La Purisima Golf Course - golf courses

La Purisima Golf Course - Golf courses, Lompoc, CA

User Reviews (14)

Showing 1-10 of 14  
G. Beran   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 14, 2010]

Nice course good service challenge only problem is grass stays wet for awhile until around 11

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
dancaban   Shoots in the 80s [Jul 06, 2010]

La Purisima is laid out beautifully in the hills behind Lompoc, California. It is easy to miss the turn off Highway 246, so watch for signs, especially in the fog.

It's a challenging course. The starter Jeff told me that the wind picks up in the afternoon, so I chose to play on a weekday morning about 8:00 in June. There were very few players out that early to play in the fog, which burned out around 11:00.

Good practice facility for warming up. Driving range has downhill targets. Practice bunker needed new sand, but is deep and set up with a green behind for short pitches over the bunker. Chipping green is generous and full of breaks. Putting green was true to the course, fast and sloping.

The course is terrific, and I bet it will be even better the second time I play it because I'll know where to hit the ball. Hole #2, a dogleg left with an approach over water, ate me alive. Take enough club and aim to miss the green on the right. Left and short or long is dead in the water.
It took me about six holes and 4 double-bogeys to get used to the greens, but once I figured it out, I was okay, getting three birdies on the back nine. The sun came out and the windshirt came off on the back nine.

I'd go back again.

Customer Service

Jeff was very helpful, except when he failed to remind me until it was too later to back out that they were striping the greens on the back nine. It was a benefit, however, because it slowed the greens down just enough to start enjoying the round.

Similar Products Used: None. I usually play on courses that wind through neighborhoods or along freeways, not through undeveloped hills where the fog rolls in and out.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
rocorad   Shoots in the 90s [Aug 10, 2008]

Very windy especially with an afternoon tee time. Rustic, country-style course carved into the surrounding landscape. Difficult greens.

Customer Service

Restaurant closed prematurely locking one of our players in the alarmed bathroom.

Similar Products Used: The River Course at Alisal
Rancho San Marcos
Sandpiper
OVERALL
RATING
2
Value
RATING
3
Joe Mayhew   Shoots in the 80s [Apr 13, 2007]

Probable one of the most challenging courses I've ever played. Bring a lot of balls your first time, use your brain and course management. Greens were incredible, views spectacular.

This course needs more recognition!

Customer Service

OK - fairly good food, nice shop staff.

Similar Products Used: Nothing quite like it! Played a lot of "nice" courses, this has got to be top 3!
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Steve Ells   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 26, 2006]

La Purisima is one of the few courses I've played in the last 40 years that I would be content to play on every day for the rest of my life. The architect (Robt. M. Graves) created a course that challenges and dazzles all who play there. The tee shots on 2, 8, 14, and 15 are positioning shots--every other hole is right in front of the golfer. I moved north 5 years ago and it's still the course I measure all others by.

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Chuck   Shoots in the 90s [Feb 22, 2004]

This is one of the best in California. I recommend walking this course to fully appreciate its beauty. I would classify this course as the hardest fair test of golf I've played. One reviewer wrote that a person who regularly hacks out a low 80s on their home course might not break 100. Well that's a bit of an overstatement. Perhaps in the most windy conditions! The greens roll true and are up to PGA speed. If you're a pretty good putter, you'll appreciate the greens. They have a decent practice area and a very friendly staff. I'd love to play this course 5 or 6 times a year. My father and I had a great time playing here. I highly recommend this course. You'll be pleasantly surprised even if you do play a less than stellar round.

Customer Service

A+

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Gerry Dewey   Shoots in the 80s [Dec 18, 2003]

La Purisima is the most "fair" difficult course I've ever played. There isn't a single hole on the course that doesn't offer an opportunity for a bogey or worse. The course has a Jeckyll and Hyde quality to it. If you play it in the early morning it can be relatively benign. In the afternoon you're at the British Open. In the wind hole #s 7 and 17 are as tough as the more famous par 3s at Sawgrass and Augusta National.

Customer Service

Very good. Friendly people, helpful and courteous.

Similar Products Used: The restaurant and pro shop employees have always been accomodating and helpful.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
owntor   Scratch Golfer [Oct 07, 2002]

This course set two miles east of Lompoc, CA and 50 miles northwest of Santa Barbara, CA hosts several large tournaments every year including PGA Tour Q-school, California Stroke Play Championship, California Women's Open, several college events and Santa Barbara County Championship. Being a formidable challenge to any player the back tees are not set up (with the exception of tournament play). Built in the rolling hills of the California coast wind usually picks up mid-morning and will not let down until the following day. You must know where to place your shots from the tee and to the green. You will see double-breaking six foot putts and deceiving lag putts. You will not see many reasonable birdie putts outside ten feet. Although the course plays long, hitting it short off the tee is not so bad; many fairways narrow bringing trouble into play at the 250-265 yard mark. Make sure you leave your approach on the correct tier of the green and under the hole. Also, bring your low ball game. The wind increases the danger of many shots, and it is possible to run your ball up from short of many of the greens. Many amateurs find this course dreadful being their normal hack job of 82 at their home course turns into 95-100+ at La Purisima. Since this is a public course costing $45 weekdays and $70 weekends it sees enough activity that the greens are not pure. But more often a poor read results in a poor putt. If you are ready to test your game, make the journey to Lompoc and play a couple rounds.

Customer Service

Everyone from celebrities to your "Average Joe" get treated equally dignified here. Snack bar staff could be more congenial.

Similar Products Used: The La Purisima GC logo is a scene of the local mission graveyard. Course record is 64; par 72. Well known people who play La Purisima: Fred Couples, John Pate, Pat Perez, Luke Donald, Michael Jordan
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
gardiol   Shoots in the 70s [Sep 16, 2002]

I've played this course for many years now and it still gives me quite a thrill to be able to shoot so well despite the overwhelming difficulty from the back tees. Wind is the definite x-factor to having an absolute horrid round of golf and it holds especially true at La Purisima. Be sure to get an early morning tee time. Even the aspiring professionals who take upon the first stage of the PGA qualifying tournament every year at La Purisima dread having an afternoon tee time. Even a late morning tee time can be a headache...Half your round could be played in perfect weather conditions, and the other half in what I'd describe as "One Heafty Blow From The Golf Gods".

Customer Service

Who needs customer service on a golf course? Just pay your green fees and be on your way. And, oh yeah....Keep up with the group in front of you at all times- That's a service, that you, the customer,

Similar Products Used: Good Snack Bar, ask for daily specials. Great practice putting greens, they even let you chip to them. driving range is more than you could ask for.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Darin S   Shoots in the 80s [Sep 12, 2002]

I play this course a couple times/month, but never from the tips--it's too hard from there! As the other reviewers have said, it's very difficult but fair. I seem to play better here than anywhere else I play. There are a great variety of holes, some fairly wide open (eg, #5 & #10) some that require careful shot placement (#14 & #4) The greens are fast, but always true. The fairways are excellent & the bunkers have enough sand in them to be fair. The wind does pick up in the pm,but I usually play it then, since the price is right. I've played all the (public) courses in the SB county area, and this is easily the best test of golf for the money. I'm looking forward to seeing how the Q-school players handle the course in Oct.

Customer Service

Also try Hunter Ranch,which is owned & designed by the same people. The staff are always friendly and unpretentious, unlike some other courses in the area.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com