Koolau Golf Club - golf courses

Koolau Golf Club - Golf courses, Kaneohe, HI

User Reviews (38)

Showing 1-10 of 38  
g. beran   Shoots in the 80s [Aug 14, 2010]

great course challenging all you gotta do is hit it straight and putt average great views weak carts though unpredictable results

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
dawnpatrolgolf808   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 30, 2010]

Pretty decent course, sometimes ground is very soft due to lot of rain on this side of Oahu. There's better places to play for the money, expecially considering the service! (see review below)

Customer Service

Poor customer service! I'm a local resident, so when a friend came to visit Oahu so we decided to play Ko'olau. He was charged ~$125 green fee. We went through THREE different carts within a 12 hole stretch, all were barely working and went slower than a walking pace, so bad that they couldn't go up any of the hills and we had to push them up EVERY HILL!!! Eventually got to a point we couldn't even use the cart and had to walk in. When we told the pro shop about this, all they had to say was that all their carts were used earlier in the day, there was nothing they could do except bring out another battery-is-dying cart. No discount, no apology. I really feel bad for taking my visiting friend there. Never playing here again.

Similar Products Used: Most courses on Oahu.
OVERALL
RATING
1
Value
RATING
1
mrubery   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 20, 2009]

Great experience. Definitely a thinking mans course. Hit a lot of irons off the tee for position. If you haven't played it before and do not have someone with you that has, invest in a yardage book as course is not well marked other than the 150yd stakes. Take time to look at the scenery. Don't make the mistake of forgetting a camera as I did if only for hole # 15. Make sure you play that hole from the tips, trust me. Be prepared to get a little muddy. Lost 7 balls total. Accuracy off tee is key. Only need driver on about 6 or 7 holes. Don't pee on a centipede. Overall rate this #2 in top courses I've played. Only Pebble Beach beats it.

Customer Service

Very friendly and accomodating. Agree with other posters regarding beverage cart gal. Did not see them once. BYOB.

Similar Products Used: Aviara in San Diego, Pebble Bch, Mill Valley Muni (because of the mudd)
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
bennysupreme   Shoots in the 90s [Jan 23, 2008]

hardest course i've ever played lost 18 balls, i played with 3 other guy (lost 3 dozen each), i even lost ball i knew was in the fairway (rained alot the week before) if you do not hit the fairway take out another ball, jungle lines most of fairways. must play smart.

Customer Service

great gave me a military discount which help for as much golf as i played in 10 days i was there

OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
5
Eugene Cheng   Shoots in the 80s [May 27, 2007]

The course is very shot-rewarding but I dont think it is that challenging as it advertised. Maybe it's because the course layout fits my eyes. It requires accurate tee-shots and good approaches because there are 11 ravines through 18 holes. Kowning the carry and rolls for you clubs are crucial. But most holes play down hill and wind is not a big factor (on the day I played). I played the gold-tee which is 67xx yards but in reality it is about only 64xx yards. Shoot 85/92/83 in 3 rounds, lost 7 balls. The scenary itself worth the green fee. Some bunkers are harder than concrete, though.

Customer Service

The starter and pro shop folks are friendly. Didn't see any cart gal/guy in 3 rounds.

Similar Products Used: Mt. Woodsen CC in San Diego, California.
OVERALL
RATING
4
Value
RATING
4
Eugene Cheng   Shoots in the 80s [May 24, 2007]

This course is shot-rewarding and fun to play, but I don't think it's that difficult. Koolau requires accurate long shots. Player needs to hit the right points to proceed, especially on hole 16. It's best to know the carry and roll for most of your clubs. Some holes need 200-230 tee shots while a perfect drive might hit through the fairway (I did that twice!). Overall condition is great but the some bunkers are harder than cement. I shoot 85/92/83 in 3 rounds, lost 6 balls total.

Customer Service

Most folks are friendly.

Similar Products Used: I think Barona Creek in San Diego is more difficult than Koolau.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Anthony Lynam   Shoots in the 80s [Feb 27, 2007]

This course is no joke. Not for the novice or hack. Golf Digest rated it as the 3d toughest in the nation (from the tips) at a slope rating of 155 (actually is 160+, but USGA taps out at 155). Unreal sceanary to help consol you for all the lost balls. I played it so I could say I did. But doubtful I'd play again on my next trip.

Customer Service

Outstanding.

Similar Products Used: Nothing like it.
OVERALL
RATING
3
Value
RATING
3
donn666   Scratch Golfer [Nov 01, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Golf Course Koolau Golf Club

I played extremely conservatively, which is needed here, and was 2-under through 16 holes. Then the two hardest holes on the course (at least from the tips) ate me up for a Jean Van de Velde-like finish of bogey-double bogey. Hit it straight, but not necessarily too far, and you can do well on this course. Hit if off cent just a little here and there and . . . you will need at least 15 balls to play with. I randomly looked in scrub brush 20 feet below a tee box while we aiting and found 7 balls in two minutes. My playing partner found 10. Lots of elevation changes, sidehill lies and huge (three-putt caliber) greens make this a challenge. Oh, and don't forget about the wind, rain, plugged lies, and distracting beautiful scenery. The 18th hole is the toughest 18th, by far, I have ever played. If i did not get so greedy to make up for my bogey on 17, I could have parred the hole. If you know anyone who has parred 18 from any tee, you give them a pat on the back and a beer.

Customer Service

So-so. Not many visit by the cart girl. However, our cart broke down on 15th tee (the furthest point away from the clubhouse on the course) and we had a cart in 10 minutes.

Similar Products Used: Hawaii golf is great, and this is the most challenging.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
lefty_dan   Shoots in the 70s [Jun 08, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Ko'olau

One of the best course I've ever played. Difficult but fair. Alot of elevation change, club selection and distance control a must. Played in the middle of August, high humidity but not unbearable. Lush vegetation borders almost all the fairways, definately like playing in a jungle. Not alot of yardage markers on sprinkler heads because there is not a great need for watering due to almost daily tropical showers. Fun course even if you shot poorly.

Customer Service

The starter at the first tee, Dexter, is great. He'll give you alot of course knowledge and on how to play the course.

OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
4
kbee   Shoots in the 80s [Jun 09, 2005]

KoOlau Golf Club on Oahu. Best course in Hawaii! I have also played Plantation, Princeville, KoOlina, Mauna Lani, Turtle Bay. KoOlau is must absolutely be the most beautiful course in the world. Bring your "A" game and lot's of balls.

Customer Service

Excellent

Similar Products Used: Great snack bar and pro-shop.
OVERALL
RATING
5
Value
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 38  

(C) Copyright 1996-2017. All Rights Reserved.

golfreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com