozen of my Maxfli's for a dozen of the Z-UR's to give them the full trial. One thing is I really like the sound of the ball off the putter(a little more of a tink sound is the best I can describe it). I'll try to follow up again in a few weeks.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

Maxfli Rev Tour & BlackMax, Ben Hogan Tour Deep, Bridgestone B330-S, Callaway Big Bertha Blue

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 23, 2005]
coomies1
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Srixon z-ur

Great ball longer than others in tour ball sector a bit firner than prov1x controlable spin off irons great spin arond the green - done deal

Similar Products Used:

pro v1 & x, cally hx black, top flite tour ace precept utri tour

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 11, 2005]
BrianMac
Shoots in the 70s
Model Reviewed: Srixon Z-UR

After reading Golf Equipment Review for 2005, I decided to purchase Z-UR's instead of new Black Max, Bridgestone 770 or new Strata. I am constantly looking to replace my long-term Top-Flite success with a Top-Flite length ball with better spin characteristics. I played Z-UR last evening and it appears to be every bit as long but does not hold the green any better than Top-Flite. Based thereon, I will have to look elsewhere in my continued pursuit of the ultimate distance/spin combimation ball.

Customer Service

Not Applicable

Similar Products Used:

Top-Flite 3000 Super Long and Super Straight, Callway HX Black, Titleist ProV1 and ProV1*, Pinnacle Exception and Gold, Titleist Tour Distance, Wilson Hyper-Ti...everthing else.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 22, 2005]
ringgold
Shoots in the 80s
Model Reviewed: Srixon Z-UR

Very firm with explosive distance. Plays about 10 yards than its own UR-X. Really jumps off of the driver and checks up very well with scoring irons. Seriously improved durability over the UR-X as well. Great ball for higher swing speeds. My new ball of choice for 2005. If you like a butter soft ball with great distance check out the AD-333.

Customer Service

If the rep is any indication, great. I have no idea how customer service will help with ball issues (are you going to call them when you duck hook one in the woods?)

Similar Products Used:

UR-X, both Pro V's, Nike Ones, HX

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com