Aptos Seascape Golf Club - golf courses

Aptos Seascape Golf Club - Golf courses, Aptos, CA

User Reviews (16)

Showing 1-10 of 16  
MarkG   Shoots in the 80s [Jan 20, 2009]

I played this course on January 14th 2009 when they are having low rainfall in California so the course was dry and a pleasure to play.

The course sits in a canyon and plays with many uphill or downhill shots, and has a good variety of angles to make shots. For my day I made 7 pars, 2 on par 3's, 3 on par 4/s and 2 on par 5's so it is a fair course.

The hardest part of this course for me was the putting as almost all the greens slope and some slope severely, I 4 putted a couple of times which I rarely do on other courses. If you can drive the ball well and hit a good iron shot you will have to putt well to make a birdie, as these are hard greens to master on a first try.

Also a few of the sand bunkers appear to be challenging, a playing partner got stuck in one bunker and tried five times to get out before picking up the ball and throwing it out by hand.

Also the par 3's are not as easy as some suggest, of the 5 par 3's they have three that are over 170 yards so they are not a cakewalk. The 14th may be a 173 yard par 3 but it plays much farther as it is uphill quite a distance. My playing partners couldn't even reach that hole and I shot onto and over the green and had a bogey.

Overall I had a great time playing and even though the greens were very difficult they made up for the shorter distance on some holes.

Customer Service

Very good customer service.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Nick Jacklaus   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 18, 2007]

Since my last review, the course has done extensive drainage improvements and, incredibly, the old place is actually playable in the winter, as long as there is only mild rain. They deserve props for that. The greens are better too, and the bunkering. Its definitely an improvement and I would say its worth playing, especially in the summer when it is nice and cool here in Aptos and 110 degrees in the valley.

Customer Service

Tops of the pops

Similar Products Used: all of 'em
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
2
Bluto   Shoots in the 70s [Oct 06, 2006]

Tight, unique course, with banks on both sides of a lot of fairways to guide your wayward tee shots back into play. Not a bad experience, just not anything you'd mistake for traditional. If a different type of layout is your bag, not a bad choice...especially considering you don't have a whole lot of choices in the Santa Cruz area.

Customer Service

Seemed like good people running it. Got me out pretty quickly off of the list. No complaints.

Similar Products Used: Everything under the sun...
OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
3
aaceves   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 26, 2004]

Sea scape is a course that requires some course knowledge. It does feed the ball toward the fairway, the greens are usually receptive.Shot making is a requirement on this course.It's an enjoyable course.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Ron Thomas   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 18, 2004]

This is a fun course. WTF it the first time through. There are too many blind shots to score well. After you get to know the course a little bit, it's a joy. Fairways are mighty-tight. If you're not driving the ball well, you are going to save a lot of strokes by pulling out a shorter club. The course is short enough to make back strokes on up and downs. After your round, have a drink on the deck overlooking 9 & 18 and the ocean. Decent weekend brunch.

Customer Service

Very Friendly. Always accomadating.

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
3
undercoverbrother   Shoots in the 70s [Feb 01, 2004]

Home of goofy golf. Many fairways are bowl shaped and the ball rolls right back to the middle. Very crowded.

OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
3
golow   Shoots in the 90s [Jan 31, 2004]

This course plays better and longer than expected. Seascape requires accuracy and shotmaking, that more than makes up for the length.

Customer Service

Good, I play there once or twice a month and they always remember my name.

Similar Products Used: Food good and you can't beat the view from the deck.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
mark smith   Shoots in the 90s [Jun 29, 2003]

I think the course is great, I don't know why everybody is hating on it. It's a good place to play a round of golf in my opinion. Though the course does get pretty wet in some times of the year that's just part of the game. So deal with it!

Customer Service

good

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Shankster   Shoots in the 90s [May 13, 2003]

Have been coming to Seascape for the past decade. It's a fun, tight course. The key is to hit the ball straight, evening if it means giving up some distance off the tee.

Customer Service

Okay

Similar Products Used: Driving range could use newer balls and more targets to shoot at.
OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
1
Duane Englestorm   Shoots in the 80s [May 01, 2003]

I've had great experiences at this golf course. If your goal is to have your game (and your wallet) tested to the max try Pasatiempo. But for the beauty of an older, mature track with huge trees and some eccentric personality, Seascape is a good choice.

Customer Service

About what you'd expect - which is to say not noticeably bad and not noticeably good.

Similar Products Used: Clubhouse is nice - great spot for a post round burger. Driving range is pretty bad.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 16  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com